We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic and beautiful fort.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Christiansvaern

Fort Christiansvaern
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An imposing yellow Danish fort built to defend the Christiansted harbor.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Historic and beautiful fort.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Worth more than the $3 entrance fee. They hand you a self guided tour binder and there are posters explaining the history all over the fort.
We went on a Sunday - the town is pretty much shut down on Sundays so it made for a nice quiet exploration.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SimpleKraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    260
    85
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great piece of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

The fort is located at the harbor in Christiansted. It is, therefore, easy to combine a visit to the fort with breakfast or lunch in town.

Tours are self-guided. Maps and information are given to you at the entrance when you pay. If you have a US National Park Stamp Book, bring it along. Your book can be stamped here.

It's easy to do the fort in about an hour. There are steps to a second floor, which may matter to people with limited mobility; however, there is also plenty to see on the first floor alone. This is a relaxed, interesting piece of history. (You will be surprised to learn about the connection Alexander Hamilton had with St. Croix!)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank 35Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Piece of History! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

The fort is open to the public and definitely and attraction to check out if you are ever in Saint Croix. People are able to walk around freely and take as many pictures as you'd like. I took dozens! There was an admission fee, however I don't remember how much. It was a very small fee.

There's a ton of information! Great photo opportunities, such as canons, dungeons, barracks, and more! Check it out!

Helpful?
Thank Jeff3724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A trip through history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

The fort was nice-we didn't have a tour guide, we got a book to use so we were not sure if some of the rooms were what was being described in the guide. There's a smashing view from the cannon deck on the second level. It's part of a little historical area-with a scale house and steeple building. It was interesting to learn about Hamilton's part in St. Croix's history.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kath12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“a great surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I didn't expect much when we payed the $3. fee for this tourist attraction but was very pleasantly surprised. It's a small fort with cannons and whatnot on the inside. Great for pictures. While relatively basic I definitely recommend it for an hour or two if you are in Christiansted.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaDoglover_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Christiansvaern also viewed

 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Fort Christiansvaern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing