We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”
Review of Galangal

Galangal
Ranked #1 of 105 Restaurants in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: As one approaches the 1729 House, the tan one across from Fort Christiansvaern Park, the Galangal sign, made from wine corks by a patron, is hardly visible from the street. Opening the aubergine door is almost magical as one steps inside an elegant white-table dinning room filled with original paintings, and Indo-Colonial architectural elements. Sitting down at the cool, dry granite bar, one just knows their Martini is going to be ice cold and the red wine will be at 65 degrees. Galangal specializes in authentic modern Thai and French cuisine, combining traditional ingredients with international flavors and techniques. Freshness is the key to Galangal's bold flavors and consistent quality. Spices from Vietnam and Singapore, curry pastes from Bangkok and unusual Asian vegetables grown in Galngal's own gardens, give Galangal's dishes their unique and authentic flavors. Even the soup is made a la minute. Little know fact, Galangal, probably has the best NY strip and pommes frites on island. Dinner 5:30 - 9:30. Closed Sunday and Monday
Tanya0810
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The ambience is fabulous an well located in downtown Christiansted. We've heard the dishes are great but we didn't enjoy too much the Pad Thai (or we've had better). We hear the curry dishes re much better. Good wine selection

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tanya0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are sorry that you did not like the Pad Thai. We are always concerned to provide the best food and service possible. If we missed that at your visit we apologize for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    64
    26
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous and elegant”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The dining room is beautifully decorated. I like spicy, and the green curry was amazing. Our waiter Mark was attentive and knowledgeable. My only criticism was that I found the cardboard coasters a little tacky, but I'd be surprised if that isn't changed soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TieGuyMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hamilton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this one”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Dining at Galangal is a memorable experience that will enhance your visit to Christiansted, St Croix. The ambiance, food, and attentive staff would put this restaurant on the map in any major US city. My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our dinners and desserts. Should you have the opportunity to select an entree with Galangal butter sauce you are in for a special treat. My only regret is that the restaurant isn't closer to home in the US so I could become a "regular." Kudos and thanks for a fabulous evening of dining. This restaurant well deserves the highest tripadvisor rating.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asker, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant! Impeccable quality and service.”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We are back on St. Croix for the holidays and enjoyed a wonderful evening at Galangal. This restaurant is a must. The impeccable service, great selection of wines and highest quality food have not changed since Galangal first opened. We spend at least two evenings at Galangal on each visit and have already made reservations for our second evening. Cannot wait -;). Thanks to Arthur and his staff for making our evenings with them a tradition to treasure!

Helpful?
1 Thank PA-Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Asian oasis in St Croix”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Made my second visit to Galangal in Christiansted last night. The decor is simply splendid. You walk in from the old Caribbean colonial street into an Asian palace. The service is friendly, efficient and excellent with the owners in obvious attendance.

I 've eaten Thai food all over the US and in Asia. I cook Thai....the (mostly) Thai dishes at Galangal are simply sublime. The best Tom Ka Gai I've ever had...assertive flavors and made to order for each diner. The duck prig khing red curry had heat but each flavor came through. It was also laden with local vegetables.

In a place dominated by burgers, jerk BBQ, etc we are so lucky to have Galangal here on St Croix.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BaHaBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruzanmon, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We truly appreciate your comments on TripAdvisor. It makes all the difference to us and to our employees.
Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galangal also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Galangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing