We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got a great deal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Crystal Springs, Mississippi
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“We got a great deal!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were staying at another location on the west end up in the rain forest when I became ill with respiratory problems. Looking for a location change and we discovered Tamarind Reef was running an on island special for $99 a night !!! We stayed 4 nights. Room was very clean. It was quiet. Right on the sea with good snorkeling. The restaurant has great breakfasts. There are resident iguanas that live in the breakwater rocks ... big ones! There is a small store just down the road that had all the medications I required. Front desk very helpful.

Room Tip: Don't get room 8 ... it's next to the spa and the employees use the porch to smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DionneNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindReefResort, Public Relations Manager at Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Tamarind Reef Resort: Welcome to the Tamarind Family! We look forward to seeing you in the months and years to come. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our wonderful resort at a special rate. We do offer discounts often to guests on our mailing list. Please go to our website and sign up for our newsletter. That way we can stay in touch and offer you and your friend’s special rates. Thank you for sharing that your room was very clean, quiet and right on the sea. We do have a lovely location and like to say that we are Tranquility in Nature’s Paradise! Yes - Deep End Restaurant overlooking the pool and ocean does have great breakfast and is an excellent choice to enjoy lunch, dinner and evening entertainment. Always nice to hear that our front desk staff is helpful and that you were able to find everything you needed. We appreciate your room tip comment about smoking behind the spa. We apologize for any inconvenience. Smoking is not allowed and your comment gave us the opportunity to readdress this policy. Thank you again for taking the time to share your positive experience at Tamarind Reef Resort. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    95
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
47
103
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
552 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Although I work in the islands, this was my first stay. It is an older property, but a great location. The staff was friendly but not very helpful when I asked for directions to my room. The rooms are large and face the water. My AC sounded like a airplane but managed to c cool my room. The 2 drink coupons for the bar was a nice touch. Would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CobaltConnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TamarindReefResort, Public Relations Manager at Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Tamarind Reef Resort. We enjoyed having you stay with us and are pleased that you will return. We agree that the resort has a great location with large rooms facing the water. The oceanfront property comprises over 40 acres including the hotel, beach, marina, restaurants, spa, fitness/banquet center and landscaped grounds. Although not a new property, we take great pride in keeping it well maintained. We sincerely apologize for the noisy air conditioner. Your comfort is important to us. Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. The AC unit is being repaired. We are glad that you appreciated the free drink coupons. We’ll be sure to provide those for your next stay too. Per your comment we will also be developing an improved map of the property so that directions will no longer be an issue. Thank you again for your business and for your comments. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roachdale, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Room was spacious and very clean. The view was stunning from our patio. The Deep End bar is where we dined for breakfast lunch and dinner. Thoroughly enjoyed Kenna the bartender and Eric and Lacey as waitstaff . Loved the drink Lime in the Coconut. We had mango glazed BBQ ribs made by Lisa. So very yummy. Beach is rocky but great for snorkeling. Saw blue tang, squid, sea turtles and a baby nurse shark. Mimi at the beach shack is knowledgable and friendly. You will need to rent a car to enjoy other beaches and island activities. Many resident iguana roaming on the property to watch. This resort is a great place to chill out and watch the world go by.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 38 upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Michaels, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We just spent 8 beautiful days on St. Croix at Tamarind Reef Resort. What a lovely gem outside of the hustle and bustle. Our vacation could not have been more restful and memorable. Hardly a day went by that we didn't grab snorkeling gear and head out right in front of the resort to Tamarind Reef. A lovely beach and adventure shack with knowledgeable and friendly faces to help us get acquainted with the nearby reefs and waterways. "Thanks to Barbara, Brenda & Mimi!" our 17 year old son had never been snorkeling and Barbara got him suited up and off the 1st afternoon of our vacation. The rooms were spacious enough and well appointed - just the right mixture of comfort and style but not stuffy. Every room has a private deck overlooking palm trees and the Caribbean - beautiful! All of the staff were helpful and courteous - the Deep end Bar & Grill is onsite with great food and the Galleon is just next door for more upscale dining - both great! We will return to the friendly island of St. Croix and the quiet beauty at Tamarind Reef Resort!

Room Tip: Small Resort with only 38 rooms - that's what we liked the most. 1st floor rooms have kitchens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnR1073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Came to this hotel after leaving another due to power problems. The staff, whether at the front desk, house keeping, bar and restaurant or activities director are fantastic. super sweet, informative, fun to talk with and try their very best to make your stay relaxing, entertaining, and enjoyable. you must visit Mimi at the activities stand. Rooms are very clean. House keeper even did our dishes!! Food at the deep end grille was fantastic! You must try the bushwacker drink. The view from your patio is stunning. Calm, peaceful, quiet. The spa was so relaxing. Took us right out on the beach!!! Took out the sour taste out of us from the previous resort. can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Bottom floor so you can have the stove and kitchen units. Stay toward the lower numbers for quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel is on the beach! Could not be closer leading to stunning views and great breezes. The facility is very functional & clean but would not consider it 4 or 5 star.

Location is convenient but really need a car to get to the other beaches and activities on the island.

The hotel bar also serves as a restaurant and breakfast is the most fun time there. Often there are international groups and in just a week we were able to meet quite a few people from around the world. The gals who run the restaurant are the BEST. Fun & knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank texshabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were so close to the ocean, we could almost feel the water. The restaurant is what they said. Great wait staff and bartenders. Food was just what we needed. We were there at Christmas. It was decorated just right. It is not a luxury resort all though the Galleon restaurant is. Another OMG. The best I had on St.Croix the two times we have been there.

Room Tip: They would all be good. We were on the second floor. Great great privacy at night on the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank relaxing034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
214 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
499 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,407 reviews
10.6 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina

Property: Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Address: 5001 Tamarind Reef, Christiansted 00820-4582, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina on St Croix USVI is ideal for relaxed family vacations, destination weddings, honeymoons, beach and watersport retreats, business travel and small group events. This intimate resort features 40 oceanfront rooms on 40+ acres with private marina; casual and fine-dining restaurants; seaside pool; water sports; spa with massage, hair and nail care; tennis courts; fitness center; wedding/event coordinator, and of course a palm tree lined beach with shade huts and 154-slip marina for day/sunset sailing and fishing excursions. The resort is nestled into a private neighborhood 10 minutes from historic Christiansted yet feels light years from everyday worries and stress. No passport required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing