We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, but all said, overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The beach and pool are really nice at Tamarind, and we were fortunate to have new owners of the Deep End bar/restaurant. But listing this as only one star below the Buccaneer is a stretch. The rooms are spare, lots of small things broken and doors falling apart, the walls and floors/ceilings paper-thin. We were up several nights because we had kids staying above us and heard every step until 2am. If you stay in the room closest to the bar, be prepared to be up til last call. The only swimming off the beach is via a narrow exit along the breakwater, great for snorkeling but no good for small kids. The food at the Deep End is good, but service is hit or miss. All said, we had a great stay in St. Croix and many good days at Tamarind Reef, but if you're looking for quality, spend a bit more and stay at the Buccaneer as it's worlds apart.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nw-mainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 223 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

If you want a affordable well kept inn with a good restaurant and great location, then stay here. Gorgeous reef near by and good access to east end and Christensted. The staff is friendly and helpful and the beach is nice and protected by a jetty.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VATravel5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I just came back from 8 days here, and I just cannot say enough about how wonderful Tamarind Reef is - the staff, the area, the pool...and the views of the Caribbean...it is phenomenal. Rooms are clean, comfortable - I had a kitchenette and was on the ground floor. What a view!!! Food in the Deep End Grill was delicious. Dana gives the best massages in town! All of the staff is very warm and welcoming. I had a wonderful time and so will you.

Room Tip: Rooms with lower numbers are a little bit quieter - I was in 13 and it was perfect. It was nice to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We are wrapping up a 15 day vacation to Tamarind Reef Resort. We rented adjoining rooms and had plenty of space for our large family. This place is amazing! The snorkeling from the beach is first rate. We spent many hours just sitting on our patio, enjoying having the Caribbean just steps away. Everything is very well maintained. When we requested even the smallest thing, it was addressed immediately. I give Tamarind Reef Resort, my highest recommendation. We saw sea turtles, iguanas, pelicans, an octopus, squid, schools of blue tang, parrotfish, corals, pufferfish, a morey eel, crabs, damselfish, French angelfish, conch, hermit crabs, banded butterflyfish, four-spot butterflyfish, peacock flounder, and so much more here at Tamarind Reef! The beach shack staff were extremely accommodating and always went out of there way to make things perfect. My wife and I had a great kayak trip to Green Cay. Our kids loved to kayak along the marina and mangroves in search of wildlife.

Room Tip: Every room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aaron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My family and I just finished a week in Christiansted, St. Croix, US VI at the Tamarind Reef Resort. We had a very fine experience there. The rooms were clean, spacious and just what was required of a sun-filled, tropically warm destination. The staff were super-friendly and very helpful, even staying late into the night on the day before Christmas Eve to make sure we got checked in, accommodating our very late arrival to the resort. Great Wi-Fi available free of additional charge, nice cable program selection (Dish Network) for evening viewing before retiring, and a quite environment for sleeping.

The food at the Deep End restaurant was quite good, if a bit more expensive than I would have expected. The lap pool is not heated, so the water is quite cold, but refreshing when the hot son is shining. About the only negative are the bugs: whatever was biting was biting the heck out of us. Much worse on the beach than at the pool, but still pretty bad all around. We all came home with multiple itchy bites all over our bodies. Bring lots of bug spray repellent, which we did not.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Both are awesome, the Deep end and Tamarind. Beth, Eric, Troy all of the Tamara(h)'s, Krista, I am forgetting some of them but it awesome. Buy them all a drink or 2 after their shift, they deserve it, the service is great, food is great. This was my 5th time at the Tamarind (2nd with my girlfriend) we were treated like royalty. Beth makes awesome Bloody Mary's in the morning, they all have great interpersonal communication skills they want to talk to you and hear where you are from and care what you have to say. The entertainment at night is awesome, Elena is doing a great job since she took over, Adrian plays the guitar on Tuesday's I believe, nothing better than sitting on the deck listening to some music while the wind is blowing and waves are crashing. Mimi is awesome, Barbara is awesome, I cannot remember the name of the other kid who works the shack but he is cool too. Have a beer or 2 with Beth after her shift, buy her the one or 2 beers, great people, great place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the honeymoon suite. Awesome room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We didn't stay at the Tamarind, but went there to rent some snorkeling gear. Mimi (at the rental hut on the beach) was incredibly friendly and helpful and let us know that the conditions on that beach weren't ideal for snorkeling at that time, but she suggested that we rent a kayak and go across to Green Cay to snorkel there. She rented us the equipment, let us store our belongings there (since it's not recommended to leave things in your car in St. Croix), let us use her personal cell phone because ours weren't working, and even stayed late at work to wait for us to get back from kayaking (allowing us plenty of time to enjoy Green Cay)! She went above and beyond to make our last day in St. Croix amazing. Next time we go, we'll be staying there!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank MissStephanie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
2.4 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
130 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#4 of 14 in Christiansted
503 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holger Danske Hotel
Holger Danske Hotel
#9 of 14 in Christiansted
104 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,452 reviews
10.6 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina

Address: 5001 Tamarind Reef, Christiansted 00820-4582, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: $150 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina on St Croix USVI is ideal for relaxed family vacations, destination weddings, honeymoons, beach and watersport retreats, business travel and small group events. This intimate resort features 40 oceanfront rooms on 40+ acres with private marina; casual and fine-dining restaurants; seaside pool; water sports; spa with massage, hair and nail care; tennis courts; fitness center; wedding/event coordinator, and of course a palm tree lined beach with shade huts and 154-slip marina for day/sunset sailing and fishing excursions. The resort is nestled into a private neighborhood 10 minutes from historic Christiansted yet feels light years from everyday worries and stress. No passport required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing