We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best trip that I won”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chenay Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
A TripAdvisor Member
Bridgeport Pennsylvania
130
Reviewed August 12, 2005

It was to most relaxing and romatic vacation we had in years. Employees where all wonderful. The rooms were clean.

The resturant and bar was great great service and food.

I would recomend this hotel to everyone.

We rented a car and drove all over the island.

I wish to go back again.

Joe and Gracie

Stayed: December 2004
30  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 436 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2005

Just got back from the Chenay Bay yesterday. We had a family cottage that slept 5 very comfortably. We paid for an ocean-view cottage but you could only see the ocean by craning your neck around some trees & bushes and not at all while sitting on the porch. Tip: if you go, ask for a newer unit that has been recently renovated to be sold as a time-share. These have a much better view and lovely furnishings and is what is depicted on their website.
The beach is nice but too many little broken shells mixed in with the sand. There are better beaches elsewhere on the island. The pool is undergoing some major renovations at this time, as they try to bring it up to a boutique style resort. There were no hammocks, but the chairs were comfortable. The snorkeling around the point on the east and Buck Island was good, but nothing even close to Hanauma Bay on Oahu. If you go to Buck Island, Capt Heinz on the Terroro was a great host.
The Island House Restaurant had delicious food the one night we ate there and not any more expensive than any others. The view from the table was great. I would suggest also eating at Duggan's Reef on the east end and Kendrick's in Christiansted (ask for Anthony). Bombay Club had great escargot.
The owners, Peter and Debi, were very friendly & have a great staff. Sonnelle at the front desk, was a delight to get to know, always a smile and great attitude. Greg, the time-share salesman from Nova Scotia, was also a 1st class individual and very helpful, not at all pushy like most we've met in the past. We did not buy one but considered it closely. The bartenders were also great guys.
A good place to eat lunch on the island is at Cane Bay at Off The Wall. Beautiful view at this spot. The rum factory tour was a waste of time unless you get there at 2pm , take the 15minute tour and sit and drink until closing. The beer drinking pig in the rain forest was also a big joke, don't bother. During the week, the nighlife is virtually non-existent except for the crab races on Tues. at the Brew Pub. Friday night had the biggest crowds of the week, unfortunately we left Sat afternoon.
All in all it was a nice place to stay and relax

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
35  Thank simba4thehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2005

We stayed at the Chenay Bay Beach Resort from July 23-30. The accommodations are beautiful. We stayed at cottage #34 which is what we found out to be one of the newer rooms. We were highly impressed with the room. It contains a kitchenette with marble floors and high ceilings. We had a glorious view of the bay from our patio. There are many cats that linger but we found them to be marvelous, they were our pets for the week! The snorkeling at Chenay Bay is wonderful, especially off to the right where there are rocks and more coral. We saw 4 lobster, a couple of sea stars and several barracuda. Don't be afraid though, one was 6 inch and another one was 2 feet. There's a bigger one off toward to rocks. We kayaked out to Green Cay. The water is very shallow and the snorkeling was good but not as good as Chenay. We saw an octopus which was very neat. Our first night we ate at the Island House, which is the hotel restaurant. We weren't that satisfied with the food. The service was terrible but we can't complain, it was no big deal. We found it to be rather expensive, 25$ a person and 2$ for a six inch plastic cup of tea. But other than that the Chenay Bay Beach Resort made our vacation at St. Croix a memorable trip. If you like loud music, partying, and dancing, than this resort is not for you. Chenay is very laid-back and casual. If the rating choice was 10 stars I'd give Chenay Bay an 11 !

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
34  Thank AngelofMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
bloomfield hills michigan
137
Reviewed July 17, 2005

Arrived home from a week at Chenay Bay on july 3rd 2005. We stayed in cabins 41/42. Postcard view from the front porch ,gorgeous and clean interior. Meals at the Island House are a must. Open air eating, beachfront sunset views, and island inspired entertainment made are delicious meals very enjoyable. The snorkling on Chenay Bay (go to and around the rocky point to the right) was fabulous. We saw sea turtles, octopus, peacock flounder,colorful starfish,queen anglefish and a myriad of other beautiful reef fishes. I would highly recommend Buck Island and Cane Bay for snorkling but we actually enjoyed it more in Chenay Bay due to the calm water.The entire staff made us feel like family. We arrived by 12 noon our first day(without giving the management a heads up) way befour the late afternoon check-in. No problem, they quickly gave us a cottage to use as a home base to store our luggage and change into swimware so would could quickly start using the inviting beach and pool. The grounds are meticulously maintained and constant attention was evident.We fell in love with Chenay Bay and the island of St. Croix. It is paradise on earth. All four of us agreed this was the best vacation we have ever had. I would recommend Chenay Bay without reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
37  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
244
Reviewed June 28, 2005

While visiting St. Croix and not happy with our resort, we visited Cheney Bay Resort. As soon as we walked onto the property we were greeted by four people with goodmorining and how are you today? We were invited to be guests for the day and use any chairs, floats, snorkeling equipment, kayaks etc. We were given a short tour, the little cottages on this property were beautifully decorated, not your run of the mill hotel rooms. Beautifully decorated, quality furniture, fixtures etc. As we were floating in the water Greg (a very friendly employee who does just about everything at this resort) came out with 4 frozen drinks "on the house". We were speechless!! We had lunch there which was absolutely delicious. If I were to return to St. Croix I would definitely make this resort my first choice!!

36  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Macon, GA
145
Reviewed June 11, 2005

Our family spent a week at Chenay Bay the week of Memorial Day 2005. We did not know what to really expect as some of the on line reviews were mixed. I guess some folks will complain about anything (this is my first ever on-line review.) The beauty of St Croix and the Chenay Bay property was great attitude adjuster from work and a delightful time for the kids (15 and 11) as well. The cottage set up made you feel like you were in a community (not a hotel property). We moved our table on the porch and had breakfast, lunch and dessert at night on the covered porch. If you are looking for a mega corporate chain with monogramed towels, soap and pillow mints this is not for you. Snorkelling was great on the reef to the right of the beach. For weaker swimmers strap on a float and it will be well worth it. One day we kayaked to Green Key across from the beach with great snorkeling there as well. The pool layout and location next to the beach was well thought. Note that construction has started to improve the view and layout of the pool. We were apprehensive about dining at the Island House (thinking of Hotel food) but had some great meals there (for dinner try the Grouper and Mahi). The office staff was great as they tried to get my luggage back from Delta all week and special thanks to Craig for a special day tour and ensuring unique liquid refreshments were available.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
45  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ventura Cali.
135
Reviewed June 7, 2005

I just returned home from a week stay at the Chenay Bay Resort, wish I was back there now!! It was a very relaxing week, the personell were very helpful, the cottage was very nicely decorated and the view was spectacular. If you're use to large, brand new resorts and that is what you like, you may be disappointed. They don't claim to be anything they are not. It is peaceful, beautiful, and very quaint. You will need a car while staying at the Chenay Bay, but it is only a 10 to 15 minute ride to Christiansted. I recommend you take a day and drive the entire Island. I would like to comment on one individual in perticular, Craig the bartender, he went out of his way to make all of the guests he came in contact with feel as if they had known one another for years. On his own time, he took guests kayaking to Green Cay, snorkeling at different beaches around the Island and while sailing to Buck Island on Big Beard's catamaran, met up with and made arrangements for four people to have dinner together Sunday night and arranged for two of the four to spend two nights at the resort. I will definitly be back. Hi Craig, Nicki, Jeff, Lauren, Greg, Vern and all the rest. Thanks for a great time, Dave

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
35  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christiansted hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
500 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
3.2 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
3.3 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
85 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chenay Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Address: 5000 Chenay Bay | off East End Road on Chenay Bay, Christiansted 00820-4568, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: $175 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chenay Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the Caribbean Sea Chenay Bay Beach Resort is only 3 miles from Christiansted. Guests revel in the privacy of their West Indian style cottages with kitchenettes and front porch. Amenities include an outdoor infinity edged pool, hot tub, tennis courts, and direct beach access. Savor the flavors of the Caribbean, enjoy tropical drinks at Mahi’s beachfront restaurant, and bar at Chenay Bay Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chenay Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chenay Bay Beach Hotel Christiansted
Chenay Bay Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing