We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Private, peaceful, clean, wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chenay Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
New York area
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Private, peaceful, clean, wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here for a week with my friend May 3 thru May 10th. We had a great, newly done bungalow with a kitchen, iron board, etc. The room was very clean and had a queen and king bed, so with one bed, i can imagine it would appear to have more room. it was just what we were looking for. someplace quiet, peaceful, without the usual trappings of a large hotel, like expensive drinks, outrageous prices and crowded beaches. one day the manager brought us a fresh mango and few minutes later a worker brought us a freshly opened coconut. that would never happen at a big resort. we enjoyed sitting by the ocean, on one of the lounges provided. there was never more than 10 people sitting at the beach so it was quiet, and nice and great to read at. they also have a pool that had some leaves in it (so not a big deal people) but was a little too warm to be as refreshing as going in the ocean. but the surrounding area was clean and nice. please understand that the place is not fancy and it does show its wear and tear, but the manager is doing her best to maintain it. her employees have worked for her on an average of 10 years each and enjoy working there and is reflected in their attitude which is friendly and helpful and kind. the restaurant had some simple things, that were very good, and the beer and wine or whatever you wanted was ice cold. we enjoyed meeting a local electrician that answered all of our questions about the people and customs of st. croix, without hesitation. we also enjoyed swimming with three little local kids, and meeting their mother. they were polite and fun and truly enjoyed the sea. at 5:30 pm the turtles pop their heads up while feeding and i can imagine that with a free snorkel, which the hotel provides, you could see them easily, as they are only 15 feet off shore. their is a beach and a place to go for a walk on the beach, and both were clean. i found no problems with this place at all. not only did i not find any problems, but am most likely going to go back at another time with my husband. there are many things to do on the island, and we paddle boarded and took a snorkeling trip, all reasonably priced. we also rented a jeep and we would seriously, if you are the type of person that needs to be sure where they are driving (we were not, and enjoyed the adventure of trying to find places) to get either a GPS or a map that is NOT from the rental car agency and it is vague and small and half of the roads are not on it.
i highly recommend chenay bay and would return. its location is great, not too close to town, not too far, with dining choices abounding. i loved this place, and i have been to many beach resorts, but i enjoyed the individual attention, getting to know the locals, and the fun of setting off on an adventure without any idea where we would end up. also, the air conditioning in the rooms are fantastic, and cool off the room immediately.

Room Tip: there are some that have ocean views. our room was near the lobby so we were able to get a strong wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SophieNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    148
    47
    49
    36
See reviews for
77
179
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Though the cottages are small, they are very comfortable. It is so peaceful! Unfortunately when we were there the restaurant was closed, but we went in October when it was out of season. This was definitely the time to go, though, because it wasn't crowded. The pool was quite dirty with debris, but again, it wasn't in season and I actually preferred to go when others weren't vacationing. Our AC unit wasn't working when we arrived but someone came to fix it within 10 minutes. I would definitely stay at this resort again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michi941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Chenay Bay Beach Resort was a pleasure. The staff was very polite and helpful and coming from a big city My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed how relaxing and private the resort was. Some of the reviews on here are harsh, the grounds were cared for and as with most resorts on the water it was a bit weathered but it had a certain charm. The rooms were clean and comfortable and new towels were given each day. I would certainly suggest getting a car when visiting St.Croix there is so much to do on the island and not much is close to Chenay Bay Beach Resort. The beach was very calm and clean, There is sea grass and a bit of snorkeling. The bar was welcoming with very friendly bartenders ( Admira-- was very nice! and Allen another employee was very sweet and helpful). There is a very nice pool that is lit up at night and the water was just the perfect temperature. There is not much night life but as I said I was looking to relax so this did not bother me, the restaurant served bar food, though they are not open very late in the day so we ate in many different places around the island.

*** bring bug spray *** there are "no-see-ems" and they are itchy bites, we did not get any from our room we believe it was mostly at night and on the beach during sunset! worse than mosquito bites and this is around the island not just Chenay Bay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traci p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my daughter for 4 nights during the month of Feb 2014. The location is in a beautiful site, right by the beach. Front desk service was very helpful. 2 things though: 1- the restaurant was not offering full service. Employee told me that a new owner acquired it just recently and was still work in process. 2-The rooms need a little of upgrading. But they are clean and comfortable. Not a 5 star place, but definitely a great place to stay. We will be going back in July/Aug and most likely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shopgirl627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We didn't stay at this resort but stopped by to see the property that my brother-in-law and his family frequented. We loved the feel of the resort as soon as we arrived. The villas are well placed, the beach beautiful, and the pool clean and inviting. From first glance we would definitely stay here during our next trip.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I already posted, but mistakenly I posted under Chenay Beach, not the resort. We are currently staying at Chenay Bay. If you are looking for a clean, quiet, no frills.place to stay while you are in St Croix, this is the place for you. If you are looking for 5 star, this is not the place for you. CHENAY BAY RESORT is a good value for what you are paying and for my money, it is a great value!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We were there for 6 days 5 nights- great deal from Groupon, it is comfortable.JetBlue & Seaborne Airlines nice and friendly - so was Cape Air upon our return home. Taxi for 2 $28 from airport about 35min or so. Keep on mind not full service resort at all. Front desk hours 8am -8 pm. Sometimes phone will ring awhile if no one is at desk. Had a cottage unit with a furnished kitchenette comes in handy seriously. No hard line phone in cottage, WFI handy works best by front desk area and Mahis Seafood. Flat screen tv with cable. My cell phone service T-Mobile didn't work well on island so depended on WIFI. The pool wasnt cleaned daily which needed to be from leaves and stuff do didnt get in at all, the grounds were so so looks like some remodeling, lots of small lizards moving around -make sure to get bugs spray. Mahis Seafood is depending on day/time if lucky will have a cook, no veggie burgers at all my whole stay that sucked but Nina the bartender makes "EXCELLENT" Cruzan Confussions. Loved the 1 mile ocean front take that walk worth it with the tent campsites.Snorkeling was fine, Water felt good hang out by beach.
Food options- no fast good deliveries places, best to rent car - if able to stay on left side of road- but if needed take taxi to local restaurants. Duggans Reef, Cheeseburger Paradise (which is great ) you can also walk to we did less than 15 mins, Cantinas. Best to go to market and buy your own food. Seen a few people bring in own mini grills as well. There is a laundry room $2 to wash & $2 to dry. 1 dryer 1 washer bring own laundry supplies, the front has stuff for a fee. Christenstad was ok but not much opened shops/restaurants closed early as well, use caution late night, not much of nightlife happening. Take Captian Morgan and Cruzan Rum tours. We also feed the pigs O'Douls in rainforest. We went to Udull Point and Isaacs Bay that was great prepare for short hike though worth it. If you get a chance take a drive of island beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChanitaBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christiansted hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
4.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#6 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#11 of 14 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
3.7 mi away
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chenay Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chenay Bay Beach Resort

Property: Chenay Bay Beach Resort
Address: East End Rd, Route 82, Christiansted 00824, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chenay Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the Caribbean Sea Chenay Bay Beach Resort is only 3 miles from Christiansted. Guests revel in the privacy of their West Indian style cottages with kitchenettes and front porch. Amenities include an outdoor infinity edged pool, hot tub, tennis courts, and direct beach access. Savor the flavors of the Caribbean, enjoy tropical drinks at Mahi’s beachfront restaurant, and bar at Chenay Bay Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Chenay Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chenay Bay Beach Hotel Christiansted
Chenay Bay Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing