We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Paradise On the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colony Cove Beach Resort
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tropical Paradise On the Beach”
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We recently stayed at Colony Cove in unit 101D for a week. Not only did we enjoy the "on the beach" location and views, but we also enjoyed the comfort and decor of this vacation rental. We loved the morning sunrises with our coffee on the secure balcony, or a relaxing swing on the beach hammock a few steps from our balcony. Afternoons were spent by the pool or snorkeling on the reef steps away from our beach front.
Free wi-fi, in suite laundry and all kitchen appliances are available with this modern, clean and comfortable rental. This unit has a Caribbean view and direct access to the beach and water. Sun, fun and Caribbean breezes topped off our fantastic holiday stay in Unit 101D.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bkstinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    36
    9
    4
    11
See reviews for
24
30
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

it is true that this place is located on the beach, but it is not a bathing beach. You CAN NOT swim there. Not unless you are willing to climb the 3 foot high rock barrier. We needed to be relocated!

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank joann1628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salt Lake, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We had a great time in St. Croix. We stayed in Colony Cove unit 102-D. It is a ground level two bedroom condo with the back deck opening to the sandy beach. Great snorkeling just feet away from the condo. Gated community and we felt very comfortable and safe the entire stay. 102-D has a pool but we didn't use it because we were in the warm ocean water the whole time. Colony Cove is situated in a bay which is protected by a natural reef leaving the waters calm. The condo was decorated in a cute beach theme and very clean! We really enjoyed our breakfasts our on the porch overlooking the blue ocean. Views from the condo are amazing.The highlight of the trip was rescuing a baby sea turtle from being eaten by the crab that had him in his grasp. We shook off the crab and sent the turtle off to sea. St. Croix is an amazing place to visit. We will be back again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erinstravels2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, PA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Made another trip to St. Croix the week of Thanksgiving and found that the water was perfect. You cold just walk in it was so warm. Temp. was 85* but nice trade winds blowing constantly. Great to find out that this is a year round vacation spot. Stayed at Colony Cove, Unit 306C again. Beautiful accomodations, perfect view of the beach and Christenstead Harbor in the foreground. Went to "Jump-Up" and did come Christmas shopping in downtown area. Had some of the best meals at Rum Runners, Bombay Club and Off the Wall and Breezs for Sunday brunch. Great place for couples get away. See VRBO for Unit 306C at Colony Cove. You will not regret choosing this convenient location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavisPa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We took the advice from a reviewer on Trip Advisor and requested unit 102D right on the beach. The apartment was a pleasant surprise. It had obviously been newly remodeled - bathroooms, kitchen, new tile throughout. It was decorated in a cute beach theme. We loved the covered patio with a gate right out onto the beach. In the afternoon, the beach was shaded by the building and was perfect for reading on a lounge chair. The location was good, close to downtown Christiansted. We rented a car and took trips to beautiful beaches all over the island. The beaches were not crowded and the snorkeling was great. We especially loved the beach at Cane Bay. We took a day trip to Buck Island to snorkel. St Croix is a small island and it is easy to drive around (although you are driving on the left side of the road). It is very easy to find your way around the island. We found some very nice restaurants. We recommend Zebo's, Bombay Club, the Pickled Greek and on the west end The Beachside Cafe at Sand Castle. It was our first trip to St. Croix and we loved it. We will be going back and hope to rent the same unit from Colony Cove! We went for a relaxing get away and we found it on St. Croix.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank colleen40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

I have read some of the reviews previously posted. Apparently, there is inconsistency in the quality of the individual units. I guess this makes some sense, since Colony Cove is a condo community with individual owners, not a “single owner” hotel. Also, based on some of the reviews, I think I got one of the crappier rooms! Even so, I would definitely recommend this place! (With some qualifications.) I gave Colony Cove four stars for what it is: budget condos. It is not the Four Seasons, nor did I expect it to be.

The units are well laid out, and have two bathrooms. True, the furnishings in our unit were a little worse for wear, but still serviceable. Everything worked. Good showers, clean bathroom & kitchen, etc. That’s a FULL kitchen, not a kitchenette. Very nice terrace, where we spent A LOT of time, watching the sea. Beds themselves were comfortable, though the sheets were poor quality, and pillows weren’t great.

Bring your own shampoo. Hair dryer and iron included. Small TV (we watched maybe 15 minutes total the whole week), no stereo in our unit. Luckily, I brought some portable iPod speakers with me.

If you come in the off season, they have plenty of snorkeling gear. If you come during high season, I can imagine it would take some luck to get gear in your size. For the money you will save by staying here, buy some gear at Kmart. There is a great artificial reef which provides pretty good snorkeling right there. I spent some time almost every day there. They provide beach towels. The pool is adequate.

Someone below said everything is within walking distance. Strongly disagree with that. Yes, you can get by without a car, but you are severely limiting your trip. It is, however, a great location to get to the various parts of the Island with a car. Christiansted is 5-10 min away, Cane Bay is around 20, Divi around 20/25 min, etc.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rantipole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed at Colony Cove for some pre-holiday sun and relaxation this year and couldn't have picked a more wonderful spot. We'd vacationed in St. Croix before, but the accommodation here really made the trip - the complex/community has good on-site facilities (e.g. pool and tennis courts), and is within walking distance of a few restaurants with decent beach food and a convenience store.

But the best thing for me was being able to step out of 102D directly onto the Cove's private beach. And while I'm used to accepting some wear & tear as the price for staying on the beach, not so with 102D, which has a modern yet cozy kitchen (love the star fish cupboard handles) and two immaculate bathrooms.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lek28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
80 reviews
3.3 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,407 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,111 reviews
7.3 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Cove Beach Resort

Property: Colony Cove Beach Resort
Address: 3221 Golden Rock, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colony Cove Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Condominium Resort situated beachfront, 2 miles from Christiansted & 29 from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Colony Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Cove Beach Hotel Christiansted
Colony Cove Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing