We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”
Review of Club Comanche

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Comanche
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I was given a room located a far distance from lobby that included a series of five set of steps with short and long walk ways in-between. The final corridor to my room was unlit and the first light switch into the unit was without a light bulb. I later learned the main building was closed due to a sewage problem which may have been evident by the putrid green pool. Each evening extremely loud music played from a club adjacent to the hotel until 2am. The room itself was newly renovated and included a very comfortable bed and new linens. A downfall to the room quality was the black water pouring out of the bathtub faucet which cleared in a few seconds. Disgusting! I tried contacting management and was greeted by a voicemail message. After leaving a time-sensitive message there was no return call. Stay away as you may be greeted by a posted sign, "Closed by the Dept. of Public Health."

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jrglobaltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Club Comanche
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 128 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

This property is difficult to locate and the staff was unable to provide directions from the airport. The rooms are beautifully restored. However, parking is non-existent and requires walking for several blocks on what seems to be less-than-safe dark streets. Additionally, when the office is closed, all easy to access doors are locked, you must navigate treacherous steps that again are not well-lit. No convenient restaurants after 7pm. Several glass window slats were missing from the windows which allowed street noise to overwhelm my room. Hot water was only warm and had low pressure. After the stay, it was practically impossible to get a copy of my receipt.

Room Tip: The best room for business travelers would be in a different hotel
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebraC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The rooms were clean and charming. The hotel was sooo close to everything that it was a delite. We have stayed at various resorts over the years and we would never compare it to a resort. It is a historic building that is not perfect, but the charm and great staff make up for the lack of modern. It was great to see that they were redoing the pool. I highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: We stayed over Jump Up weekend and that was the only night we noticed the noice late into the mornin...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIZZYE36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

When you first try to find your room in this rambling building it is quite confusing--our room #14 was up three unconnected flights of stairs (no working elevator), but when you find it, it feels quite homey. The old building has been nicely painted and updated. The bathroom was all new. The room was spartan, but lovely, with a massive wooden bed, phone, and TV--no refrigerator or anything else like that. The air conditioner was new and fully functional as well. The only problem with the hotel was the noise. There is a bar connected to the second floor, but we really didn't hear much in our room. The problem is all the partiers passing by, including at 6:30 in the morning when they chatted loudly outside our room.
I would recommend this pretty, reasonably priced hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizardtiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Staying in St Croix for business, so not looking for a "resort" to stay at. Its a small hotel with awesome staff. The bartenders and the front desk lady made the experience for me. They were so friendly and helpful and directed me to all the places I wanted to find. Its a very minimal hotel, no food, no pool (well they have one..its just not in any condition to swim in). It was everything I needed, quiet, laid back and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flmiltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Comanche's main building where we stayed is one of the oldest wooden structures on the island, originally a doctor's home. As such, it's old, with wooden floors and thin walls. The rooms are updated with air-conditioning and plenty of outlets. WIFI is dependable but not fast like stateside.
The room we have is furnished with an antique King Mahogany 4-poster bed, antique mahogany wardrobe, desk and nightstands. It's beautiful, as if we were taken back to the late 18th century. There's a small coffee maker, alarm clock (never used) and an ironing board/Iron. We also requested and were furnished with a small fridge for our 3 week stay.
The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Our room is serviced daily.

The Hotel bar is just across the small bridge over the street. There's live music on occasion there and you can hear the fun clearly from the room. It's inviting and lively. The boardwalk is right down the path. There you will find the windmill bar and many great places to eat and drink. The Hotel is a short walk from everywhere in Christiansted.

Synapses: If you're looking for a hotel with sterile plastic floors and sound proof walls then this is not the hotel for you. If you enjoy the party, love the Caribbean lifestyle, appreciate antiquity like I do then this is the #1 hotel on the Island!!!

I love this place!

Room Tip: I can only tell you about the Historic building BUT they do have a modern building closer to the wat...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Quaint. Look, Christiansted is not the disney world caribbean mega fun plea happy land that you might see on other islands. St Croix in general is a little rougher around the edges, but to me, tho is the real caribbean. The hotel is old and charming. The weathered wooden floor, the turn of the century decorations, and the overall ambiance could fool you into thinking you a WWII era author, or maybe the protagonist in an old black and white film. The hotel is a bit noisy, a bit spooky, but hugely charming. Don't miss the bar!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Malcolm Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.1 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
499 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holger Danske Hotel
Holger Danske Hotel
#9 of 14 in Christiansted
103 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,427 reviews
8.5 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Comanche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Comanche

Address: 1 Strand St | Waterfront Boardwalk, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Price Range: $97 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Comanche 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Comanche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Comanche Hotel Christiansted
Comanche Hotel Christiansted
Club Comanche St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing