We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“St Croix Anniversary Weekend”

Big Beard's Adventure Tours
Ranked #2 of 27 Tours in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“St Croix Anniversary Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and I were in St Croix for 5 days over Memorial Day 2014. We signed up for the Buck Island half day adventure while walking the boardwalk when we arrived to Christiansted. We both enjoyed the stop on the beach at Buck Island and found snorkeling on the reef to be very enjoyable. The crew were all helpful and we had no complaints.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Poovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    946
    127
    27
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chapel hill, nc
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“more beach than snorkeling!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

if you are a keen/experienced snorkeler i would suggest NOT taking the (overpriced) 1/2 day since more that half of the time was at Turtle Beach, which is lovely, but not what I paid to do with Gabe and John last week!! my kids enjoyed the boat ride and we were lucky enough to have a small friendly group. make sure you head to the underwater 'trail' as soon as you can once you actually get to the protected reef. be sure to get details before you book either on email or in person. we were disappointed and would not return despite the 50% off next trip offer for remainder of st croix visit. too bad!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mina07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke VA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful first-time experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We booked the full-day Buck Island Reef tour a few weeks prior to boarding the Celebrity Summit in San Juan. As things unfolded upon arrival, everything was exactly as explained by phone: buy shuttle bus ticket at the end of the pier, board shuttle bus, and head across the island to the ticket office.
We were told the seas were unusually calm on our day, so we may have been fortunate in that respect. The reef itself was a magnificent adventure for our four first-time snorkelers. Despite the frequent coral bleaching, the formations and marine life were wonderful. The crew was friendly and professional from start to finish, and the cookout on the nearby beach was fun as well. No limit to mongooses or, it seems, glasses or rum punch. As has been noted by previous reviews, the cost for this full day is about the same as a half day if booked through your cruise ship; I would certainly do it again this way if given the chance.
I have noted there are bathroom facilities on board, but it is an adventure reaching the head. Hope you enjoy climbing down a ladder.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TripRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great trip, very well carried out and organized, very friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

This trip to Buck Island was one of the best we did during our cruise. We booked the half-day trip via internet and everything was very well organized and the communication prior to the trip was excellent. The trip itself was very well carried out and the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly to everyone. They took care of special needs (we had a baby on board!) and helped those who had problems with sickness on the way back. We'd definitely do it again!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank missbutterfly79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Day Trip to Buck Island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

I cant begin to describe how amazing buck island is in person & how wonderful the reef is there. I was able to get amazing pics/videos & have an amazing time also ;)
The staff was friendly & professional, i highly recommend Big Beards!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GreenAce87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Beard's Adventure Tours also viewed

 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Big Beard's Adventure Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing