We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rowdy Joe's

Rowdy Joe's
East End of Cane Beach | North Shore Road, Christiansted, St. Croix
340-718-0055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 100 Restaurants in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Christiansted, null, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This place has some of the best food on island! The fried edamame is out of this world and their homemade ice cream is what dreams are made of :) I have had the turkey pot pie, turkey sandwich and cubano. They were all fantastic! Try it out. You won't regret it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa_B24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    203
    49
    12
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Give them a try. Cool island vibe and good food. Staff was very friendly (everyone is) Mac jac attack was great, do have the ice cream and sit outside.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank crashdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't forget the ice cream! You can get it to go.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Seriously, this place rocks. It's a Red Sox bar in the Virgin Islands for starters (go sox!), and they have some of the best homemade ice cream anywhere, continental U.S. included. The spicy edamame is excellent, the drinks are great (there is some homemade Ginger Beer and Rum drink that my friend loved, and I love their Spicy Margaritas with house infused tequila), and they have a Mac n Cheese that is ridiculously good (I get it without the bacon, but my friends who love bacon love it). It's a local place late at night, which is fun, and it is very relaxed and casual. It's right by where we stay and we always make a point to go at least twice during our annual week-long vacation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alisson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“WORST service EVER!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I would never recommend this place to anyone, you have so many options on St. Croix to eat, this would be one place I would skip. Everyone recommended this place to us, the food was good, nothing amazing, over the top or even wonderful. The service was the absolute worst I have ever had in my entire life! We had to wait about 20 minutes to be seated, which is fine, once we were seated someone rushed over to to quickly go over the menu which is just posted on the wall and not given to you. She seemed annoyed that we were asking questions. She never asked us for a drink order and it took us over 15 minutes to get someone to take our order for drinks about another 10 minutes to get them, which we just ordered sodas. They restaurant was fairly busy but its not that big, the lady who was initially helping us was drinking wine behind the bar, I believe she was the manager on duty, maybe even the owner, which is prob why it took so long for us to get our drink order, she was busy drinking. We got our food, no one ever came back to check on us. Other people had issues while we were there as well, issues with their bills and we could hear people talking about the service. Beyond that, everyone was just sooo rude, I really was shocked, I have never been treated so poorly, just bad attitudes. We were a party of 3. Talking to other people on the island on different tours and such, we found that others had bad experiences here as well as far as service. Its not on the water or anything really special and again the food was just okay, we had the ice cream it was good, but when you have such horrible service its hard to really enjoy anything.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MissMack13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Casual Fun Place with Great Homemade Ice Cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Rowdy Joe's is a very casual restaurant located on a bend in the road at the intersection of route 80 and route 73. It doesn't have an ocean view but it is still a great place. We opted to sit on the covered front porch to enjoy the night air. Our waitress was prompt and very friendly. Arrive early, about 6 pm as this place fills up fast and is very popular. We tried the breaded brie cheese that others recommended and it was excellent, yummmmm! My husband had the taccos and I had the pork with pear sauce and mashed potatoes. Both very good, large portions, and inexpensive considering the meal we were served. The best part was the homemade ice cream. We split a dish of the mint chocolate chip and we were not dissapointed. Excellent!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rowdy Joe's also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Rowdy Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing