We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Think twice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Palms at Pelican Cove
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
atlantic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Think twice”
Reviewed May 26, 2008

My husband and I just came back from the Palms. We spent three days. Big mistake! We went to St. Croix for business. First day we asked for beach towels never got them. Third day no beach towels. I asked for one extra towel to dry my hair. Third day still no towel! There was a wedding that weekend. They booked us in the same building as the wedding party. We of course had no idea. Huge mistake the walls are paper thin. We heard everything . The view from our room was TERRIFIC! Everything else was awful!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no service
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sungodessAtlantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Managing Director at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, May 29, 2008
I am sorry that you had trouble obtaining beach towels during your stay. Our normal procedure is that guests check out beach towels at the front desk and then return them after use. However, had the manager or I known that you had an unfulfilled request we would have personally corrected it on the spot. We did have a wedding that weekend you were here and we were completely booked. Otherwise we would have been able to give you the option of being in our second building. The walls really aren't too thin, being 10 inches of solid concrete (to withstand hurricanes). However, I do apologize for the noise and I know it can be disturbing when one has been looking forward to a quiet break. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to make a better impression (on everything except the view).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    201
    49
    21
    20
See reviews for
260
555
37
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2008

I have recently returned from a truly wonderful stay at the Palms. From check-in to check-out the experience left me feeling that the staff and management really cared about their guests.

When my company booked a business meeting followed by a week of R&R at the hotel, I didn't know what to expect not having visited the Island before. Arriving from the airport, I was welcomed, efficiently whisked through check-in and escorted to my room. The room was large, bright, very clean and I was immediately drawn to the sliding doors opening onto the balcony overlooking the white sand beach.

On the day of our meeting, the hotel's conference center was set up exactly to our specifications with the audio-visual and catering handled with the professionalism normally found at much bigger hotels.

With the business out of the way, we were ready to relax so we headed down to the mahogany bar to mingle with the other guests and watch the sunset. Here we were well looked after by the entertaining and knowledgeable bar staff and the cheerful owners, Chuck and Joyce who live on-site and are a storehouse of information on St. Croix and the surrounding islands.

The meals at the Palms were superb with just the right mix of uptown fine cuisine and home cooking.

The staff were very friendly and seemed to have a genuine concern for the guests' enjoyment. Arrangements for tours, diving and rental cars can be made at the front desk. Snorkeling on the reef just off the beach can be done with equipment available from the hotel.

I feel lucky to have discovered this jewel in the Caribbean and I can't wait to return with my family!

  • Liked — Friendly atmosphere
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmond, oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2008

We stayed for a week at The Palms and had a wonderful time. I can say that this was one of the most relaxing vacations we have taken in several years. Our room was quite large and had a breathtaking view of the beach lined with palm trees. We spent evenings on the outdoor patio watching the sunset. The resort sits in a cove and all rooms appear to face the beach. The food at the restaraunt was excellent. Breakfast in the outdoor dining area couldn't have been more relaxing. If you are interested in adult beverages, the bar at the poolside has outstanding service. Their bartender, Jessie, will keep you entertained! The staff is very friendly, and the owners, Chuck and Joyce, are outstanding. The snorkeling directly off The Palms' beach was unbelievable. A great place for a couple's get-a-way, very private. We can't wait to return.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank latimerdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2008

This was our first time to the Islands, but will definitely not be our last. With this being our twins graduating year, we decided to take a family vacation the week of Spring Break. We couldn't have chosen a better Resort.
Upon arriving at the Palms we were mesmerized by its beautiful colors, well kept grounds, remote location and ocean view. We were also pleased to see the resort had a pool on site.
We were very impressed with our Penthouse stay (large and roomy, tile floors, marble bathroom, double French Doors to an ocean view, equipped with all the necessities, and kept clean and stocked with fresh linens, on a daily basis. Oh yeah, the complimentary bottle of CRUZAN Dark Rum was an especially unique and nice added touch). Every early morning and every late evening of our stay, our ritual was to sit on the patio, sip our beverage of choice, and enjoy the view, feel the breeze and listen to the sounds of the ocean. This brought such peace and relaxation.
The owners and staff were very friendly and extremely helpful (we were very fond of Mama G). We loved the outdoor dining and bar atmosphere. Our compliments to Chef Brian - the food was superb!
With the exception of buying souvenirs, and making sure we did get out and see the beautiful town of Christiansted one day, we never felt the need to leave the resort. We truly feel we had the ultimate Island experience and will definitely stay at The Palms at Pelican Cove when we go back - which hopefully will be SOON!!!

  • Liked — We liked the entire experience.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shenesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grayland
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2008

From the moment we arrived-11pm- until we left the staff couldnt have been nicer

We had to extend our stay 4 days because of American airlines problems and no problem. they even gave us the discount rate.

Food and drink was plentyful and very good.
Only 40 units so not crowded. Great, although dated rooms, beautiful pool and ajoining beach. Beach challanging for small ones

We will go back and soon.

You will want too rent a car for some of your stay. Use a taxi to go to christianstead 10.00. Good restraunts and tourist activities start here.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank tucker10Grayland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2008

My husband and I just returned from 10 nights at the Palms at Pelican Cove and we could not have been more pleased. My highest compliments are extended to all the Staff (including Pat, bartenders - Karen and Matt, the rest of the front desk staff and all the maids, the security guards, Travis, and Julie, the manager (who I met as we were checking in). They could not have been more gracious - and always with a smile! We have stayed in many places on the island, but this was exceptional. At the Palms, we stayed in one of the penthouse suites and I very highly recommend them (there are 4 on the property), but every room on the property is on the water, so you can't go wrong with any other room. We had a very large living room (with a very big, nice sofa that we could easily relax on) with sink, coffee maker and refrigerator (with working freezer); large king size bed bedroom (both rooms with sliding glass doors out to a balcony, that was very private); and 2-roomed bathroom (with double sinks in one room and bathtub/shower/toilet in another attached room with exposed stone walls in the shower and skylights). We were able to keep both sliding doors open at night and fall asleep listening to the waves - it was so lovely! Everything was very clean, and we even had fresh flowers daily. The pool was exceptionally nice after a long day on the beach (beautifully maintained), and the lovely bar was also very comfortable and welcome - both to get drinks and snacks as well as expert advice on specific activities. The wonderful mahogany dining room served an excellent dinner while we listened to Venus sing her jazz. We loved the nice fresh beach towels we picked up every morning at the front desk, and the ability to eat breakfast there if we wanted. It was also great to be able to check emails in the lobby and pick up all the brochures we needed for our various activities. The hotel even arranged for our car rental via our email request the day before we arrived! Overall this is probably the best hotel experience I have had on this lovely island that I have been visiting for over 20 years!

  • Liked — Being right on the water and so close to Christiansted
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

I recently got married and we did our honeymoon at The Palms at Pelican Cove. Excellant place to relax on the beach and the resort is close to Christiansted. The dining area and bar are first rate, eventhough it is a little pricey. Food was excellant. Only downside is the actual room, had some things to be desired. Bathroom cleanliness did not meet the standard that my wife would have preferred (I'm not as picky), plus some rust from washing off salt water has weathered the faucets. Also, the room could have used a table and chairs for eating or laying out stuff. There was only one chair and no real place to set up things such as a laptop(there was an internet access room for guests in the main hotel area if needed). Staff was excellant and very helpful, special thank you to the gentleman (name escapes me) at the front desk whom gave us good ideas as to places to explore and what to watch out for. Best thing is that the resort is quiet and private, every room has an outside area with a view of the ocean. Made for a romantic setting and sort of a relaxed/sleepy atmosphere. Ocean water was clear and complementary usage of snorkeling equipment is available on the premisis. Also, for the price and where you are staying, this beats most places on the Florida coasts (we are not wealthy and did not think that $350.00 a night at a comporable place on Sanibel Island or South Beach was worth it). Would reccommended staying here, plan on returning for our 10 year aniversary.

  • Liked — Quiet/Relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — Room cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Jordans1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Managing Director at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, April 30, 2008
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. As a result of your comments and others, we have already placed a very nice dark brown wicker table and 2 chair set in every room. It certainly makes a big difference in the appearance and utility of the room. It will be there for you on your next trip down!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
2.0 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
483 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
60 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,338 reviews
6.7 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Property: The Palms at Pelican Cove
Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing