We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Simply, Relaxing and what a Caribbean Resort SHOULD be....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms at Pelican Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palms at Pelican Cove
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Simply, Relaxing and what a Caribbean Resort SHOULD be....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Absolutely love The Palms at Pelican Cove. I've been to St Croix a few times for business reasons, and day trips...but do not get to stay overnight too often. This past week, was able to stay over, finally...and the staff could NOT of been better. Everyone was so friendly, it was hard to believe I was in the Virgin Islands....Let's start off with the check in experience....it's basic, and delightful, the person at the desk is so polite and welcoming. She drove me over to my room in the little golf cart, and I was met and shown to my room. I had a deluxe room on the 2nd floor.....room faced the North Shore of St Croix, so you had the palm trees and water right outside....King size bed...very comfy, wi-fi...(complimentary) shocking in the Virgin Islands...and it actually worked! The bathroom was so pretty, open shower, exposed rock, it was just so cool. Oh, and a festive little bottle of complimentary local bottle of rum was waiting for me...this is standard in all their rooms. Went down to the bar area, to see what was happening.......it's all open air, you can hear the water....the wait staff/bartendars were right on spot with service. The menu is very affordable, and so many choices. They evidently had just re-opened the restaurant that night after a few days for renovation and a menu re-vamp. You absolutely MUST try the chef's award winning soup. It's a local pumpkin/coconut soup....Simply, divine.......wanted more! There were so many great things to try on the menu, i was bummed I was only there for one night. Anyway, there was some live music playing, you are right smack dab on the beach, the place is clean, very safe, and very friendly. You feel like you are at home when you are there.....Love love love love this place, can't wait to go back.....

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are equally as nice....i've stayed there a couple times and the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seaguy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    184
    46
    20
    19
See reviews for
249
532
34
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have a condo on St. Croix so we know the Palms well. It is a "must" when we have guests. Can anything be more romantic than sitting nearly on the beach with the surf breaking and the tropical breeze blowing softly through the draperies while you eat a fabulous meal of locally caught fresh mahi? If you're fortunate to arrive during a full moon, the magic is complete. It is one of our favorite spots on the island.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank billscottKalamazoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We absolutly loved our stay at the The Plams! Over 30 of our family and friends also statyed here for our wedding. The staff set everything up and it really made our day special. Everyone enjoyed snorkleing and the pool. The restaurant food is also very good! The bar staff made our everynight fun and lively with great drinks and atmosphere in the evenings.

Only regret we had was that we could not stay longer!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Palms and I swear that it was the BEST decision we have made! This hotel has it all!!!! Staff is amazing, food is amazing, rooms are amazing, & location was PERFECT!!! The fact that our room allowed us to walk right onto the beach was a definite plus.

From the time we booked with Julie Printy, General Manager, we knew we were doing the right thing. Once we arrived at the hotel, Julie ensured that our time here was going to be spectacular. She is simply the best!

We will be back next year and we will be bringing our friends with us! I recommend this hotel to any and everyone looking to have a great time on vacation with that special person. The staff at the Palms will assist with anything, from booking reservations and tours to ensuring that you have a ride to and from your daily adventures!

Hands down the best place to stay on ST. CROIX!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank navistx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were struggling with where to take a vacation and we were both so happy that we chose to stay at the Palms! The staff was extremely helpful and friendly....everyone was always willing to answer questions and make us feel welcome from the minute we checked in. Our room was beautiful and had a wonderful view of the beach & ocean! The snorkeling was so pretty and Chuck was a great instructor! The restaurant had good food and a pleasant staff. We had fun hanging out in the bar area.....Great drinks and friendly atmosphere! We got engaged on our vacation and since we had such a good time we are thinking about going back for our honeymoon!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the floor have great access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Yes I would definitely book it. My husband and I had the most relaxing, enjoyable vacation at the Palms. If you need a place to stay that lets you sit back, slow down, and unwind...the Palms is it. All of the staff were exceptionally nice. In the first hour we had a wonderful breakfast and met the manager and his pleasant family. Chuck spent an hour helping us figure out how we wanted to spend our week there. He gave us expert advice on renting a car, places to go, and booking us excursions. We were very grateful for his help. Then he took us on the most educational day and night snorkeling we have ever had and gave us pictures to take back home. The dinner staff, hosts, and bartenders made the evenings something to look forward to every night- the rasberry pound cake frozen drink is a must have! We have never stayed at a place where they really made you feel like part of the family. We miss them all. Our room was exactly like they say, right on the beach. We opened our patio doors and walked just a few feet out into the sand. The rooms were large and cleaned very well with fresh flowers left on the dresser every day. We read other reviews and that is why we booked the Palms, and now it is our turn to say you need to visit the Palms at Pelican Cove, it truly is the best.

Room Tip: The Lower level rooms are awesome because you can walk in and out right from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 54805Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert48, Owner at The Palms at Pelican Cove, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad to hear that our time together going over maps and schedules of events helped you better plan your time here. And I think being better prepared helps to get the most enjoyment out of your visit. Of course, I could not pass up the opportunity of taking you out on our day and night snorkels - I'm sure that I enjoy them as much as anyone. Marine life on the reef is so abundant that there is much to see and learn about. And there is always something new. Glad that you came to see us and looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

What a wonderful time we had at the Palms. The food is well done. The view is beautiful. The snorkelling is amazing. Held two squids, an octopus, saw 3 lobster and a spotted snake eel, and other things all in one night snorkel with the owner, Chuck. His biology/ecology knowlege makes him the perfect tour guide. Got to watch a gigantic sea turtle lay its eggs on their eco-friendly beach! Rooms are clean and comfortable. Highly recommend the Palms at Pelican Cove!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattIUfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
2.0 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sugar Beach Condominiums
Sugar Beach Condominiums
#5 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#6 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#1 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,215 reviews
6.8 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Property: The Palms at Pelican Cove
Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing