We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice View, but food and service were substandard”

The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove
Ranked #32 of 104 Restaurants in Christiansted
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual Beachside Dining within a stone's throw of the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Locations for dining include our semi-formal oceanside Mahogany Dining Room, our casual and comfortable beachside pavilion, and our festive and lively Mahogany bar, with its stepped up location affording views out toward the ocean. Room Service is available most days when the restaurant is open. To-Go Boxed lunches can be prepared ahead of time if you are going out on an excursion, tour or adventure for the day. Our weekly lineup of events and entertainment varies from our very popular Caribbean Night Buffet with live dj, moko jumbies and fire dancers from 6 to 9 pm on Monday nights to TRIVIA in our Mahogany Dining Room on Wednesday night, to Surf N Turf on Friday nights and Prime Rib Saturday Nights. During High Season we will almost always have live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights. Our a la carte Sunday Brunch is popular, with live entertainment. Our Mahogany Bar is a favoring spot for locals and tourists alike,
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
342 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Nice View, but food and service were substandard”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The restaurant is right on the beach with nice views of the water and surrounding landscape. The menu was standard breakfast food, which was ok, but not that great. The service was bad--there were two other tables of people besides us, one couple and one table of 10-12 people. After waiting for about 15 minutes for our order to come, a waiter came to tell us it would be "a long time" because of the big party. It took about 35 minutes to get our food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lizardtiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Glad that you enjoyed our location. We do try and vary our menus on a regular basis to incorporate Guest requests. And as I'm sure you noticed, since we are a resort our menus are built more around comfort foods than around specialty items. I'm sorry your breakfast took longer to arrive than usual. With another party of a dozen people coming in just before you it does unfortunately slow things down a bit. We do appreciate your taking the time to review our restaurant as it as it helps to keep us pointed in the right direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    82
    54
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food-Excellent Service”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Palms at Pelican Cove Nov.1, 2012-Nov. 5, 2012 on a scuba diving trip. It was our first time staying at this resort, as I had last been on the Island in 1993 between Hurricanes Gilbert (which just missed the Island) and Hugo, (which flattened it) and stayed in a downtown Christiansted hotel that trip. Normally we eat at the restaurant where we stay only one night, as we enjoy experiencing numerous eateries in the places we visit. This restaurant was an exception-we had dinner there three of our four nights on the Island as well as breakfast our last day. The food was excellent as was the service. The menu was well-varied and catered to both lighter meals if we had spent too much time eating the restaurant's wonderful appetizers at Happy Hour or full meals to end a day of diving. The tables are only steps from the sandy beach which enhances the ambience. We noticed that many locals dined there for both lunch and dinner. If the restaurant tables were full, there was always room at the bar for full sevice dining, which we had to do since we didn't have reservations for the highly-popular Friday night Lobster Night. Andy runs a top-notch operation and all the staff exhibit his exuberant energy and desire to make the dining experience of the guests the best that it can be. The service by all the wait staff, and especially Andy's wife, Emily, who was our server our last night, was nothing short of excellent. As our plane left the ground ,Janet and I looked at each other and both said "We would definitely come back"

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for the great review. I will make sure that your compliments are shared with all of the staff. We do our absolute best to make sure our Guest's experience is rewarding and exceeding of expectations. It's rarely easy to come into a new position like Andy and Emily did and hit the ground running. But they are industry seasoned, and are excited by the opportunity of living on island and helping move the Palms Restaurant and Resort forward. They have the full support of the management and staff of the resort, and as you mentioned, they have done a great job in the short time they have been here. We very much enjoyed having you and your dive group stay here and we look forward to your next trip down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Normal food”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great food better than your typical resort food. Breakfast lunch and dinner menu all good. Wish it had more healthy options but still alot of options. The monday night rib buffet was awesome. Best ribs I have ever had!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jaime N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm & Friendly”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We finally found The Palms at Pelican Cove and decided to stay for lunch. We both had a Tropical Chicken Salad with Coconut Vinaigrette. The Salad was very fresh and the chicken tender. The Coconut Vinaigrette was thankfully on the side. It was as thick as molasses and very very sweet. We asked for vinegar to dilute it somewhat and that did the trick we drizzled a bit on our salads and were in Pelican Cove heaven! The service is very friendly and welcoming. We made reservations for Sunday brunch before we left!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Putterwagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tues night buffet”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The buffet was ok, basic American BBQ fare but the entertainment was great. My wife, who had never seen fire dancing or Moko Jumbies was absolutely thrilled!

The price was way too high for the food but since she enjoyed the show so much I will consider that a wash.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Glad that you and your wife enjoyed the evening. Our chefs go all out to ensure that we have one of the tastiest BBQ buffets on island. In fact, you can see, smell and hear the freshness of the chicken and ribs as they are freshly BBQ'd right behind the line. And please keep in mind that the price of $30 includes not only the buffet and full dessert table, but also all of the evenings entertainment - the Moko Jumbies, Kiki and the Fire Dancers, Line Dancing to Electric Slide, Limbo Rock on the beach, live music, etc. It is a full two hours and more of fun and excitement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
Christiansted, St. Croix
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Restaurant at the Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing