We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place, good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio resident
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average place, good location.”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Stayed a couple of nights. Room was spacious but needed a makeover. Rusty fridge, noisy ceiling fan and ac unit. Patio separated from next door patio by fabric divider. Little ants (or something similar) running around night stands.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelin411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    95
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
47
103
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethel,CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Had the best trip of 7 over 18 years to St Croix. Staff was the best I've EVER experienced. Room, food and service were absolutely great.
Pictures don't do it justice. It was much nicer than anticipated. 5 minutes from Christiansted.

Room Tip: Food is excellent and reasonably priced. Don't see the need for a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FirebirdTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The hotel overall was great. My problem was the cleanliness and the service. When we reached, we checked out all the drawers and found a kid underwear in one of them. Also, when I went to the bathroom, there was a tampon in the toilet. When I called for extra pool towels, the person for guest services told me to look for a housekeeper outside to get some. Never heard that before. In other hotels, usually I call and they send someone with it. I don't think there is room service either. On a better note, love the view and the room comes with a patio. The pool is nice and there's also a beach. They gave us a card to get a free drink from the bar so I got a piña colada (virgin of course). Overall, I had a good experience.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darhazlomina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Just returned home from a stay in Tamarind. Not as upscale as I had imagined but clean,friendly, and very comfortable. No continental breakfast as offered on website. Free kayaks and snorkeling though and I definitely took advantage. Slept in an immensely comfortable hammock. The weather was superb and the pool was so refreshing. The view from the modest rooms could not be beat. Went to the Gallows restaurant next door. Very good and very expensive. Food is good at the bar and the bar atmosphere itself is fun with lots of locals. Stroong drinks, good specials. I have friends here so I visit often. Have stayed in several places. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank green3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed there for business for over two weeks. The rooms are clean and functional. Loved the ocean view each morning. Make sure you request one with a kitchentte if you are going to be there for an extended stay. The property is well kept and quiet, but only a five minute ride into town. The Deep End Bar is a good place to relax and have a casual dinner after work. Very convenient after long days. Great beach with kayaks and snorkel gear. I would definitely stay there again. There may be better choices for all-inclusive on the island, but none that made me feel more relaxed and welcome.

Room Tip: Kitchenette and a new TV are helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebag2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manakin Sabot, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The Tamarind Reef Hotel is tucked away providing it's own little piece of paradise. The rooms are basic and nicely appointed; all with a wonderful ocean view that includes Green Cay. The Deep End Bar & Cafe provides good food alfresco. Beth was a hit, with good service and helpful recommendations.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The food at the Deep End Bar was AMAZING! I didnt't have a bad thing there my whole stay! The bartenders/servers are all so friendly and wonderful. I want to say thank you to Stephanie, Michael, Troy and Beth for making our time at the Deep End extra fun! Gerry at the Beach Shack was also very nice and helful. There is so much to do within the resort, you don't even need to leave! The Tamarind is a great place to vacation and I would go back in a second!

-Stacy & Kyle

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StacyG0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
214 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
499 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,409 reviews
10.6 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina

Property: Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Address: 5001 Tamarind Reef, Christiansted 00820-4582, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina on St Croix USVI is ideal for relaxed family vacations, destination weddings, honeymoons, beach and watersport retreats, business travel and small group events. This intimate resort features 40 oceanfront rooms on 40+ acres with private marina; casual and fine-dining restaurants; seaside pool; water sports; spa with massage, hair and nail care; tennis courts; fitness center; wedding/event coordinator, and of course a palm tree lined beach with shade huts and 154-slip marina for day/sunset sailing and fishing excursions. The resort is nestled into a private neighborhood 10 minutes from historic Christiansted yet feels light years from everyday worries and stress. No passport required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing