We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, Easy and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet, Easy and Relaxing”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed there for business for over two weeks. The rooms are clean and functional. Loved the ocean view each morning. Make sure you request one with a kitchentte if you are going to be there for an extended stay. The property is well kept and quiet, but only a five minute ride into town. The Deep End Bar is a good place to relax and have a casual dinner after work. Very convenient after long days. Great beach with kayaks and snorkel gear. I would definitely stay there again. There may be better choices for all-inclusive on the island, but none that made me feel more relaxed and welcome.

Room Tip: Kitchenette and a new TV are helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebag2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    93
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
45
100
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manakin Sabot, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The Tamarind Reef Hotel is tucked away providing it's own little piece of paradise. The rooms are basic and nicely appointed; all with a wonderful ocean view that includes Green Cay. The Deep End Bar & Cafe provides good food alfresco. Beth was a hit, with good service and helpful recommendations.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The food at the Deep End Bar was AMAZING! I didnt't have a bad thing there my whole stay! The bartenders/servers are all so friendly and wonderful. I want to say thank you to Stephanie, Michael, Troy and Beth for making our time at the Deep End extra fun! Gerry at the Beach Shack was also very nice and helful. There is so much to do within the resort, you don't even need to leave! The Tamarind is a great place to vacation and I would go back in a second!

-Stacy & Kyle

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StacyG0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Liked: rooms are spacious, beach is small but nice w/ chairs and tiki cuts. Liked balconies overlooking the sea. Nice bar.
Did not like: bad TV reception, no microwave in our room, no privacy at pool(too close to the bar), bar closes at 9pm every night (should stay open later on weekends)

Something to mention: when we were leaving we noticed that there will be a Spa room put in for manis and pedis! Nice!!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finngirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Such a wonderful small hotel with so many amenities.The rooms are nicely appointed. The beach, with views of the outer islands, is well taken care of. Go snorkeling right from the beach. Gerald at the Beach Shack will teach you ,if you don't know how. The bar/restaurant is my favorite hangout. Friendly locals and other snowbirds make for a great time. You come here once, you'll keep coming back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

My friend and I were very pleased with our choice of Tamarind Reef for our stay in St. Croix. We had a lovely view of the Caribbean and Green Cay and Buck Island from our balcony and enjoyed the low-key atmosphere. We alternated between relaxing and reading on the beach and snorkeling in the reef near the shore and day or half-day outings: Buck Island by trimaran for more snorkeling, historic sites and shopping in Christiansted, and a day trip around the island. Except when on outings we ate all our meals at the Deep End Bar and Restaurant on the premises. Everything was delicious, and there was a good variety. Prices were reasonable. Service was a bit slow, but we didn't mind. We did not rent a car, but this was fine with us. The Buck Island trip left from Green Cay Marina just adjacent to the hotel, and we were picked up by Sweeney's Safari Tours for the all day trip. So we only spent cab fare one day to go to Christiansted and back for the sightseeing and shopping and to and from the airport. (I had no desire to drive on the left in a car equipped for driving on the right.) All in all it was just what we wanted for a relaxing winter get-away.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indysnorkeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Croix, USVI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Was delighted to arrive at this quaint little hotel on the reef. Checked into my room which had no lighting. Checked out of that room and into another which had no power along the kitchen side. As I began to unpack noticed that the hangars were filthy, floors and furniture had a fine film of mildew on all. Kitchen cupboards were sticky and greasy. Sandy sand up on surfaces as if no cleaning had been done. Coffee pot broken, and no power. Advised management of issues and they assured all would be taken care of, however, upon return from work found that the coffee pot indeed was replaced and then put on the little table near an outlet. The outlet at the kitchen still not working, hangars had been replaced. No other cleaning was done. I stayed that night then moved. I immediately n otified a friend who was coming down there to stay to change her reservation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OffGridGraphics1, Public Relations Manager at Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina, responded to this review, February 20, 2011
Tamarind Reef Resort would like to thank this guest for their comments and assure everyone that we take cleaning and service seriously. We acknowledge that there was a problem with the light switch in the first room and that the room into which she was transferred was not prepared for arrival. This was a mistake and we have taken immediate steps to resolve it including a full review of procedures and additional staff training. Tamarind Reef Resort is proud of its reputation of being a friendly, well-maintained, and tranquil beachfront hotel and marina. We look forward to helping each business and leisure guest have a positive and enjoyable experience at Tamarind Reef Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
2.3 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#4 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
10.6 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina

Property: Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
Address: 5001 Tamarind Reef | Off Route 82 (East End Road) at Green Cay Marina, Christiansted 00820-4582, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina on St Croix USVI is ideal for relaxed family vacations, destination weddings, honeymoons, beach and watersport retreats, business travel and small group events. Voted 'Best Beach on St. Croix - 2013', this intimate resort features 40 oceanfront rooms on 40+ acres with private marina; casual and fine-dining restaurants; seaside pool; water sports; spa with massage, hair and nail care; tennis courts; fitness center; business lounge; event center; wedding/event coordinator, and of course a palm tree lined beach with shade huts and 154-slip marina for day/sunset sailing and motor boat excursions. The resort is nestled into a private neighborhood 10 minutes from historic Christiansted yet feels light years from everyday worries and stress. No passport required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing