We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Christmas Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove

The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove
Ranked #34 of 100 Restaurants in Christiansted
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual Beachside Dining within a stone's throw of the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Locations for dining include our semi-formal oceanside Mahogany Dining Room, our casual and comfortable beachside pavilion, and our festive and lively Mahogany bar, with its stepped up location affording views out toward the ocean. Room Service is available most days when the restaurant is open. To-Go Boxed lunches can be prepared ahead of time if you are going out on an excursion, tour or adventure for the day. Our weekly lineup of events and entertainment varies from our very popular Caribbean Night Buffet with live dj, moko jumbies and fire dancers from 6 to 9 pm on Monday nights to TRIVIA in our Mahogany Dining Room on Wednesday night, to Surf N Turf on Friday nights and Prime Rib Saturday Nights. During High Season we will almost always have live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights. Our a la carte Sunday Brunch is popular, with live entertainment. Our Mahogany Bar is a favoring spot for locals and tourists alike,
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We eat Christmas dinner at the Palms at Pelican Cove. Very nice dinner and great service. Nice resort we didn't stay there but I might next trip. The only negative would be the fact that that stretch has lots of black sea weed that washes on shore. Beach is beautiful despite the sea weed and great access from hotel.
The William's Family
Carbondale,IL.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank naweofhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    62
    43
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service, & atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Very pleasant adult-oriented outdoor restaurant area with great service and fantastic food at reasonable prices. Get the banana cream cheese stuffed french toast... mmm... You won't regret it!! All wait staff was super friendly except Lizzy, who rolled her eyes at my mother when we told her she gave us the wrong toast (wheat instead of white) and then slammed it down on the table when she came back with it. Other than her negative attitude, I definitely recommend dining here!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Candit0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
I am glad that you enjoyed your experience here at The Palms Restaurant. We have a new Restaurant Manager that just joined us from a large international hotel chain. He has decades of experience and some great ideas. His first emphasis going forward will be boosting customer service and maintaining our, as you said it, "fantastic food at reasonable prices". I am sorry to hear about your experience with one of our wait staff. We visited with her and she apologizes that she came across that way; she says she absolutely did not intend to be anything less than totally professional. She promises that it will not happen again. We do appreciate your comment and your review; your feedback helps keep us on the road of continued improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Day dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Maybe we shouldn't have ordered the roast turkey. They are probably better at seafood. "Candied yams" turned out to be sweet potatoes with marshmallows. Not making that up.
It was fine. It was a lovely location and the staff were attentive and friendly.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank scdaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Glad that you found your Thanksgiving Day dinner to be ok and the service to be good. I did visit with the Manager, the Chef, and also checked the suppliers shipping list. The Candied Yams served with dinner were in fact Yams and not Sweet Potatoes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawson, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This open air restaurant offered great food in a relaxing atmosphere with live music supplied by a local steel band. Our first night on the island set the casual tone for the remainder of our stay.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good breakfasts, not so good dinners.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The food was okay. Expensive for what it was. I found all of the dinner food rather bland. I did enjoy the breakfasts, which were simple and basic, but had great flavor! Head elsewhere for dinners. (That said, I have not been there in one year, if there have been changes in the menu, the beachfront location is amazing and could be worth another look.) over the past year,

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Isis4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. A lot has happenned over the past year at the Palms Restaurant. We do make a point of reviewing our menus on a regular basis and will add items that are frequently requested by Guests and drop some that are not as popular. The Dinner Menu, as well as other menus, will have changed a couple of times since you were here last. We are also fortunate to have been joined by Andy, our new Restaurant Manager, and his wife Emily. Andy's resume is extensive and the last many years he has overseen restaurants at one of the larger international hotel chains. He and Emily are doing a great job and are receiving many compliments from our guests. One thing we have not changed is the wonderful ambience and the amazing beachfront location, as you described it. Please drop in your next time on island and let us know if we are moving in the right direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove also viewed

Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing