We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Last Minute Choice = Best Hotel Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms at Pelican Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Palms at Pelican Cove
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Last Minute Choice = Best Hotel Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Our visit to The Palms was a last minute decision as we planned to fly straight into Tortola. However, a stop in St. Croix was required. A prominent local resident recommended The Palms hotel and it couldn’t have been a better experience. We were overwhelmed by the hospitality, the welcome drink(s), the view of the ocean and all the comforts of a home away from home. The owners, Chuck and Joyce, made it their mission to personally welcome us. The rooms were spacious, clean and spa-like. Ours overlooked a quiet beach, a stone's throw to the ocean. The Palms also offered a free snorkel excursion just off the beach led by the skillful guidance of one of their staff. Dinner was excellent at the hotel restaurant and the check-in/check-out process was effortless. We highly recommend The Palms to anyone interested in vacationing in the BVI's. We plan to come back to stay a few more days and we can't get there soon enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    183
    46
    20
    19
See reviews for
248
530
33
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Palms. Everyone was very kind and helpful. We loved the snorkeling and Mitch was great in taking us out and teaching us about the reef and its creatures. We saw a giant sea turtle and many amazingly beautiful fish. Mitch also took us out for a night snorkel which was a little scary at first but turned out to be something we will never forget!. Mitch gave great directions to explore the island and also took us out for a fruit walk! The food in the restaurant was good but a little pricey for our budget so we mostly ate at the bar which had great pizza and nachoes and quesadillas! We would go back again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Palms is the only place to stay while you are visiting St. Croix. From the moment you arrive, you are treated like a family member. Chuck and Joyce are wonderful. Both took time out of their day and went over a much better island map with us and suggested things to do and attractions for us to visit while we were there. Mama G. invited us to church with her and Rico is an awesome bartender. Mitch is all around awesome! He taught me how to snorkel, took me out on a night snorkel, and took a small group of us on a nature hike, that went to a sugar plantation and to Miss Rita's house where we were able to sample a dozen or so fresh fruits that she grows at her house. The location is perfect. Beautiful sand, quiet, peaceful, and truely relaxing. Great snorkling or swimming right there!

Room Tip: Room 10 has a perfect view of palm trees and water with no buildings in sight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmiller1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The Palms is an absolutely wonderful place to stay while in St. Croix! My wife and have moved to the island for work and checked into The Palms for a week while looking for a permanent home. We thought everything was fantastic. The staff was especially kind and helpful. Specifically, Mamma G and Rico were awesome! The owners (Chuck & Joyce) would often stop by for a quick chat to ensure everything was absolutely perfect. At one point we mentioned to Chuck a room concern and he immediately pulled out his I-phone to write it down and followed up immediately to permanently fix it.
The Palms is the perfect place to do everything! Among many excursion-al type opportunities a guest is complimented with here, one of our favorite was the snorkeling with a dedicated tour guide...did I mention this is free for guests!
The food at the restaurant was phenomenal! In fact, even though we have found a place to live, we intend to go back often to eat at the restaurant and drink at the bar. We have yet to eat at an equivalent tasting restaurant on-island.
We expect our family to come visit in the next couple of months and when they do, we will ensure they stay at The Palms at Pelican Cove!

We strongly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms on the bottom floor on the beach are especially amazing...nothing like walking straight ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

From the moment you arrive at The Palms at Pelican Cove, you know you have stumbled upon the perfect Caribbean hideaway! You will be greeted with a warm welcome and your choice of cocktail at the awesome beach bar. Watch out for the Painkiller...that first sip of the straw is pure Cruzan aged rum...

We booked our trip through BookIt.Com and couldn't be more pleased. We were taken to room 5 located right on the beach with an wall to wall sliding glass door out to our veranda on the beach. A bottle of aged Cruzan rum and Coke awaited our arrival, along with a fresh vase of local flowers. We could feel ourselves unwind as soon as we walked out onto the beautiful beach.

To understand what sets this small resort apart from others is the personal service you will receive from the owners, Chuck and Joyce and their wonderful, friendly and attentive staff. Joyce and Chuck will stop by to chat and offer any assistance required. Mitch and Chuck take guests out on snorkeling adventures daily....you will see more sea life than ever imagined, and they provide snorkel gear and underwater photos of your adventure as a gift for your stay. Our cleaning lady Giselle was always greeting us with a smile on her face, singing, happy...and she kept our room immaculate. Norbert and other grounds keepers always greeted us with a smile. The wait staff at the resort restaurant kept us relaxed and happily fed with some of the best cooking in the Virgin Islands. The beach bar has great pub grub late into the evening in case you want a late night meal too!

We took one day to travel the island to see the rain forest, the beer drinking pigs and hang at Rainbow beach for lunch and a great swim with the locals and their dogs....the poochs had a blast at the beach too! But to be honest, the Palms at Pelican Cove kept us happy with all we needed during our weeklong stay. The perfect beach for swimming, snorkeling, a quiet large fresh water swimming pool with lush tropical vegitation, an awesome beach bar, a great restaurant and the best staff we ever met at any Caribbean island we have visited.

Let's put is this way...you can't go wrong on a holiday at The Palms...if you are like us, you will be back.

Room Tip: BookIt.Com offered three $50 gift certificates for dinner, excursion and shopping
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PghCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The minute we got to the Palms, we felt right at home! Everyone from the front desk to the cleaning crew, to the activity director Mitch, the bartender Rico, and even the owners Joyce and Chuck knew our names by day rwo and treated us like old friends!
Our room had it's own patio overlooking a quiet beach, was always clean and very comfortable.
The snorkel trips led by both Mitch and Chuck were fabulous! We did have a little trouble getting to the right part of the reef when on our own, however.
The food was very good and there were specials almost every night---there was also live entertainment most nights.
This was our first trip to St. Croix, so we still want to see and do some things we didn't have time for. We resisted renting a car because of the driving on the left thing, but taxis were very easy to get.
We highly reccommend Big Beard's trip to Buck island for some great snorkeling!
We will definitely return for another great vacation! Thanks all!
This is an absolutely wonderful 3.5 star resort with 5 star friendliness and service!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19katiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We loved the resort and staff, very friendly, relaxing atmosphere, not your typical stuffy resort. The staff was great, especially Mitch and Louis who helped us with island tours, snorkeling, shopping and island history. Great beach, great rooms with new bathrooms. We loved the food at the open air restaurant, the surf and turf was our favorite. The pool is large and never crowded. The beach was never crowded either, and felt private and very safe, no life guards.

We were down over spring break, there were not a lot of families, mostly older couples, our daughter still had fun, due to the many activities via the staff.

We would highly recommend this resort if you are going to St. Croix.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
2.0 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sugar Beach Condominiums
Sugar Beach Condominiums
#5 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#7 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#1 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,204 reviews
6.8 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms at Pelican Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms at Pelican Cove

Property: The Palms at Pelican Cove
Address: 4126 La Grande Princesse, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#1 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Palms at Pelican Cove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms at Pelican Cove sits on 7 acres of coconut palms and white sand beach, and is just 3 miles west of Christiansted. There is swimming in front of the property, and with Long Reef just a few yards off shore, excellent snorkeling (day and night) is also available. We provide complimentary snorkel gear and tours of the reef. Our freshwater pool is one of the largest on the island and is regularly used by SCUBA for introductory dive lessons. We have a tennis court and complimentary gear. There are many hiking trails on the island and we regularly make excursions with guests. There are 40 spacious rooms at the hotel, and all offer panoramic oceanfront views from expansive terraces. All rooms are air conditioned, and are equipped with a small refrigerator and coffee maker. The Palms Restaurant is located on property and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The Mahogany Bar is located beachside, serves up wonderful beverages, and has a late night bar menu. The front desk is open 24/7 and security is provided around the clock. Wireless internet access is complimentary. The Palms won the 2010 Best Beach Resort and Best Hotel on St. Croix as voted by readers of the Virgin Islands Daily News. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your The Palms at Pelican Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel Christiansted
Palms At Pelican Cove Christiansted
Palms Pelican Cove
Palms At Pelican Cove Hotel
The Palms At Pelican Cove St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing