We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best on the Island!”
Review of Galangal

Galangal
Ranked #5 of 109 Restaurants in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: As one approaches the 1729 House, the tan one across from Fort Christiansvaern Park, the Galangal sign, made from wine corks by a patron, is hardly visible from the street. Opening the aubergine door is almost magical as one steps inside an elegant white-table dinning room filled with original paintings, and Indo-Colonial architectural elements. Sitting down at the cool, dry granite bar, one just knows their Martini is going to be ice cold and the red wine will be at 65 degrees. Galangal specializes in authentic modern Thai and French cuisine, combining traditional ingredients with international flavors and techniques. Freshness is the key to Galangal's bold flavors and consistent quality. Spices from Vietnam and Singapore, curry pastes from Bangkok and unusual Asian vegetables grown in Galngal's own gardens, give Galangal's dishes their unique and authentic flavors. Even the soup is made a la minute. Little know fact, Galangal, probably has the best NY strip and pommes frites on island. Dinner 5:30 - 9:30. Closed Sunday and Monday
Reviewed February 26, 2013

we have eaten at Galangal a number of times and it is always excellent! The service is first rate; the food is creative, delicious and beautifully presented. The decor is sophisticated and tastefully done with articfacts from China and Thailand. It also has a small, but charming bar ans sitting area. We just returned from St. Croix and dined there once again and it was fantastic. We have been to nearly all the restaurants on St. Croix and this is definitely the best. It can be a little pricey, but you get what you pay for. It is one of my favorite reataurants anywhere, not just on St. Croix. You will need reservations. They also feature a $39 fixed price 3 course menu between the narrow window of 5:30 and 6PM

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandwichguy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for coming back again and again. Your comments are appreciated and shared with our staff - it makes us very happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
There are newer reviews for Galangal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 395 of 541 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Galangal is an experience for the eyes as well as the stomach. The decorating is exquisite and relaxing. The food combines colors, textures and tastes in a most interesting fashion. The unique pairing of flavors constantly surprises, in main courses and desserts. The service is attentive and thorough, from when you come in to when you leave. We felt cared for, and you will as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tenbeforefive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

We are happy that you had a good dining experience at our restaurant. Your comments are essential in our effort to provide consistent good food and service.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We asked locals for the best restaurant on the island and were directed to Galangal. It is a superb restaurant from decor to service and the creative cuisine. You are immediately
welcomed at the door by the elegant matre'd/owner and seated in a quiet, comfortable room
that has clearly been designed with love and style.
Service is impeccable at table. If you can get the bartender (Gregory) talking you will experience
the islands in a whole new way! their signature dishes are not to be missed, cocktails can be
customized to your likes and the chocolate desert is beyond description.

This is truly a restaurant not to be missed.We ate here twice in three days! and plan to return
as soon as the winds permit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank picamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thank you for your positive review. We will share it with our staff who deserve most of the credit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We went to Galangal this evening and it surpassed our expectations. We had a lovely dinner and even got escorted back to our car which was parked a couple of blocks away. Excellent service inside and out. Try the soup appetizer. It was very very good and had such complex flavour.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank claudie187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

We are always very happy when our efforts result in happy customers. Thank you so much for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was our second trip in two years to Galangal, and once again, it did not disappoint.

Charming location in the heart of Christiansted, and a warm welcome and ambiance awaits within. Both hubbie and I started out with made-from-scratch margaritas and tuna tartare (yummmmy), and then moved on to a surprisingly good (and recommended by our server) German Pinot Noir (who knew) and our entrees. So good.

To top it off, we met a very nice couple at the next table visiting from Denmark, and didn't have a huge bill to pay. Reasonable, tasty, and charming. Nothing here not to like.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank onroadcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

It is always so rewarding when guest like you appreciate our efforts to provide the best service and food possible. Your kind remarks a greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galangal also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Galangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing