We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Company House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Company House Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Company Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix (Formerly Danish Manor Hotel and Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Christiansted
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

everything is great including the staff it have this sexy young lady name marie very hope to meet her again

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    12
    1
    4
    7
See reviews for
3
7
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I recently got back from a weekend stay in St. Croix Virgin Islands. I got information about this hotel saying that it was a great place to stay. Upon arrival to the hotel I was told that my room wasn't ready, so I left to do some driving around the island just for exploring purposes. A few hours later when I got back I still couldn't check in because the system was down, I then left again seeing that I was hungry so I went to a nearby resturant to get a bite to eat. After spending a few more hours at the resturant and doing some more exploring of the island I ventured back to the hotel to check in. At this point they were finally ready for me to check in and get comfortable. After checking in and receiving the one key that I was given to share between three people, I headed to my room which was on the bottom floor near the area where the trash is thrown out, getting into the room there were NO RUGS on the floor, going further into the room and into the bathroom, there lay a dead baby lizard on he floor. This turned me off completely. I turned on the tv to calm my nerves but most of the channels didn't work and displayed "No Signal" on the screen. I was so upset I took a shower after a long stressfull day and went to sleep. The next morning I was awakened by the sound of the men collecting the garbage by dragging the bins down the tiled hallway. I got up for a fresh start that day with the intentions to get a soak in the pool, but thta to was filthy. Returning to my room my husband and I got dressed and went to the local ihop for breakfast. After returning to the hotel and giving my son his food, there was no microwave in the room, the only microwave to use was right outside the lobby. Not forgetting that there is no parking lot so you have to park on a side street if there is no parking on the street infront of the hotel. All in all the trip was great, but the hotel experience was aweful!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Christiansted hotels

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We originally booked at the King Christian Hotel, I am disabled and need a hotel with an elevator. Upon arrival at the King Christian Hotel we were advised that the elevator has been out of order for some time. Joyce at King Christian was very helpful and booked us at their "sister hotel" the Company House Hotel just a block up the road. We got there and the was very pleased, the lobby was decorated for Christmas, it was beautiful, complete with a piano, sofas and tables and chairs, free computer access and a bar. We had to go up a couple steps to get to the area where the rooms where, we got to our room and it was an accessible room so it was larger than the others, it was well maintained and had a flat screen TV, mini fridge, large bathroom, table and chairs for eating and a sofa and chairs, the bed was quite cozy! Yes, it is true that the walls are thin, and if the A/C is off then you can hear the person in the next room, but that is an easy problem to solve by keeping the A/C on at all times. This hotel room was a little over $200 a night but it is next to everything, ferries to the beach, restaurants and shopping. All rooms on the entire island are non-smoking as well as all restaurants, although they still advertise smoking rooms you will not find any. Overall, this was a nice place to stay, the security guard is observant and very friendly as well as the entire staff at the hotel. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: Must climb about three stairs to get into the lobby and two stairs to get up to the main floor to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tristalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights, and really enjoyed our view from the second floor to the historic church tower and the blue water beyond. A number of restaurants within several blocks' walk. We loved staying in the old city. Small fridge and coffee in the room. It had some quirks -- cable TV wasn't available at the time -- just DVD -- but that's not what we were there for anyway.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bepbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

I have to say that the previous bad reviews about the hotel is true...I spent one night there with my BF and it was horrible... The toilet was horrible looking, I was afraid to touch it, but the worst part about it was the hand towels... ALL the washcloths had BIG YELLOW STAINS in them..... this made me afraid to shower or even sleep in the bed.

Let me not forget the Pool...that looked like swampy mess!!

Morning time, you are awakened to the hammering away of the construction workers. We are early risers, so this didn't bother us as much...but for people on vacation, this is not the way you want to wake up.

The Lobby is the prettiest thing about the hotel...Dont be fooled....

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone else...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SooSooTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Throw out the old reviews before 2010, because they don't reflect the present condition of the hotel. I had read the reviews and was concerned about what we would find when we checked in. The room we were supposed to have was very basic and was in an area where reconstruction was going on. However, we were shown recently remodeled rooms and was assigned one of them. We were quite satisfied with its condition. The bathroom was clean and newly remodeled, and the bedroom area was quite large.

There is no elevator, so one must climb possibly three flights of stairs, so bear that in mind. The staff was absolutely terrific, and we got great rates after checking out the various room choices.

The television in our room was a flats screen, and it had quite a few channels. There is also a new iMac in the lobby for use by the patrons.

There is a very nice free breakfast at the King Christian Hotel, a couple of blocks away, so one has to walk there.

We did not use the pool while we were there, but it admittedly is in need of repair around the edges.

The Company House is continually upgrading, laying new tile, and making improvements.

Our stay at the Company House was very satisfactory and we plan to stay there again next year.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioMargaret66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

This was booked through my company travel dept. The worst hotel I have ever stayed in and this includes ones I've stayed in while visiting third world countries. The location is not in the best part of the city. If you rent a car, don't stay here. There is no parking. Walking into the lobby of the hotel is the only nice part of the hotel! Upon arrival, my colleague and I were informed that there are no elevators. We were traveling for 6 weeks for business on the various USVI. So you can imagine we had more luggage than most. We had to carry our luggage up to several sets of narrow and uneven stairs.
Once in the room, there are no drawers to put anything in. The TV is mounted very high on the wall, near ceiling. The remote was not programmed and after multiple attempts to program it, I asked for the manager's assistance. With the TV being so high up, unless you are over 6'5'' a person could not turn on or off the tv nor change channels. The front desk clerk had to make several calls to the manager over several hours at my insistance before he made it over to the hotel to help with the remote. There is rarely a manager on duty or in the building. Usually one staff member. After an half hour, the manager could not fix the TV and was going to leave. I had to ask for another room. Again, after waiting for some time, I was moved. Unbelievably, this one was worse. The windows had glass shutters that don't shut all the way, all street noise can be heard, bugs fly in as well as lizards. There are bars on the windows from the inside. The curtains can't be moved to let what little sunlight there may be, in. Dirty dishes were left in the sink, microwave was flithy and not cleaned. Inside of shower and sink in bathroom was dirty too! Not sure if the shower was ever really cleaned by "housekeeping". The overflowing hotel trashcans were next to room and abandoned construction materials. The TV in this room had a permanent green line down the middle of the picture.
The pool, a disaster. Chipped paint from around the outside of the pool falls into the pool. Not sure if the water is ever cleaned. Didn't appear to be. The wall dividing this buidling and the next is plywood. The view from the 2nd floor and up is a view of garbage next door.
The in room wi-fi was falsely advertised. There is a computer available is in lobby. Same with wi-fi, in the lobby only. Small love seats to sit on while listening to religious radio over head if you want to use your own laptop.
What the hotel fails to mention is that the free continental breakfast is two blocks away in another hotel. There is a microwave for guests to use, OUTSIDE by the pool.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keeptraveling01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.2 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#11 of 15 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#7 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holger Danske Hotel
Holger Danske Hotel
#10 of 15 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Condominiums
Sugar Beach Condominiums
#5 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Company House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Company House Hotel

Property: Company House Hotel
Address: 2 Company Street, Christiansted 00820, St. Croix (Formerly Danish Manor Hotel and Suites)
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Company House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three story building in the heart of Christiansted St. Croix. Newly renovated deluxe rooms plus suite. Large conference room with video conference features. Walking distance to beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Company House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Company Hotel Christiansted
Company House Hotel St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing