We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Palms was our Paradise Cove!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms at Pelican Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palms at Pelican Cove
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
1 review
“The Palms was our Paradise Cove!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

From the moment we arrived, the staff was friendly - helpful and attentive. Taking care of all our needs to make our stay the very best experience my family and I have had in 13 years of traveling. Our rooms were promptly and professionally cleaned daily (with fresh flowers). The view from our hotel room balcony could only be described as breathtaking.
Every staff member (from the owners - front desk - bartenders - resteraunt servers to the cleaning and security crew) always had a smile and friendly hello which made us feel comfortable and relaxed. They are truly like an extended family that made us feel at home.
I would recommend this hotel to EVERYONE that is considering a vacation in St. Croix.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mherzog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    183
    45
    20
    19
See reviews for
245
526
33
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

We were so happy with our stay. Our hosts were incrediibe, they worked hard to delivery a perfect stay and wedding. They were able to accommodate Celiac and non dairy issues and the owners were their to do personal snorkeling trips. It was a fantastic time!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uneekdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

If we could give the Palms a 10, we would. We had a memorable stay and marriage (we eloped). Let me begin with Julie, she made us feel as if we were special guests from the moment we arrived, showing us around and letting us relax at the bar with a drink on the house while our luggage was sent to our room. Both Julie and Dickie also made our wedding exceptionally special and stress-free; beautiful service, tropical flowers, made-to-order cake; and thanks to Stephanie, our photographer (great pix), and Louise, our minister (beautiful ceremony). More thanks to our housekeeper Velma, she took really good care of us and our room; the bartenders all made great drinks, Jovan, Willie, Allison, and the sweetest Conan, who also helped serve us when dining. And I must give credit to the front desk, Pat, Danny, and again Dickie (you’re the ‘bomb’) for being the most helpful. And just a few words about Chuck and Joyce, the owners. Wonderful people! Treated us as if we were ‘guests’ in their home. Met Chuck’s sister Mary and daughter Carley, and her friend Abby, in which we all went sailing to Buck Island with packed breakfast sandwiches made in their restaurant. Again, great people! Chuck is the ‘snorkel king’, so make sure you go snorkeling with him. We ate delicious gourmet food for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the restaurant. We also give the restaurant a ‘10’! The room had a beautiful view (we now know why it’s called Pelican Cove), a really comfortable bed (no problems sleeping in ‘a ‘foreign bed’), a bottle of Cruzan Rum when we first arrived, and fresh tropical flowers every day. Oh, and remember to ask about Chuck’s cove for snorkeling at the front desk. Loved this island, loved the Palms, loved the people!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheKeysNewlyweds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

The Palms is a great resort for relaxation and family fun. The owners, Chuck and Joyce, are some of the nicest people out there. He took us on a wonderful snorkeling tour and called us to come see a green sea turtle nesting! The staff was absolutely wonderful and waited on us hand and foot. The rooms have a great beach feel, the grounds are beautiful, and the ocean view is indescribable!!! And did I mention the food? It's great! Also, if you like to snorkel just walk fifty feet off your porch and dive into the magnificent water world. The Palms has it all- no need to even leave the resort!!! My family and I will definitely be returning for years to come!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karliesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

The Palms at Pelican Cove has so much to offer. We traveled around St. Croix by car, and noticed many of the island hotels may offer waterfront locations, but the Palms is beachfront (and what a view!). It has a perfect beach for sunbathing & an excellent reef for snorkeling! They also have a pool, open air bar & restaurant on the water. We noticed a great deal of wildlife during our stay at the hotel (pelicans, herons, lizards, crabs, geckos) as well as an abundance of tropical fish, starfish, eels & a stingray while snorkeling at the hotel! (we also saw horses & chickens while driving around!) Lots of beautiful coral, shells & sea glass cover the beach. The staff is fabulous and very attentive to the needs of the guests. The front desk staff (especially Dickie) were very knowledgeable about things to do on the island, and they offer free snorkeling. They absolutely bend over backwards to make your stay memorable and make sure you are enjoying yourself. We happened to be upgraded to ocean-view (and what a fabulous view it was!), and were much appreciative of the complementary bottle of rum & complementary welcome drink. The food was very good, and the location was perfect. It was a very romantic setting & very private (there were many days we were the only people on the beach). Note--the beach is a turtle nesting area, so the chairs are carried in for the night to allow turtles to lay their eggs. The Palms was a perfect paradise for those looking to escape the hustle & bustle of the mainland. This was also an escape from the typical touristy hotel--you never have to wait for a chair on the beach or a drink at the bar. We also saw a beautiful sunset wedding (hello and congrats to our new friends from King of Prussia!).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riprulz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

i am an 12 year old girl and i came down with my family. My sister and i loved the pool and the beach!!! the rooms are really cool because you can open the doors when you sleep and just let all the nice air in. just remember sun screen!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avramo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at The Palms at Pelican Cove. We were greeted warmly by the staff and felt comfortable right away in our spacious and well appointed room. The rooms have sliders onto a private patio overlooking the ocean. The main room and bathroom were very clean with new linens. Our king-sized bed was very comfortable. We ate many of our meals in the hotel dining room, and the food and service were excellent. We especially enjoyed our breakfasts in the covered dining area overlooking the ocean. The pool area was well maintained with both sun and shade available. The restaurant bar was nearby for refreshments. Walking on the beach was great with spectacular views of Buck Island and Gallows Bay. We were given free snorkeling lessons, which we enjoyed more than a commercial snorkeling trip we took on the island. The number of colorful fish and coral right outside our door was amazing! The overall atmosphere of the hotel was laid-back and relaxing. The staff was always there and ready to assist us with our vacation plans on the island, and had many good suggestions about things to see and do. We can't wait for our next trip!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPsarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
0.8 mi away
Sugar Beach Condominiums
Sugar Beach Condominiums
#5 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#1 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
6.8 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
8.3 mi away
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Property: The Palms at Pelican Cove
Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia and BookIt.com so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing