We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its St Croix, but its not Paradise - Corporate Housing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Christiansted
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Its St Croix, but its not Paradise - Corporate Housing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Have seen both positive and negative reviews, and I agree with them all. Staff wasn't the most friendly (Not Marriott for sure), but this is corporate housing/condos, and not a 5 star resort. On site restaurant "Breezez" has unbelievalbe food, large portions, and good drinks. NO issues with staff there. Pool was clean and available 24-hours, including a large hot tub. Rooms have spotty room service. I believe only 3-4 days a week I had service. The beach is not a swimming beach. Behind the reef and full of seaweed. This place is also next door to the refinery, so you hear that most of the night unless you have the AC on. No night activities there, other then the local condo bars right there. Know where you are traveling, and never alone in the area. OVerall, not a bad value, as long as your using it as a sleeping quarters and not much else. You'll need a car to get into either Christiansted (10 mins) or over to Fredericksted (30+minutes). There is a hot spot available, but not the quickest, and a little expensive.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluecrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    21
    10
    6
    13
See reviews for
7
26
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CHARLOTTE NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

Arrived at resort with an email confirmation for 2 bedroom condo and was given a 1 bedroom unit. When I questioned the error, was told no 2 bedroom unit available; the clerk said was not her fault, she was not the person who made reservation with me (I made reservation over the phone), but could send us to a "sister property". That "sister" resort was totally unacceptable, but that is another review. My family and I lost hours of our vacation trying to find other accommodations. To further my frustration, I requested a credit card receipt for a refund of my deposit and was told to come back the next day and speak to supervisor. Do not trust this resort, even with confirmed reservations! Very poor customer service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FancyPantsNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Christiansted hotels

New York City
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Rooms were ok. You have a full kitchen so you can cook. This hotel is on the beach but it is horrible. Not able to swim beacuse of seaweed and grass. We traveled to hotel on the cay everyday to enjoy the beach. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay with no frills this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycgallovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Out of everywhere we stayed in the BVI and USVI this was my favorite place. We were only able to stay one night but the condo was extremely comfortable. The office staff was somewhat short but overall the experience was great. The condo had its own kitchen and a nice patio overlooking the private beach. The condo is also very close to downtown shopping in Christiansted. It was only about a 10 minute drive at the most.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaelaannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Fantastic place to stay and feel at home in your own condo rental. It's expensive to dine out all the time, so having the fully equiped kitchen at our disposal was really great way to save and dishwahers make cleanup easy. We enjoyed quiet breakfasts on our own balcony overlooking a well kept beach, Buck Island and the harbor activity. There is a great resturant on the premises also.
All the units are individually owned so there is quite a difference in some of them. On the whole they were well maintained, very clean and comfortable. The staff is so courteous and friendly, they go out of their way to be helpful.
If it's a laid back, relaxing place to stay without the bustle of people around this is it. We were there 8 days and saw 6 people on the beach at the most at one time, same at the pool.
We will definitly return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandseeker8236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

We spent 6 days in St. Croix and felt that the Club St. Croix met our needs. We spent the majority of our time out doing things, so it really was only a place to prepare a meal, bathe and sleep. We weren't looking for a first-class hotel, and were thrilled to have the availability of a kitchen in the room and a laundry facility on the premises. We rented a junior suite, which is a step up from the basic room. This gave us a balcony with ocean view, a regular queen-sized bed, and the kitchen area with dishwasher. The unit was furnished with enough pots, pans and utensils that cooking was not a problem. Maid service is hit-or-miss unless you put the hang tag on the door indicating that you want service. They replenished towels and washcloths, emptied trash and swept the floors. They changed our linen once when I left the bed unmade. Laundry is expensive to do at $3.50 a load to wash and $3.50 to dry, but it made a difference in terms of how much clothing we needed to pack. Laundry soap is available in the one load box at $1.00 each. Tokens need to be purchased from the office in order to use the laundry facility, which is located in the pool area. A deposit is charged for beach towels and snorkel gear as well. Internet access is a little pricey, but we found that one day of internet was enough, and the connection was fine. There is a daily charge for room phone, so if you have a cellphone, use it--reception was fine on almost every part of the island. We did not eat at Breezez, the restaurant on site.

Some of the other reviews are critical of the office staff, the units and the beach area. The office staff were pleasant, but not overly friendly. They do not allow visitors in the office, but the office is quite small, and we didn't find that policy offensive in any way. The units are not new, and they are located directly on the ocean. There is bound to be some wear and tear as a result--corrosion of metal doorframes, etc., but we didn't find it overly problematic. The unit was comfortable for us, and although not something out of Architectural Digest, was perfectly adequate for us throughout our time there.

Just off the Club St. Croix beach is a major seaweed bed, which is just something that occurs as a result of being behind the coral reef and on the north shore. There are so many other beaches to choose from, that it didn't matter one bit to us, and there is no beach on St. Croix that is off limits--their policy is that everyone should be able to enjoy the beaches. That being said, I was appalled to see some beach areas littered with dirty diapers, broken beer bottles and so forth. The beaches on St. Croix are so pristine, I cannot fathom why anyone would want to ruin them.

All-in-all, we felt that Club St. Croix was a fairly good bargain and afforded us a central location from which to get to various places on the island. Some reviews also noted the proximity of the housing projects to the club. We did not feel unsafe at all, no matter where we were on the island. Use good common sense--not traveling alone, not carrying large amounts of cash, not going into the projects, and not being out in unfamiliar territory after dark. St. Croix is a lovely place with a lot of wonderful things to see and do, or simply, to do nothing at all!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chicagonurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asotin, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

The murphy bed was terrible; hard. At $125.00 a night this was the most expensive place we stayed for the month we were in the Caribbean, and the very bottom of our list! Only stayed one night before moving to The Hotel on the Cay for a week! Check in is at a table outside the office, Guest are not allowed in the office??? Staff was not overly friendly! At Hotel on the Cay they went out of their way to welcome us and tell us about all that the hotel had to offer!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geocacheferrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christiansted hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
0.6 mi away
Sugar Beach Condominiums
Sugar Beach Condominiums
#5 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#7 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
0.6 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#11 of 15 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#1 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort

Property: Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort
Address: 3280 Estate Golden Rock | Rte 752, Christiansted 00820-4105, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Club St. Croix Beach and Tennis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club St. Croix Beach And Tennis Hotel Christiansted
Club St. Croix Beach And Tennis Resort Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing