We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“second visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rowdy Joe's

Rowdy Joe's
Ranked #3 of 104 Restaurants in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“second visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

This place has great food and isn't just a locals bar. The food is varied and delicious. Be sure to save room for the homemade ice cream!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank paupman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    670
    239
    64
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tropical Gastropub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

There's no pretension about Rowdy Joe's and that's one of the things that makes it a really great place. It's just tucked off the road with no fancy sea view or frou frou decor, but it just tastes good...and that's why you're there, right? We were staying nearby and felt very lucky that it was our closest restaurant because the food and drinks were super and the ice cream was next-level, life-changing amazing. It's seriously the ice cream I will measure all other ice creams against from here on out.

Highly recommended: pretty much all of the appetizers, the Cubano and fish tacos, and the fish specials of the day. Also rum punch, basil mojitos, spicy guava margaritas!

Service is island casual, but they do a decent job considering how busy they get. The busy-ness is well deserved...there's something for everyone, and you'll enjoy it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Inventive menu?!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Unfortunately we were there Super Bowl Sunday, so they were swamped. However, they did a great job handling all the patrons. We especially liked the large and varied menu. The fish was awesome. It's run by a young crowd with a menu to please just about anyone. It's a bar environment with an upscale menu.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JillMadamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Culinary delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Beach bar type atmosphere, friendly service, outstanding food selections of ribs, fish, pork, and vegetarian options. The homemade ice cream is the richest and creamiest we have ever tasted. Award winning on all accounts!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darlene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We have been there a couple of time over the years since they opened. We have never gotten the greatest service. Either then the times that we have gone for there just for ice cream (which is very good) we have had to wait over 30 mins for our food. This time we had our kids with us and it seemed that they were not welcome there since they have no high chair and we were getting bad looks from the owner. We did enjoy the food once we got it, but we order dessert to go and they ended up giving us the wrong one even after telling the waitress 3 time which ones we wanted. If you are fine with bad service and good food and dont have kids with you then it is the place for you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank twinmomma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rowdy Joe's also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 

Been to Rowdy Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing