We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Comanche
Nearby Hotels
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel on the Cay(Christiansted)(Great Value!)
$209
$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$145
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Buccaneer St Croix(Christiansted)
$399
$284
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $326/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,126
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. John Inn(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
$330
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
41
41
18
13
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
41
18
13
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelmanager michaelst croixcentral locationboardwalk areai highly recommend this hotelrecommend staying heremodern amenitiesstaff went out of their waychecking inrelaxing stayfeel like familysugar millcaribbean seaevery morningislandstrand
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 136 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This property is difficult to locate and the staff was unable to provide directions from the airport. The rooms are beautifully restored. However, parking is non-existent and requires walking for several blocks on what seems to be less-than-safe dark streets. Additionally, when the office is closed, all easy to access doors are locked, you must navigate treacherous steps that again are not well-lit. No convenient restaurants after 7pm. Several glass window slats were missing from the windows which allowed street noise to overwhelm my room. Hot water was only warm and had low pressure. After the stay, it was practically impossible to get a copy of my receipt.

Room Tip: The best room for business travelers would be in a different hotel
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebraC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The rooms were clean and charming. The hotel was sooo close to everything that it was a delite. We have stayed at various resorts over the years and we would never compare it to a resort. It is a historic building that is not perfect, but the charm and great staff make up for the lack of modern. It was great to see that they were redoing the pool. I highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: We stayed over Jump Up weekend and that was the only night we noticed the noice late into the morning. But we were enjoying the atmosphere so it didn't matter. The lofts face the harbor and we stayed in room 3 that was right on Strand Street. It was so convienent.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LIZZYE36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

When you first try to find your room in this rambling building it is quite confusing--our room #14 was up three unconnected flights of stairs (no working elevator), but when you find it, it feels quite homey. The old building has been nicely painted and updated. The bathroom was all new. The room was spartan, but lovely, with a massive wooden bed, phone, and TV--no refrigerator or anything else like that. The air conditioner was new and fully functional as well. The only problem with the hotel was the noise. There is a bar connected to the second floor, but we really didn't hear much in our room. The problem is all the partiers passing by, including at 6:30 in the morning when they chatted loudly outside our room.
I would recommend this pretty, reasonably priced hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizardtiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Staying in St Croix for business, so not looking for a "resort" to stay at. Its a small hotel with awesome staff. The bartenders and the front desk lady made the experience for me. They were so friendly and helpful and directed me to all the places I wanted to find. Its a very minimal hotel, no food, no pool (well they have one..its just not in any condition to swim in). It was everything I needed, quiet, laid back and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flmiltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Comanche's main building where we stayed is one of the oldest wooden structures on the island, originally a doctor's home. As such, it's old, with wooden floors and thin walls. The rooms are updated with air-conditioning and plenty of outlets. WIFI is dependable but not fast like stateside.
The room we have is furnished with an antique King Mahogany 4-poster bed, antique mahogany wardrobe, desk and nightstands. It's beautiful, as if we were taken back to the late 18th century. There's a small coffee maker, alarm clock (never used) and an ironing board/Iron. We also requested and were furnished with a small fridge for our 3 week stay.
The staff is very friendly and accommodating. Our room is serviced daily.

The Hotel bar is just across the small bridge over the street. There's live music on occasion there and you can hear the fun clearly from the room. It's inviting and lively. The boardwalk is right down the path. There you will find the windmill bar and many great places to eat and drink. The Hotel is a short walk from everywhere in Christiansted.

Synapses: If you're looking for a hotel with sterile plastic floors and sound proof walls then this is not the hotel for you. If you enjoy the party, love the Caribbean lifestyle, appreciate antiquity like I do then this is the #1 hotel on the Island!!!

I love this place!

Room Tip: I can only tell you about the Historic building BUT they do have a modern building closer to the waterfront!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews