We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gentle Winds Condo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gentle Winds Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christiansted
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gentle Winds Condominiums
Save
You added Gentle Winds Condominiums to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gentle Winds Condo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful week at Gentle Winds Condo (unit I 6). The condo was clean and fairly well equipped. The location was perfect. This condo was on the ground floor, so we could just walk out the bedroom onto the lawn to the beach or pool. The beach is beautiful and the thatched huts offer much needed shade.
The huge pool with mini waterfalls was always clean. The kids loved it.
We ate at the "beach shack" a couple of times and really enjoyed the convenience if it.
I would definately recommend this condo complex and unit I 6. Our whole party rental three condos and we couldn't have been happier.
Great vacation spot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
60
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmingdale, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

A bit hard to find, but definitely worth the trouble. Make sure you have good directions, especially if you arrive at night..you don't want to get lost there at night! Otherwise, location is perfect with private beaches and most of the units come with snorkeling gear. Some of the units a bit outdated but your not inside much anyway! Everything is clean and well kept, beautiful property to go exploring on...different paths, you can walk for miles exploring the beaches, shores and rocks. It truly is beautiful. All the staff is friendly, as are the other guests we encountered. Within walking distance, is a lovely little restaurant and canoe place! We did night kayaking and it was awesome!! You actually see the plankton glowing on the water's surface...its amazing! I would definitely recommend renting a condo at Gentle Winds for your stay in St. Croix!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Clair Shores
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We just spent ten weeks at Gentle Winds, and the reviews I'm reading here all sound just about right. Many of the units are a little tired, but as long as there aren't structural or health problems (mold, etc), we think it's a great location to stay while on the island. What we want to review is the Beach Shack, where Don and Tes serve up drinks and food every day of the week from about 11:30 to 6 (will close earlier if the beach area is empty) during busy season. I think they open weekends only during the summer months. This feature adds SO much to the GW experience! Being able to grab an icy cold beer, or chat about just about anything (they're verrrry friendly!), or enjoy any one of a great number of lunch offerings, we think the Beach Shack is a gem. We heard some residents say they thought the prices were high. We wonder about that, because we had lunch at many different spots in the area (north shore) and elsewhere on the island, finding the Shack's prices to be right in line. Don will even act as concierge if you like, he knows about lots of the tours on the island, golf, and is ever willing to help you make or even make your plans for you......now THAT'S full service! Our advice is to stop by Gentle Winds for an afternoon at the lovely beach and a visit with Don......you'll have a great day!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Friends of ours recommended unit I-10 and connected us directly with the owner. She was very helpful describing the unit and the ammenities at Gentle Winds. We have never traveled to the islands and were absolutley thrilled with our entire experience. The unit is 3 bedroom 3 bath right on the beach! The price for winter rates was extremely reasonable, and the unit was fully equipt - right down to an adorable bar with martini shaker and a supply of liquor left available for renters! I've never had that in any other condo rented stateside!!
We enjoyed the beautiful views from the two open balconies facing the ocean and the lovely touches in the condo. It felt like a home rather than a sterile vacation unit. The owner is an artist who has beautiful paintings displayed throughout. Additionally she has her studio set up in the loft making you feel a bit artistic even if you have no talent!!!
We have already booked our vacation for next year - the kids decided this one for us! In addition to the beach, the pool, and beach shack for lunches, the kids loved the condo with the doll house left for little guests to enjoy!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank IslandFun_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is one of the nicer places in St Croix. Its nice because its NOT towards the town but is out a little ways--more secluded. You don't have the town noise and the beach is an isolated small beach. Kids can enjoy the pool and beach and be within view. Water there is very safe as no surf...so you can snorkle out and see things. [Hint: Not much in the immediate vicinity of the hotel because the beach is so safe--no corral hence no fish. Look carefully and you can see octopus.] WHY WOULD YOU WANT AN ISOLATED HOTEL? Answer: One of the things NO ONE tells you about the Virgin Islands is the crime rate. It can be very deceptive looking at a barren beach picture and thinking, "Crime? Huh?" It is VERY important to get a vacation spot that has its own private security force on duty 24 hours a day. Its also nice IF the beach isn't easily walked by un-desireables. [Hint: In town we were told 'stay off the beach late at night']

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spockmannewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

I stayed here on my first trip to STX, in unit D6, owned by Larry and Pat Knudsen. They were so helpful when it came to deciding where to stay! Talked to them directly on the phone and they sounded lovely. They even worked with us on pricing.

The best part when we arrrived was the setup of their condo. You can tell they really have a unique style and a passion for the island lifestyle. Their unit was creatively decorated and came with all amentities one would need. Bathrooms were fully stocked with linens and supplies, the kitchen was complete with cookware, a blender, a few pantry items and they have a mini bar also. We tried to replace most items we used. The 3 bedroom (two down and one up) unit was perfect for our stay even though there were only two of us. This unit could definitely accommodate a family and some friends. There is a deck off the bedroom upstairs that was perfect for watching the sunrise. Screened porch for hanging out and dining at night while listening to the waves. There were also plenty of books, magazines and board games if it was rainy!

There is a pool, beach chairs and hammocks on the beach. Also, great stretch of beach to explore, watch out for sea urchins! With a short drive to Christiansted or to Cane Bay, Gentle Winds has a great location and amenities to match!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, IA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My husband and I and our 2 daughters (9 & 11) stayed at Gentle Winds in St Croix from Jan 19-26th. We found St Croix to be an amazing island both in beauty and also in the friendly people we encountered on our trip. We were fortunate to have found Calypso Condo at Gentle Winds. The owners could not have been more accomodating and the condo had everything we could have wanted for our week long stay. It is a few steps from the beach where our daughters spent literally hours snorkeling and enjoying the beach. The condo itself was very clean and we had more than enough space for the 4 of us (3bedroom/3 bath). I truly miss the sound of the waves to put me to sleep at night. The condo is very tastefully decorated and it is close enough to restaraunts and other beaches but removed enough from any busy activity so that you can truly relax and call your time vacation! We rarely vacation to the same area twice but this is on our list of places to return to. A big thank you to Barbara and Bob (the owners) for being so accomodating and making us feel "at home"!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsgMilford_IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine-1702, Owner at Gentle Winds Condominiums, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Falling asleep to the sounds of the surf is really great isn't it? And walking just a few steps across the lawn to the beach for snorkeling isn't bad either. So glad to hear you had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.4 mi away
Sugar Beach Condominiums
Sugar Beach Condominiums
#5 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
6.3 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
4.6 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#1 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
4.6 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gentle Winds Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gentle Winds Condominiums

Property: Gentle Winds Condominiums
Address: 9003 Gentle Winds, Christiansted 00822-5605, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gentle Winds Condominiums consists of 66 individually owned two and three bedroom units located on 40 acres of beautifully landscaped property. All bedrooms have ensuite baths. Many of the units are rented directly by the homeowner on FlipKey or a similar vacation rental site and/or a real estate agent. Some units accept pets and have wheel chair access. There is a seasonal snack shack/bar. There is an excellent swimming beach as well as two tennis courts, half court basketball, jungle gym, shuffle board, salt water pool and a four hole golf course at no extra charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gentle Winds Condominiums Hotel Christiansted
Gentle Winds Condominiums St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing