We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palms at Pelican Cove
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Palms the week of Dec 30. We picked this hotel because of the beachside accommodations, relaxed atmosphere, and the emphasis on service. We were not disappointed! The room was spacious and could not have been nicer...no more than a few steps from the water's edge with a picture postcard view. The complimentary Cruzan rum was a nice touch. The king sized bed was very comfortable...this coming from a Sleep Number bed user over the past 20 years. The A/C was an in-room, modern unit that kicked out the cold air with ease (very quiet).

A short walk from the room was the main portion of the hotel...an open air set-up including a nice bar with American style bar food at reasonable prices. We enjoyed our complimentary arrival drinks after reserving a table at the "Monday Caribbean Night" buffet and live show poolside. For $25/ea, my wife and I were treated to a traditional Caribbean buffet, dessert, and a great live show. The show included live music, masked men in costume on stilts...they danced and engaged the crowd, both young and old. This was followed by young lady fire dancers. A great way to begin our St. Croix vacation!

On day 2, we explored the island via Jeep. We decided to drive west along the North Shore. The highlight was stopping at Off the Wall...a beachside bar and grill on Cane Bay...breathtaking view! We made our way south and decided to check out the Cruzan Rum factory. This is a $5, no frills 30 minute tour...interesting but not a "must see"...but it finished with 2 free rum drinks each so who can complain? From there, we headed to Fredericksted on the west side of the island...this was literally a ghost town...unless the cruise ships are in...if they aren't, don't waste your time here. We finished off the day with dinner at Off the Deep End, a restaurant about 7 miles from the Palms. (Thanks to Stephanie for recommending this restaurant and to take a taxi instead of drinking .... $40 r/t was worth it!).

The remaining few days were spent at the hotel, exploring the east side of the island, and snorkeling at Buck Island. Make sure you enjoy the open air breakfast beachside...we did this just about every morning and it was great! Also, don't miss Mitch's local tour on Thursday morning? This 2+ hour hike is a slow paced hike that included a walk along the local streets, a St. Croix history lesson, a visit to a local home for off-the-tree fruit tasting, and a walk through an abandoned sugar plantation/rum factory.

We will definitely return for this wonderful hotel and friendly staff. They genuinely care about their guests making the most of their vacation and having a good time.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
10  Thank Ed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

Excellent staff and location is quiet as compared to harbor area. I had room #4 with an ocean view, steps from the reef. Mitch took us on daily snorkel trips at the hotel. Beautiful pool and great restaurant. You will be delighted staying in spacious room with refrigerator, ac and coffee maker. Spacious bathroom. Sliding doors to balcony. Snorkel equipment for guests and convenient taxi service to town. I came home yesterday and miss the staff!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
8  Thank PebblesCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you are for beach time , this is best . Better than Buccaneer from sandy blue beach perspective. Food is not ok and you need a car to get to restaurants . However if you are looking for beach time and that is all you need , it is a very nice place. Please note the beach is facing north still the beach and clouds are great during sunset.

We rented a jeep went to sandy point ( 30 to 40 min drive).

Room Tip: Make sure you have options for food
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank OrlandoAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have stayed at this resort a number of times over the last 20 years or so. Although the name has changed a number of times and it once lay abandoned for a long time, it is today a wonderful place to stay in St Croix. The snorkeling is really good and you can see hundreds of fish in fairly shallow water. This makes snorkeling comfortable for almost everyone. One caveat though, be very careful in rough weather. During WWII, from what I was told, the US Army engineers blew a hole in the reef to land goods and personnel. That hole is right in the middle of the beach there and about 50 - 60 feet off shore. During rough weather the waves that come in over the elk horn coral on either side of the break build up inside the reef and have no place to go except through that hole. The rip current there can be very dangerous and that break is where the best fish viewing during snorkeling is.
Rooms are large and comfortable with beautiful tropical views and the food and drinks are very good.
Of course all this is a bit pricy but really not bad for the location.
If you rent a car be very careful and alert at all times as they drive on the LEFT side of the street there. Although the natives do watch out for the tourists, if you don't stay alert every minute when driving you very likely will have an accident.

Room Tip: Ask about the view from YOUR room when you make your reservation as there are some that are better t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank warrenchubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We have been coming to St Croix every year for 29 years; The Palms wins! It has the most beautiful beach and snorkeling on St Croix are here at Pelican Cove. Great service, great food that our picky kids even love, great views, incredible experience here.The resort is just beautiful and the large schools of fish are, too.

[Warning: don't try to navigate the rip tide without a guide here: if you are swimming alone or snorkeling alone, unless it is a windy/wavy/rough sea you can do it alone if you stay very,very close to shore. More peaceful swimming beaches are close by, just ask the staff to direct you..]

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AltadenaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Palms for a romantic getaway vacation. The powers that be were definitely against us as we visited St. Croix, but with the resort’s owner, Chuck Fischer in our corner, we couldn’t lose.

The trip started off nicely enough. Everything was to our satisfaction and we couldn’t wait to start our tropical vacation. On our second day, we went snorkeling with the resorts owner, Chuck, who provides day and night trips free of charge for guests. We were having a great time until I was stung mercilessly by a type of jelly fish called fire coral (I’m that guy I’m sure Chuck will now tell stories about to future snorkelers). The burning of this sting lasted about 18 hours and the unrelenting pain felt like someone was holding a lighter to my knee. After getting some remedies, which didn’t help the pain, Chuck stayed with my wife and I until the late evening drinking and eating to help take our mind off of things. The internet’s advice for this sting was basically to grit your teeth and bear it.

Two days went by and we were off to our next adventure. We went horseback riding on the western side of the island. We took amazing pictures of riding horses on the beach and had a lovely time. Returning from our trip we stopped by one of the island’s beaches for a quick 5-10 minute stroll on the beach. In that time our rental car’s window was smashed and our priceless horseback riding pictures were stolen. The speed at which these criminals operate is astonishing; I am now able to joke that we were robbed by The Flash. Besides the camera, the thieves stole our cell phones and my wife’s purse along with our room key. We flagged down a passing police officer who essentially said there’s nothing that can be done. The rental car company charged me $400 for the window on top of everything.

Our vacation was ruined and my wife was in tears. What could be done to salvage this trip? At this time the staff at the Palms stepped up for us. They did not charge us for the lost room key. Stephanie at the front desk lent us her personal camera for the rest of our trip. I was stunned that she offered to do this for 2 strangers that she met then and there.
That night Chuck made it his personal mission to turn things around for us. I have never seen the owner of a resort care so much about his guests and treat us like genuine friends instead of patrons. We smoked cigars, ate, drank, jumped in the pool with our clothes on and even went for a flight in his plane. You quickly get the impression that Chuck is not in the business for the money, but rather likes having a good time and really cares about people. He comped us meals and drinks and seemed to take responsibility for us having a good time. Chuck went so far out of his way for us I couldn’t thank him enough. It was amazing. After being robbed I didn’t think we could have had fun, but somehow Chuck Fischer made it happen for us.

I highly recommend the Palms because of the experience we had with the staff. The nature hike with Mitch was great and I want to mention that because it was a highlight of the trip and I focused so much on the negatives that met us on the island. Mitch is a warm funny guy that is eager to be your friend as well as offer you excellent service. I also recommend the night snorkel with Chuck and Mitch. It was fantastic and I didn’t want to have a complex after being stung earlier in the week.
Despite the bad things that happened to us, I would return to the Palms in a heartbeat. The resort is small and in a quiet location. The owner lives in one of the suites on the resort and is one of the nicest and warmest people I have ever met. We had misfortune hit that in no way was his fault, yet he made it his mission to help us at his own cost. You won’t find an experience like The Palms anywhere else on the island.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Art K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great place to stay. Superfriendly staff, good food, nice seaside.

Beside that we found that Pelican Cove to have the best snorkling we ever found on our trip to USVI. Unfortunately its not easy to do on your own. Strong currents, high waves and rip tides makes a dangerous cocktail. But with Mitch and Chuck as tourguides you are in good and safe hands. They takes you safe through the dangerous parts - far out to the reefs. It is difficult to image that your can get better snorkling guides anywhere. The night snorkling after eels, Squids and octopus is pure magic
We highly recommend this great and friendly place
Sine, Peter and Sarah, Denmark

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
0.9 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
85 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,431 reviews
6.7 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: $264 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Kognitiv US Corp, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing