We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort with Nice People”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Palms at Pelican Cove
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The resort has the feel of a small resort and is a quiet getaway

We stayed in a rooftop suite in mid July 2013. Paying the extra for a suite is worth it for the extra space.

Rooftop Suite
There are four rooftop suites (two on each building).
There are tile floors throughout the unit.
The rooms utilize 110V electricity, so no issues for US visitors
The bedroom and living room have air conditioner units and ceiling fans while the rest of the unit is not air conditioned. The air conditioner in the bedroom works well in addition to the ceiling fan
A sitting area with a wicker table and chairs and a pullout couch are provided
King size bed in bedroom was very comfortable (firm), pillows were very soft (not firm)
There is no deadbolt on the entry door or the doors to the porch/beach, only a simple knob lock
Master bathroom has large walk in shower and toilet area with a separate area with a small amount of counter space and sinks. There is no bathtub. The shower is large enough for two people
Bottled water is not provided at the resort. The tap water is stated as being okay to drink and is filtered seven times. We rarely drank the tap water on the island, but when we did it had no ill effects on us.
There is an exhaust fan in the bathroom. The toilet is a very powerful flusher.
A safe(compartment in a wall) is provided in each room in the closet. The locking mechanism is flimsy (like from a filing cabinet).
There is a credenza with multiple drawers and a separate closet space for hanging clothing
A hair dryer, ironing board and iron are provided in each room
Hangers are provided in the closets.
Ceiling fans are present. All windows are screened or louvered to allow for breezes.
A coffee maker, coffee grounds, small refrigerator, silverware, glasses and coffee cups are provided. Paper towels were not provided
The wireless network worked okay. WIFI would go in and out in the evenings and did not work on the porch. WIFI was much better in the bathroom and near the main lobby. The lobby/restaurant area is the best area for WIFI and people do gather on couches to utilize it. There is a computer provided for guest usage in the lobby/restaurant area and the café. However connection to some web addresses is very slow and times out.
Television in bedroom is a flat screen about 40 inches sitting on a credenza. Reception is non HD and is intermittent. It can be frustrating when watching something and coverage goes black.
The curtains on the patio doors are not large enough to cover the entire door but do a good job of blocking out light for the area they do cover in the evenings
The walls between rooms are not soundproof. We heard various conversations in other rooms
The maid services did an excellent job every day, but we did have some issues with not receiving hand towels and wash clothes two days in a row. Walking or calling to the front desk solved the issue quickly. There are “Privacy” and “Service” door hangers, but they will clean the room with you sitting on the porch/patio area.
Beach towels and snorkel equipment can be obtained in the lobby
Soaps, shampoo, conditioners bottles are provided daily in the bathroom
On porches/balconies two chairs and a table are provided.
No foot wash bucket or hooks for drying wet items are provided on porches/balconies

There are some issues that should be noted that include small ants in the kitchenette area, window louvers that would not close all the way, and phone service in rooms not working

Reception
The front desk is helpful. They were happy to talk about and book excursions and make dinner reservations. The majority of restaurants do not start serving dinner until after 5:30PM-6:00PM or later. Reservations for restaurant offsite are recommended (especially in high season). The reception personnel are full of ideas/opinions on what to do if you ask. There is a book and an area with various fliers of activities. Beach towels, masks, fins, snorkels are all available in a closet near the lobby for visitors usage. Mitchell in guest services and front desk personnel Stefanie were the most helpful people we dealt with. Mitchell is vault of knowledge about the island and is happy to provide ideas, guidance, directions, and help in anyway. Stefanie was a lot of help and her straight forward answers and ideas were a great welcome.

Excursions
Excursion can be booked through the front desk but can also be booked directly. There are various excursion flyers in the lobby area. There is a signup sheet for snorkeling the local reef for daytime and nighttime snorkeling. We found some of the front desk personnel to not know much about the excursions except from what is written on the flyer of the excursion. Some notes on excursions: The snorkeling excursions are educational and a variety of sea life is seen. If you want to experience night snorkeling, verify that Chuck (the owner) will be on the property and doing night snorkeling when you are staying at the resort. We were disappointed as Chuck was out of town during our stay and no night snorkeling was being offered. The Salt River Bioluminescence Kayak tour with Virgin Kayak is amazing and is something you won’t forget. The tour runs from 6:00-9:00PM and is a great experience.

Restaurant
While the food was edible, the food was average quality. Do not expect anything special and you will be okay. Kids were happy with the majority of the food options. Tables fill up after 6-6:30PM for dinner, so recommend going early. Lunch can be provided at the bar by the pool. Prices listed on the restaurant menu are in US dollars.
Monday night is Caribbean night with Moko Jumbies (traditional stilt dancers), live music and a limbo contest. Thursday night is Mexican night and Friday is lobster night.

Pool
There is one pool. The pool is average but does have some wall damage. They do keep the pool clean. Kids are usually plentiful in the pool, so do not expect a quiet relaxing experience. Please note that four large iguanas are fed apples slices and hibiscus flowers each morning by the pool. It is a great attraction for the non squeamish.

Roads
The majority of roads are not paved well and pot holes are prevalent. Traveling to/from the resort will require going over 7-8 speed bumps. The speed bumps are not painted yellow and some are in shaded areas, so go slow at least the first couple of times. There are some instances where you will need to pull to the side of the road and let cars pass before continuing on.

Walk to nearby restaurants
Restaurants nearby include Hibiscus and within short walking distance. We loved walking the beach to Hibiscus during the evening, but walking back at night in the dark was not for the paranoid.

Beaches
Smooth sand beach with small waves and a few areas of smooth ocean floor entrances are present, but the majority of the ocean is rocky and rough and requires water shoes. There are some tidal pools that are great for older people, families and kids. Seaweed is prevalent in areas and is not raked. There is no nudity on the beach. Some dogs do roam the beaches, but they were all well behaved. No powered water items (kayaks, canoes, etc…) are provided on site. Beach chairs are provided at various spots along the beach. However additional chairs can be moved from the large pool area to the beach.

Airports
Small airport with congestion issues and disorganization. Be prepared to wait arriving and exiting the country. We had no issues, but the check in process, baggage check, and security take longer than in the states. There is one terminal with seating for all airlines/flights with one snack bar.

Car Rental
We rented a SUV from Budget Rent A Car. The pickup process was drawn out and unneeded items were pushed. The return process was painless and quick and we were offered a ride back to the airport (rental car return is near but not at the airport)

Notes

Recommend reservations at restaurants for nights, as the best places get booked up quickly in high season and some places will not open if they don’t have reservations in low season. Go to Galangal and Savant at least once each.

It is not recommended to walk to the nearest grocery store as it is a distance. The best grocery store we found was Pueblo in the Golden Rock shopping center. Any items you may need (including sunscreen, beer, snacks, Gatorade) are much cheaper than at the smaller grocery near the resort.

Bring bug spray as sand flies and other biting insects are present on the island. We found many biting bugs while eating outside at some restaurants.

The boardwalk in Christiansted is nothing great. It is a small boardwalk with the usual tourist trap shops and restaurants. The hermit crab races on Monday night at the Fort Christian Brew Pub are a big attraction and family friendly.

Fredericksted is nothing special. There is no need to visit unless a cruise ship is in port as multiple vendors, locals come out.

Most restaurants are fine with informal dress. Most restaurants were accepting of a collared shirt/nice T-shirt and nice shorts for men for dinner.

I know this is common sense, but the US dollar was accepted everywhere we went.

Anytime someone references “Cruzian time” be prepared to wait. You are on vacation.

Room Tip: Rooftop suites are worth the extra money for privacy and quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buffgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a very thorough review. There are just a few short comments I would like to make. While we do not provide foot washes on each individual porch, we do have a foot wash centrally located beachside on each residential building. The reason that sugar ants occasionally show up in the kitchenettte area is of course because of food opportunities there. We do have a regular treatment program, but it is just not possible to get every last one. Every now and again we have a room phone which does go down, but we are generally able to get it back up quickly if we know about it. I am sorry that I was off island when you were here and not able to take you on a night snorkeI. Mitch does as many night snorkels as I do but I guess he must not have known you wanted to go. He would have been happy to take you. We both very much enjoy showing off our reef on day and on night snorkels. If you travel back to the island in the next while, please let us know a little in advance that you would like to do a night snorkel so that we can make sure it's covered. We do rake the beach of turtle grass regularly, but sometimes when the surf is up it is difficult to keep it perfectly manicured. And because our beach is a designated turtle nesting beach we are required to do all cleaning by hand. I will make sure I pass along your kind comments about Mitch and Stef. Thank you for those.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2013

The Palms was the site of some organizational leadership training that I conducted. The training facilities were very good. We had a large air conditioned training room with a screen, projector and five-bar Wi-Fi. We were able to use the banquet area for breakouts during the day. Lunch menus' were provided and the meals served as we broke for lunch. All the attendees either arrived before the scheduled training or stayed after to take advantage of the great rates arranged for the training. With some modification in the training schedule the attendees took advantage of the island tours, shopping in Christiansted, and / or snorkeling with the owner. Every attendee commented that it was the best training venue that they ever experienced. Chuck, Julie, Dawn, and Mitch accommodated our every need - plus.

Room Tip: Since the attendees were scattered throughout the property, the assessment of all attendees was that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Best Place To Stay If Yur Looking For Quiet & Serene. Our Room Was Literally On The Beach! But If Snorkeling Is Not Yur Thing, You Will Find Yurself Bored. The Food Is Excellent But Not Authentic Cruzan Cuisine.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michele d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Actually there are many things to do here at The Palms and of course many more on St. Croix. Our website as well as a number of others provide much detail on events to keep you busy and having fun. I am more than happy to sit down with you early on in your trip to suggest many options and help you schedule your events and excursions. In fact, there are few days that go by where I do not spend at least some time assisting guests with planning their days. I would even suggest that in most cases guests find there is not enough time to do everything that they would like to do. Most find that renting a car helps in making much more of the island economically reachable. And while some are concerned about driving on the left, most find they fall into step with it fairly quickly. And it can be a new, exciting experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The service was very impressive. First, Julie and the front desk staff were very accommodating to help resolve some confusion created by an online travel agent site. They accelerated fixing the AC in one of the suites, so they could give us a "free upgrade" to a suite with a small kitchenette. We really appreciated that, since it allowed us to do some small scale cooking (important to satisfy dietary requirements).

Second, Mitch gave a great snorkel tour early in the week that helped build confidence before we went off on our own to see various sites around the island.
Mitch followed up the tour by sitting down and giving extremely helpful directions, so we could go places and not get badly lost (like we did the first day, before we talked to Mitch), as well as tips for where to go that were customized to our interests.

If you run into any problems, just ask someone. E.g., we didn't think to bring bug repellent. The only time we thought of it was during the Carribean night when we were seated by a light. I asked if they could turn off a light. The server said no, but pointed me to the desk, where they provided bug repellent. Problem solved.

The Carribean night was fun, even though the speakers were turned up too loud. (I went back to my room to get some earplugs, and still thought it was too loud.) I'd guess that there were more locals (probably as part of a wedding) than tourists.

St. Croix is mostly undeveloped and many of the beaches/snorkeling spots that Mitch recommended were basically deserted in July. For us, that was worth driving slowly on roads with lots of pot holes. Since we cooked for ourselves most nights, the relatively long drive between upscale restaurants with different cuisines wasn't an issue. The snorkeling around the island was nice, but we didn't find a snorkeling site that was as impressive as Two Step in Hawaii or the Keys.

In summary, if I were going to St. Croix again, I'd definitely look to the Palms at Pelican Cove as my first choice.

Room Tip: An upstairs balcony overlooking the beach was great for eating lunch with a breeze and postcard view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astro_aardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at the Palms at Pelican Cove in May. Our first-floor room, #8, was spacious, clean, festively decorated and had a patio with walk-out access right to the beach. The shoreline was less than 100 feet away and the view was unobstructed, Even though it was the off-season, housekeeping hours offered us flexibility/privacy in our morning/early afternoon schedule.

A head's up for those who like to enjoy the evening sound of the surf. There are no screens for the doors or the windows, at least on the first floor. So unless someone in your party is mobility impaired (which I am), get a second or third floor room if you want to bring a bit of the sounds and smells into the room.

The Palms campus is nestled in a residential area with mature palm trees and abundant foliage. The grounds were wonderfully maintained and the buildings are a bit spread out - not too far apart to make walking around a chore but not so close together so you feel cramped.

While the beach area is not pristine white sand, there was plenty of sand and areas in the shallow water devoid of vegetation. There were rocks in some spots near shore, but they were navigable and created a robust habitat for shallow-water sea life. Water shoes were helpful. This habitat, combined with the reef further out, provided good snorkeling opportunities for infrequent snorkelers like us. In fact, the Palms offered us a complimentary snorkeling session with one of the staff. Our snorkel guide, Mitch, was personable, knowledgable and patient. We were so pleased we tipped him well for a two-hour lesson/snorkeling session.

We also made liberal use of the pool, appreciating it's large size, ample dee- end and cleanliness.

We were at the Palms for 10 days, but only ate about 5 meals there. Breakfast was standard hotel fare, but came to the table hot and well-prepared. The evening meals were the same, but nothing in the recipes or preparation stood out as exceptional. Definitely dine at the Palms for the weekly Caribbean buffet!

We felt we got great value for the money and would definitely stay at the Palms again if we go back to St. Croix.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurisOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The Palms was the location for a 60th Birthday Party I just hosted.It was a beautiful, well decorated event. The food was sooooo good, all the guest kept raving about it. Julie, the Sales Manager made my life easy.I told her the ideas that I wanted and the staff put it all together. The party was the" happening event " of the vacation,as my guests referred to it!
Talk about efficiency, precision, and great hosts! The Palms have it all.
After it was all over, I was treated to luxury in the beautiful suite overlooking the beautiful blue water, where I relaxed and had a good night's sleep.
This is definitely a "one stop shop" A good location for your event and stay. Way to go Palms...See you again next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxoutrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our family of 5 traveled to St Croix in July 2013. We had a wonderful stay at The Palms at Pelican Cove. Our view was beautiful. The snorkeling excursion was great with someone who really knew the waters and the species we encountered. The room was very clean and the property was kept very well. My daughters loved the iguanas!!! We ate on the property several times and all of the meals were very good and in such a relaxed atmosphere. The sunrises were breathe taking. This is a trip that we will take again!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
0.9 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
500 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,430 reviews
6.7 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: $260 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing