We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Well preserved with lots of history to read” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Christiansvaern

Fort Christiansvaern
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An imposing yellow Danish fort built to defend the Christiansted harbor.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Well preserved with lots of history to read”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit. The cashier was very friendly and helpful. We could have had a tour guide but just used the notebook we borrowed. It cost $3 per person we think. The fort was very well preserved and had a lot of historical info to read in appropriate spots. Definitely a must see place. We learned a lot.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    231
    80
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Altho it needs some fresh paint...such an interesting place to learn of St Croix history...the guides are excellent and the fort is well maintained (except for needing paint)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovelovelovestcroix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
163 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The fort was ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The fort was relatively clean and well taken care of, and was a pretty good self tour. It would have been more enjoyable if there had been more of the original (or reproductions) of the guns and other equipment that had been stationed at the fort back when it was in use

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mikeslots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I toured the Fort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

A National Park site with NPS rangers who knew the history and fielded questions (where was Alexander Hamilton`s mother incarcerated at the fort ?) with a history professor`s knowledge. This is definitely worth a visit as it is also quite scenic . Bring your camera and don`t miss the Weighing House across the street

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cool and unique but nothing fancy.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Enjoyed the fort. We were right there at the end of the short boardwalk so we stopped to visit. Made for nice pictures of it and from it. We had read write ups of nice 1840's furniture but didn't find any there unless u count the beds shown.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank IdoLove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Christiansvaern also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Fort Christiansvaern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing