We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find Thai flavors”
Review of Galangal

Galangal
Ranked #3 of 109 Restaurants in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $39
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: As one approaches the 1729 House, the tan one across from Fort Christiansvaern Park, the Galangal sign, made from wine corks by a patron, is hardly visible from the street. Opening the aubergine door is almost magical as one steps inside an elegant white-table dinning room filled with original paintings, and Indo-Colonial architectural elements. Sitting down at the cool, dry granite bar, one just knows their Martini is going to be ice cold and the red wine will be at 65 degrees. Galangal specializes in authentic modern Thai and French cuisine, combining traditional ingredients with international flavors and techniques. Freshness is the key to Galangal's bold flavors and consistent quality. Spices from Vietnam and Singapore, curry pastes from Bangkok and unusual Asian vegetables grown in Galngal's own gardens, give Galangal's dishes their unique and authentic flavors. Even the soup is made a la minute. Little know fact, Galangal, probably has the best NY strip and pommes frites on island. Dinner 5:30 - 9:30. Closed Sunday and Monday
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hard to find Thai flavors”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

When you begin to miss Asian flavors while on St. Croix, Galangal can help you with that. While not the best Thai I've ever had, it is solidly good and filling. Prices are higher than other Thai restaurants you'll visit in the states.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jess630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    65
    26
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great food, perfect atmosphere - a really good find in St. Croix”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were on a family vacation and decided to try Galangal. We hadn't had much luck finding good food on St. Croix so we kept our expectations low. We were so relieved that the food was really good and so was the atmosphere. From the second we walked in I could tell this place knew what they were doing. Someone came right up to us and we were seated immediately. The restaurant is beautiful inside. Really nicely decorated with soothing lighting and just the right amount of art. There was a nice buzz in the air from the other customers, the music, glasses clanking from the bar, just the right amount or each. We liked it so much we ate there again 2 days later and the 2nd experience was equally positive. The food was very good. I'm not sure I would say this place is strickly Thai food. Yes, there are many Thai flavored dishes but it's so much more than just Thai. One of our favorites that stood out from our two visits was the coconut soup as an appetizer. This soup was delicious. The ribs were good, the sockeye salmon done perfectly and the curries were full of flavor. Both nights the people who waited on us were very knowledgeable about the menu so when we asked for recommendations they knew what they were talking about. This is such a plus in a restaurant. One night the bartender even stopped over to ask my son how he was enjoying his Will Rogers (the male version of the Shirley Temple). The wait staff offered just the right amount of attentiveness, they weren't stopping over every 5 minutes, but you know how when you're finished eating and you really want your plates cleared? They were on it. We had wine both nights and they have a very nice wine list. We also sampled some of the desserts and they were also quite good. One dish that was recommended was the duck. I've never had duck so it might have been me, but I found it a tad dry and the spaetzle on the side was bland. The homemade red cabbage that it came with was delicious and full of flavor. Other than that everything we ordered was beautifully prepared, had lots of flavor and the portion size was just right. We all liked so many of the entrees and specials that it was tough to decide what to order. Although this is a nice restaurant, we were dressed in shorts and t-shirts and didn't at all feel out of place. The owner stopped by our table both nights and that's a nice touch. Next time we go back we'll most definately have dinner here.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank view2mtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
axelbaby, Owner at Galangal, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We cannot thank you enough for such an encouraging feedback from you.

We have passed on these comments to our staff for future encouragement to continue providing these very true essence of hospitality ; from the heart.

Best Wishes
Arthur & Gregory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The restaurant was cozy and intimate and the food was wonderful!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This is a lovely restaurant...”
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Great ambience, nice food, and quite upscale. We really enjoyed it, and our sons did too...everyone ate everything!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank TessChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Delicious, authentic Thai food.”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I lived in Bangkok, Thailand for four years and had not been to a Thai restaurant since we left Thailand 10 months ago. Last weekend we traveled to St Croix to celebrate my birthday and to our surprise we found out that there was a Thai restaurant in the town of Christiansted, so I checked out the reviews and we decided to try it, thinking it would probably not be that great compared to the wonderful Thai restaurants we had in Bangkok. Well, I was totally mistaken and we were both VERY positively impressed with the restaurant, from the decoration to the authenticity of the food. It was actually very, very good, specially the soup and the curries.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galangal also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Galangal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing