We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vibes, Great Food.”
Review of Rowdy Joe's

Rowdy Joe's
Ranked #2 of 109 Restaurants in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
St. Croix
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Vibes, Great Food.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Fun,Funky , place on the way to Cane Bay. Great fish tacos, love the ribs, love the seaweed, great bartenders...Sunday can be crowded.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    700
    254
    65
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“All you need to know is two words”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Bread Pudding.

We ate here twice during our trip the first week in April. Dinner was fantastic, as we found at many places on St Croix, and tropical drinks were tasty.

But the real star on the menu is the bread pudding. Make sure you save room

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PNWtravelerSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Casual great vibe of a place”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a laid-back restaurant/bar, and one that is proud of its ice cream, too! I did take them up on their French Vanilla Pralines flavor, and it was rich and quite tasty. But before I gorged myself on this calorie multiplier, I also had the delicious fish tacos, which were large and plentiful. The tasty fish came accompanied by a sweet and tangy veggie concoction that made the whole taste experience yummy. My wife was also very pleased with her dish, a veggie wrap with portobello mushrooms, roasted red peppers, grilled zucchini and more. The coleslaw side dish was fresh and scrumptious. All washed down with a couple of red stripe beers. While the place was nearly empty when we lunched there, I can imagine it is a lively, hopping place on busy days.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DCEuropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“All the Hype Was True!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

After hearing for years on Tripadvisor about how yummy Rowdy Joe's food was, I was committed to making it there for a meal this year. It did not disappoint! We stopped by for lunch (right at noon when they opened) after a good hike to Annaly Bay. We rewarded ourselves with fish tacos and a couple of cold beers. Fabulous! The fish tacos were super fresh and the flavoring was delicious. And I forced myself to try some ice cream and it is 'to die for' as others have said. I had a coconut/pineapple/rum flavor and though it's not really hard ice cream, it was worth every calorie.

We will definitely return next year and bring friends. Yes, the atmosphere isn't much to write home about but the food is great and it's definitely got a Cruzan vibe which is fun.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ccrosner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great food, great drinks, great staff, just a really great informal place. One of our favorites!! If you are on St. Croix and are looking for a fun, wonderful eating place, this is it. It's on the North Shore road quite near Cane Bay.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ELP733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rowdy Joe's also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Rowdy Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing