We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gentle Winds - Caribbean Breeze (I4) - Great on all Counts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christiansted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gentle Winds Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed here with our daughter and her friend for a week. We rented directly from the Vreelands (owners) in VRBO. This place is as good as all the other reviews. This is a two-bedroom unit with en-suite baths. There is also an entryway with a washer/dryer and a fold-out couch. There is a large kitchen and, 4-seat dining table, and a living room. While we have stayed in prettier places, this unit and condo complex are a great place to stay. The kitchen is well stocked with dishes, spices, condiments, and dishwasher/washing machine cleaners, so you don't have to run to the grocery story and buy a bunch of things to use once. The unit was extremely clean when we arrived (housekeepers were finishing up from the earlier guests when we arrived around 4:30 (check-out is 11:00). The unit is also extremely supplied with beach towels (>12), and bath towels (>20).

Gentle Winds has about a 300' beach that is effectively private, clean, and with lots of beach chairs. The coral reef comes very close to shore, which is good for snorkeling (the unit comes with snorkeling equipment), but can be a bit rocky (beach shoes recommended if you want to wander more than 50' from shore), and a large beach-front swimming pool (also lots of deck chairs). The pool/beach area, like the rest of the resort, has lots of palm trees. The pool/beach area is cleaned every morning. The exercise area is also beach side. Other amenities include 2 tennis courts, and basketball area, and at least three holes of pitch and putt.

Because this is a resort of privately owned condos, only about 20 of them were occupied when we were there. I was told about 50 are occupied in peak season (Christmas - February). This made it all the more like we had our own resort. Another nice feature is the snack shack. This was open from about 11:30 - 5:00 (longer hours in peak season). It had a nice choice of burgers, fries (best I've had in years), wraps, hot dogs, etc. It also has a full-service bar (we enjoyed a full range of island beverages). This makes it nice to have a full day at the beach, and the prices are reasonable. There is lots of shade, so those who like full sun and those who like partial sun can enjoy the day there.

Gentle Winds is in an excellent location. It is about 10min from Christiansted, 15min from the Carambola, 15min from the airport, 20 min from the Cruzan distillery, and 20min from Fredricksted. Allow twice this time the first few days, as the roads are a bit tricky in terms of signage and turns to keep on the same road.

To sum it up, we found Gentle Winds I4 to be the perfect place for a quiet vacation for us (we are in our mid-40s). There were quite a few families with smaller children and grandchildren there as well.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 125 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2010

This was our 3rd trip to condo I-5! It is clean-washer/dryer available and plenty of towels and othe amenities! Fully stocked kitchen and nice flat screen tv, blu-ray dvd, mp3/iPod friendly, surround sound. It also has 3 beautiful patio's to enjoy the wonderful view of the ocean and sunsets! The Beach Shack (Tiki Bar) by the pool has great food and service-the bacon cheeseburgers are phenominal! The grounds are kept beautifully-truly paradise!! We were there for Jump Up-which is a fun festival with Moka Jumbi, steel pan music, great street vendors and food-held in Christiansted about 3-4 times a year! Buck I sland is beautiful to go snorkel and Christiansted has great places to shop-Sonya's for jewelry! Go to "Off the Wall" on Cane Bay to enjoy a beautiful sunset and free sunset shooter plus great pizza! Rowdy Joe's also has phenominal food, home made delicious ice-cream, and is a great spot to watch sporting events! Salt Water River is great for kayaking and don't foget the Domino Club where the (non-alcholic) beer chugging pigs reside! Sunset Grill also has a great view-dining right on the beach and great service! The people of St Croix are wonderful, the owners of the condo are friendly and great to work with! We can't wait to go back next year!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Iheartparadise77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Third trip to Gentle Winds, first time in I-10 and found it to be wonderful. Owner's art work is very much of the island and interesting. All 3 bedrooms and baths were clean and well equipped with plenty of towels and hair dryers. Also plenty of beach towels. Condo was clean, well kept and ideal for our family vacation for 3 couples. Both owner and real estate agent called on day #4 to make sure all was ok. A local phone book would have been helpful, but island magazine had most of the numbers we wanted to book reservations. Rowdy Joe's just up the road was a great place to eat with delicious fish tacos and homemade ice cream. We always love Duggan's Reef and Cheeseburgers in Paradise as well as Angry Nate's and Rumrunners. Location could not be better with Anchor Dive Center/Caribbean Adventures right next door with easy boat rides, shore surface intervals and outstanding service.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank scuba4Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

The word "perfect" is sometimes overused on this website, but our recent family vacation might even be better than that. My husband, our two children, and I have just returned from nine glorious days in St. Croix. Gentle Winds is an ideal resort for families with kids of any age. Beach access, a huge pool, acres of grassy lawn for playing, a clubhouse for cloudy days, and a beachside snack shack where Karen will fix all their favorites are just some of the great amenities that allow parents and children alike to relax and enjoy their stay. We loved the snorkeling on our very own beach and exploring the tidal pools.

Unit C-6 was everything we could ask for. It is centrally located and has amazing views of the lovely grounds, the pool, and the Caribbean Sea. With three bedrooms and three bathrooms as well as sleeping quarters in the loft, we had enough room to entertain two guests for part of our stay. We also appreciated the two sun-drenched decks as well as the screened-in porch off the living room. The kitchen was very well stocked and made us feel at home. The owner's website (gentlewinds.com) was accurate and informative. We found everything in working order and as described when we arrived.

We have stayed in several all-inclusive resorts in the Caribbean and have found that Gentle Winds mee

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Ok so we went to the Gentle Winds for our vaction. I have to say it was nice. we stayed in J4 and the veiw was great. Every thing was good, the grounds, the pool, the beach with nice clear water, and the Ping pong table was cool. The only problem i had was i slept on the couch. It was ok intill about the 3rd day here. we where only here 5 days. apon waking up the 3rd morning i saw that i had a large amount of bite marks on me. And since i only slept on the couch it was probably from that. I think they may have a bed bug problem. Besides going home with alot of itchy bite marks on my body it was an ok visit

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ethan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We just returned from our second trip to unit I5. We have stayed at Gentle Winds several times and I5 has the best view of them all. It is a 3 bedroom/3bath in the closest building to the ocean. The rooms are all large and well stocked with linens and furniture. The owners are in the process of updating some things. The air conditioning was not working for a couple of days over the weekend, but was fixed promptly on Monday am. Enjoyed having the wireless internet to get my school work done every night. There are two balconies and a wonderful screened porch. The beach is always near empty, as well as the pool. No trouble getting a beach chair here no matter what time of year we have went. There is a small roped off swimming area and good snorkeling beyond it. The beach faces north but the condo faces west, so you have a nice sunset view.

I would say if you are looking for a four star place this is not it. It does need some sprucing up, but is worth every penny. If you are looking for a reasonable place to stay with your family right on a beautiful beach, this is it. I would recommend I5.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnieMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

We were on the island for a week and had a great time the whole time. We loved the location, close enough to Christianhead to be able to get anything you need, but far our enough to be relaxed and open. The view was beautiful and the diving was great. The dive shop was the friendliest I been at. We did a lot of activities on the island, hiking, fishing, scuba, as well as lounging by the pool. I even ran a road race, which was fun.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldwideAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christiansted hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
505 reviews
4.5 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
131 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arawak Bay: the Inn at Salt River
4 mi away
Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort
Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis ...
#10 of 14 in Christiansted
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gentle Winds Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gentle Winds Condominiums

Address: 9003 Gentle Winds, Christiansted 00822-5605, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Christiansted
Price Range: $150 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gentle Winds Condominiums consists of 66 individually owned two and three bedroom units located on 40 acres of beautifully landscaped property. All bedrooms have ensuite baths. Many of the units are rented directly by the homeowner on FlipKey or a similar vacation rental site and/or a real estate agent. Some units accept pets and have wheel chair access. There is a seasonal snack shack/bar. There is an excellent swimming beach as well as two tennis courts, half court basketball, jungle gym, shuffle board, salt water pool and a four hole golf course at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gentle Winds Condominiums Hotel Christiansted
Gentle Winds Condominiums St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing