We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with great views all around”
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel on the Cay
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 21, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at HOTC March 15-19. I did a lot of research on Trip Advisor before choosing this hotel. It seemed to have everything we wanted. It has a beach, ocean views, and close to restaurants in town.

The room was very dated...def needed some upgrades. We knew this going into it though so I would not count this against the place. We didn't spend much time in the room anyway. We basically just slept there and showered there. The view from our balcony was great!

The staff at the hotel was very friendly and always helpful so that was a plus. Taking the ferry back and forth was fun too :-)

We took advantage of the Tuesday night buffet. The food was good and the entertainment was great. We did not stay long after dinner because we were both tired from swimming and walking around town all day. The waitstaff there was great.

Overall, we had a great time there...the location of the hotel is great. If you are looking for a 5 star place...then this isnt it. But if you are looking for a hotel in a great location for a great price I would def suggest checking this place out. Its the only hotel in the town with a beach...so I would keep that in mind when booking your trip to St. Croix!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shannyb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 500 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2010

The reviews that tell it how it is - such as, don't expect a 5-star set-up yet enjoy the uniqueness of what you can tell was once was, are correct. The people that complain need to do their homework "on" tripadvisor before filing a complaint on tripadvisor. This way, your expectations are what they are.

My wife and I went to Buck Island and we unintentionally left sand all over the hotel room and I was curious if it was going to be picked up by the maid service and it was. We also locked ourselves out of the room which I guess happens frequently and no complaints, they came to our rescue. Another words, a fancier hotel with poor service is to me less than a lesser hotel with great service.

Again, a very unique place, an especially great place if you can see past the current quality to understand that at one time, it had to be the #1 back in its day and today simply is a place of history which the conditions of the hotel will tell.

If you are going on a vacation to stay in your hotel room, may I suggest just going down your street and choosing one of those. If you are going to travel, esp. to a place like the VI, then all a hotel room is ...is a place to sleep. WHY pay ridiculous money for a hotel room which looks pretty for the few hours you spend in it vs. the time you should be spending on the beach or enjoying the finer things in life which exist outside your hotel room.

Overall, what made this unique to us was that we were staying on an Island of an Island...who can say that they've done that?

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SmallTownKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Hotel on the Cay is vintage chic! If you are looking for a high class five star hotel with pretentious service don't bother staying here. If you want an amazing location with a lot of quirks and a feel of home, this is your place. We have stayed here several times. There is everything you need. The hotel is obviously old, but the rooms are clean, the beach is as picturesque as it gets. Downtown is a two minute ferry ride away. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is not a better location in the islands... It is on its own island!
We love it here...

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dukeofguok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

The past is the past, but not at this hotel. This was a week long diving/windsurfing trip. I've stayed at a lot of hotels in the part of the world and I've rarely been so overcharged for so little service. So many things... the broken toilet seat that took three day to fix, the bags of garbage in the courtyard, the on again-off again brown water running out of the sink. The decor is in need of, shall we say, updating. It's not "lovely" at all as the ad said. It's on a nice location though. All and all, I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank torrotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

The hotel was in obvious disrepair. Although, I've heard that someone recently bought the hotel and is now renovating... So maybe not as bad? They have a great location on the little island in the harbor...

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PaulS48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2010

This hotel is located on its own island!! Cool! That part along with the great views of the Christensted harbor made it seem suitable. The customer service on the phone was excellent and professional. They replied quickly to emails and allowed us to change our booking night when our flight arrived late. Booking was a breeze!

HOWEVER, as soon as we checked in we had to do an inventory checklist (the lobby requests this) of the items in the room including towels, kitchen items etc. I don't go on vacation to do what i do at home. As well, they had no shampoo in the rooms and didn't offer it at the hotel at all. If you are there for only one night, DON'T forget your shampoo, body soap and lotion. There are no backups in the rooms. They have a can opener, but no shampoo. HA!

We preceded to the beach for their FAMOUS TUESDAY NIGHT BBQ DINNER.... when we arrived the atmosphere was nothing but a crazy mess. It was an event that wasn't organized in any manner. The little staff they did have was so busy serving drinks to tables, that no one knew where to go and the line to pay for your buffet tickets was running into the buffet line/table. It was seat yourself (if you can find a spot....). It cost $23.50 per ticket and is worth it if you really eat at buffets. My husband and I really enjoyed the BBQ chicken, fish and ribs. That was a highlight for sure!! The side items were very bland and similar to food where I am from baked beans, potato salad, mac & cheese (that was good, who doesn't like mac & cheese?). I guess I was just hoping for some local flare. The desserts were cliche - which i don't like at all. Apple pie, German Choclate Cake, White and Chocolate Plain Cake.

The beach is small but has a great view of the boats/harbor. Didn't seem like a great beach for swimming and venturing out into the waters though.There may be another part that is beach, but I didn't find it........The landscape of the hotel was so confusing. No signs anywhere and it was like a labyrinth of walkways and leaves. There were these faux mini ponds that were covered in leaves and were so pitiful and an eye sore :(

And if you are expecting a continental breakfast or coffee etc while venturing the grounds in the morning.... NO such luck. I took the ferry over to city and brought back a great inexpensive breakfast at The Avacado Pitt. Cool place.

As for the room, the beds were very thin and poor quality for as much as the room cost BUT the view was nice and there was a small balcony.

Finally after only one night (that seemed like a week in a bad way) we took the FREE FERRY RIDE, which was great back to reality and we voted ourselves OFF the ISLAND.

When we were picked up by the people we stayed with the rest of the trip...... they were surprised we stayed there and we had many laughs.
This hotel has the potential to really be a special experience BUT they need much work. Organization of events, more/better accommodations, take better care of the landscaping.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianaTravelChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

We were at the Hotel on the Cay from Dec 12 - Dec 27. We had 1 1/2 days of clouds during our 15 day stay. So I would say our trip was a success. The beach is great because it is on a reef and there are no waves. The beach barbecue on Tuesday nights has good food and entertainment. We did the Gecko 4 wheeling excurtion. This was fun yet safe. Also, my husband went diving with Dive Experience for 10 days and really had a great time. The Christmas Boat Parade is so much fun to watch. All the boats are decorated with lights in a Christmas theme and they circle around the harbor. Zebo's and Rum Runrunners are our favorite restaurants. The food at Harbor Master Restaurant which is located on the beach at Hotel on the Cay is good. Great selection but you can only order food up to 4 PM but the bar is open later. Good breakfast & lunch.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christiansted hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
85 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
128 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,430 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Christiansted
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: $132 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing