We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“absolutely serene” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“absolutely serene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

wow. beutifully manicured property adjacent to the gorgeous caribbean sea. simply charming. amazing bar/pool area, superb snorkeling, amazing ocean front rooms and super friendly staff make this property a true gem. no hustle and bustle, as this place is the true deffinition of chill.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malcolm Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    86
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
84
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We enjoyd this resort throughly, and it was an excellent value.

The room (king size bed) had an average stand-up shower, but a big spacious room with a balcony overlooking the beach. The bed was pretty good, and the room was averagely furnished. There was wifi, a safe, a TV with basic cable, and a mini-fridge. By main land USA standards, a great three-star hotel.

Their service at the front desk was great and they were extremely helpful. We only ate breakfast at the restaurant, and the woman running the restaurant in the morning was extremely nice and very, very helpful.

The beach was great for snorkeling, and they let you use their gear for free (The Buccaneer uses their beach for snorkeling, no lie.)

As for the honeymoon package, I would totally recommend it: free t-shirt, free drinks (2), a Buck Island snorkeling and nature tour (awesome, awesome, AWESOME!), and a bottle of champagne.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AwkwardTron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We recently spent an entire week at Tamarind Reef and truly enjoyed everything about it. It's rare to find a hotel where every room is oceanfront like this one. The rooms are big and have wonderful patios to enjoy that oceanfront view. We liked that the hotel was a few miles from the center of town. It was close enough to drive to restaurants and shopping while also being far enough from the hustle and bustle of town as a secluded resort and beach.

We also got married at the beach area of the hotel and the staff was very accommodating when we didn't even ask for anything. It was just my husband and I and we mentioned it in passing to the hotel's beach activity/hospitality person, Mimi, on the same day we planned to have our ceremony. The staff, especially Mimi, went out of their way to make our day special. The beach area at Tamarind has many great spots for a little ceremony like we had.

The restaurant and bar are also excellent. Food was very good and drinks were delicious. The staff and locals that hang out there all make you feel like they've known you for years; so warm and friendly.

We drove around to some of the other hotels in the area and for the price we paid, the location, etc., we were definitely glad we chose Tamarind and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MirandaT75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband and I visited here in Feb/2012 on his business travel, and I fell in love with the property so that I called home while still on vacation and started planning a trip for the whole family in July. Our group of 14 people from ages 14-74 loved it and still talking about it a month later.

My husband travels a lot with his job, I also am busy with my catering business and running teens to all their sports and activites, so a vacation at the Tamarind is a true 'chill out' vacation. We own our own place at a very popular beach in SC, and we love visiting monthly, but it still is a busy tourist pace... St Croix and the Tamarind Reef is not! all about and nothing else but relaxing by the natural beauty of the island.-OCEANFRONT EVERY ROOM!

The 3 senior members of the group just happy to relax in the shade by the pool and watching the gentle ocean waves, the moms laid out on the quiet beach, the 20's and teens snorkeled the reef right in front of the beach, dads joined their sons for tennis nightly, and EVERYONE was mesmorized by the sailboats leaving the adjacent marina daily and sailing to the islands across the way- So, much we booked our own Charter and sailed to the white beaches of Buck Island and snorkeled the trail with a guide Mimi at the beach shack recommended-AWESOME. She also advised us on the best restaurants/activities during our visit, SO valuable.

The whole group loved to walk just steps from their room to the Deep End Bar cafe for yummy pancake breakfast or sleep in and enjoy something in their own frig (We booked the double queen rooms with eff kitchens). Many times we would throw on our coverups ,take a break from the beach and grab a burger-so covenient and very reasonably priced for families. Service is slow, like all of St Croix, so you gotta go with the flow and leave the uptight mainland pace at home. Think Beach Cabana mode. Ate there 2 nights and food always varied and good-they really try to give you fresh seafood and homeland favorites.

Tamarind is very close to town, so easy to run into town with your rental car and grab groceries, shop at the few stores on boardwalk of Christainsted, or eat out in one of their open air restaurants on the water.

Room Tip: Off season is April-October, and you can have a nice double queen room or king room with efficiency...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wallacecooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

We arrived at STX a day late. My mood was less than great do to the fact that i had to stay in Miami overnight. We shared a taxi with three other people (actually it was a van) to the Tamarind Reef Hotel. As soon as i arrived my mood rejuvenated. We stayed on the first floor in room 23, which placed us steps from the pool and the Deep End Resturant. The room was super clean, and had the most spectacular view of the ocean. We putted around the property and met a woman named Mimi. Within seconds we were yammering away about the island and where we were from. It was a delight. She advised us to drink this concoction called a "Bushwhacker". I'm not one for chocolate drinks but trust me this was a drink to order. The beach is definitely not for swimming but it more than made up with it's breathtaking snorkeling. my favorite part of the trip was the Iguanas ambling around the property, they were as laid back as the staff. The meals were tasty and well priced and you couldn't pay for better atmosphere. The downtown area was deserted but this is the off season, so what can you expect. We picked up some great souveniers from the Purple Papaya gift shop, and took loads of photos. Overall if you are looking for a quiet super friendly, super romantic, affordable getaway, there is no place like the Tamarind Reef Hotel, Spa, and Marina.........Try the Bushwhacker it's great. :)

Room Tip: stay in the rooms closest to the pool and resturant, you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ElJeffe30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penwell, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for four nights last month and had a terrific time. The rooms were clean and quiet and had beautiful views. The bathroom was a little grimy, but the room itself was spacious and nicely appointed. Also, I was not a fan of the separation inserts used for each balcony, but it sufficed.
The beach was large. The thatched roof cabanas were neat and there was ample room for all guests. Jerry and his daughter, who run the snorkel/kayak stand were wonderful! All these amenities were free for guests. Every day we either kayaked to Green Cay and explored or snorkeled around the resort. There were some awesome iguanas by the beach, which kept us busy and the hammocks were a plus. The concrete "reef" was an eyesore, but it made a nice home for the fish and a calm area to dip.
I didn't like the restaurant, The Deep End, so we went to other places around the island after eating there the first night. Their spa didn't keep any semblance of hours because it was the off-season, which was a bummer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed here with a family member that was getting married. She is a native of St. Croix and I love visiting the island. The view from our room was specatular!! The room was very comfortable and clean. The room was also near the pool. We had a great location and amazing view of the ocean. When on St. Croix visit the Tamarind Reef Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mstonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
2.3 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#6 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
10.6 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina

Property: Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Address: 5001 Tamarind Reef | Off Route 82 (East End Road) at Green Cay Marina, Christiansted 00820-4582, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina on St Croix USVI is ideal for relaxed family vacations, destination weddings, honeymoons, beach and watersport retreats, business travel and small group events. Voted 'Best Beach on St. Croix - 2013', this intimate resort features 40 oceanfront rooms on 40+ acres with private marina; casual and fine-dining restaurants; seaside pool; water sports; spa with massage, hair and nail care; tennis courts; fitness center; business lounge; event center; wedding/event coordinator, and of course a palm tree lined beach with shade huts and 154-slip marina for day/sunset sailing and motor boat excursions. The resort is nestled into a private neighborhood 10 minutes from historic Christiansted yet feels light years from everyday worries and stress. No passport required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing