We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hear the waves from your room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a delightful stay at Tamarind Reef. We were on 2nd level, beautiful view of the water from balcony and at night lulled to sleep by the waves. Room was big, very clean, bathroom small. A small refrigerator provided but no microwave. The units on 1st floor had them. Outdoor restaurant on site, a great place to chill, food decent and reasonable prices. A great beach to snorkel but not to walk, kayaks provided free along with snorkel gear. Several tiki huts provided with chairs on beach. Close to Christiansted (drive time 10 min.) for dining and shopping. Good wifi. Grounds nicely maintained.

Room Tip: I would choose bottom floor next time. Still private and view fine with added bonus of kitchen.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sealightful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 223 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

this was a very nice little hotel apprx. 4 km outside Christiansted, St. Croix. The room was big with 2 big beds. We stayed a first floor and had an amazing view over the sea. There are both a nice pool and a friendly small beach from where you could snorkle. Snorkling gear and banana canues were free off charges when you stayed at the hotel. Breakfast was not plenty but well served by very friendly staff. Dinner was very good. At the restaurant free mosquito spray was offered and I needed it :-) All in all a nice hotel but a little worn down. There were no public busses to town nor hotel shuttlebus, so we spend much money to go by taxi. I recommend this hotel mostly for relaxing. Joane, Roskilde, Denmark

Room Tip: there were less mosquitos on the balcony to rooms on first floor
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoaneB-Borup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were 2 families of 2 adults and 2 children each. All people working at the hotel both in reception, housekeeping and gardens are SO nice. Very helpful and very friendly. The rooms are comfortable and clean. All rooms have a great view of the ocean and Buck Island. There is a kitchenette in all rooms with refrigirator and stove to cook your own meals. The bar/restaurant "Deep End" is right by the pool and everyone is very friendly there. People come here both from the hotel, the marina and town to eat. The crab races at the bar on tuesday nights (I think its tuesdays) is a big attraction for kids and families traveling to the island on a regular basis. The foos prices are a bit high and most of the time you have to wait a while for service and food. The kids can run around the pool and there is no traffic apart from a small parking area behind the bar. All in all it was one of the best vacation spots we have ever been to. And we have been to a lot!

Room Tip: Without kids I would go for a room on the top floor for a better view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lullaberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had a fantastic 2 weeks stay at Tamarind, and we enjoyed each moment - the cozy breakfasts around Beth at the bar - the beach with its cute iguanas, and the Sun Fun Hut and its friendly staff who always had time to explain about the wildlife and the ocean. We went on nice trips in their ocean kayaks, when we did not simply enjoy the sun and watch the pelicans and frigate birds. The rooms was more like a flat, with a small kitchen, but we never cooked - the Deep End restaurant had a fine kitchen with good prices and a very lay-back and informal atmosphere. The resort is located, as the name indicates, on a reef between the ocean and a laguna, with a fine marina as next door neighbor, but even thought the area is so peaceful and relaxed, it is close to Christiansted and not very far from shopping.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean view, the choice is between ground floor with terrace and first floor with balc...
Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ellen-Marie Dør... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

wow. beutifully manicured property adjacent to the gorgeous caribbean sea. simply charming. amazing bar/pool area, superb snorkeling, amazing ocean front rooms and super friendly staff make this property a true gem. no hustle and bustle, as this place is the true deffinition of chill.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Malcolm Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We enjoyd this resort throughly, and it was an excellent value.

The room (king size bed) had an average stand-up shower, but a big spacious room with a balcony overlooking the beach. The bed was pretty good, and the room was averagely furnished. There was wifi, a safe, a TV with basic cable, and a mini-fridge. By main land USA standards, a great three-star hotel.

Their service at the front desk was great and they were extremely helpful. We only ate breakfast at the restaurant, and the woman running the restaurant in the morning was extremely nice and very, very helpful.

The beach was great for snorkeling, and they let you use their gear for free (The Buccaneer uses their beach for snorkeling, no lie.)

As for the honeymoon package, I would totally recommend it: free t-shirt, free drinks (2), a Buck Island snorkeling and nature tour (awesome, awesome, AWESOME!), and a bottle of champagne.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AwkwardTron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We recently spent an entire week at Tamarind Reef and truly enjoyed everything about it. It's rare to find a hotel where every room is oceanfront like this one. The rooms are big and have wonderful patios to enjoy that oceanfront view. We liked that the hotel was a few miles from the center of town. It was close enough to drive to restaurants and shopping while also being far enough from the hustle and bustle of town as a secluded resort and beach.

We also got married at the beach area of the hotel and the staff was very accommodating when we didn't even ask for anything. It was just my husband and I and we mentioned it in passing to the hotel's beach activity/hospitality person, Mimi, on the same day we planned to have our ceremony. The staff, especially Mimi, went out of their way to make our day special. The beach area at Tamarind has many great spots for a little ceremony like we had.

The restaurant and bar are also excellent. Food was very good and drinks were delicious. The staff and locals that hang out there all make you feel like they've known you for years; so warm and friendly.

We drove around to some of the other hotels in the area and for the price we paid, the location, etc., we were definitely glad we chose Tamarind and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MirandaT75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
216 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
499 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,427 reviews
10.6 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina

Address: 5001 Tamarind Reef, Christiansted 00820-4582, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: $166 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina on St Croix USVI is ideal for relaxed family vacations, destination weddings, honeymoons, beach and watersport retreats, business travel and small group events. This intimate resort features 40 oceanfront rooms on 40+ acres with private marina; casual and fine-dining restaurants; seaside pool; water sports; spa with massage, hair and nail care; tennis courts; fitness center; wedding/event coordinator, and of course a palm tree lined beach with shade huts and 154-slip marina for day/sunset sailing and fishing excursions. The resort is nestled into a private neighborhood 10 minutes from historic Christiansted yet feels light years from everyday worries and stress. No passport required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing