We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Club Comanche(Christiansted)
$163
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix(Christiansted)(Great Value!)
$169
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holger Danske Hotel(Christiansted)
$116
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Buccaneer St Croix(Christiansted)
$299
$265
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,124
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveler rating
148
225
88
41
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
225
88
41
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate islandferry ridemain islandfree for hotel guestsferry servicest croixwater ferrysmall storesmall islandchristiansted boardwalkbeach barbecuesmall kitchenettefive star hotelbar restaurantrestaurants and shopshotel roomnice beach
Filter
Updating list...
441 - 446 of 525 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2010

This hotel is located on its own island!! Cool! That part along with the great views of the Christensted harbor made it seem suitable. The customer service on the phone was excellent and professional. They replied quickly to emails and allowed us to change our booking night when our flight arrived late. Booking was a breeze!

HOWEVER, as soon as we checked in we had to do an inventory checklist (the lobby requests this) of the items in the room including towels, kitchen items etc. I don't go on vacation to do what i do at home. As well, they had no shampoo in the rooms and didn't offer it at the hotel at all. If you are there for only one night, DON'T forget your shampoo, body soap and lotion. There are no backups in the rooms. They have a can opener, but no shampoo. HA!

We preceded to the beach for their FAMOUS TUESDAY NIGHT BBQ DINNER.... when we arrived the atmosphere was nothing but a crazy mess. It was an event that wasn't organized in any manner. The little staff they did have was so busy serving drinks to tables, that no one knew where to go and the line to pay for your buffet tickets was running into the buffet line/table. It was seat yourself (if you can find a spot....). It cost $23.50 per ticket and is worth it if you really eat at buffets. My husband and I really enjoyed the BBQ chicken, fish and ribs. That was a highlight for sure!! The side items were very bland and similar to food where I am from baked beans, potato salad, mac & cheese (that was good, who doesn't like mac & cheese?). I guess I was just hoping for some local flare. The desserts were cliche - which i don't like at all. Apple pie, German Choclate Cake, White and Chocolate Plain Cake.

The beach is small but has a great view of the boats/harbor. Didn't seem like a great beach for swimming and venturing out into the waters though.There may be another part that is beach, but I didn't find it........The landscape of the hotel was so confusing. No signs anywhere and it was like a labyrinth of walkways and leaves. There were these faux mini ponds that were covered in leaves and were so pitiful and an eye sore :(

And if you are expecting a continental breakfast or coffee etc while venturing the grounds in the morning.... NO such luck. I took the ferry over to city and brought back a great inexpensive breakfast at The Avacado Pitt. Cool place.

As for the room, the beds were very thin and poor quality for as much as the room cost BUT the view was nice and there was a small balcony.

Finally after only one night (that seemed like a week in a bad way) we took the FREE FERRY RIDE, which was great back to reality and we voted ourselves OFF the ISLAND.

When we were picked up by the people we stayed with the rest of the trip...... they were surprised we stayed there and we had many laughs.
This hotel has the potential to really be a special experience BUT they need much work. Organization of events, more/better accommodations, take better care of the landscaping.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianaTravelChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

We were at the Hotel on the Cay from Dec 12 - Dec 27. We had 1 1/2 days of clouds during our 15 day stay. So I would say our trip was a success. The beach is great because it is on a reef and there are no waves. The beach barbecue on Tuesday nights has good food and entertainment. We did the Gecko 4 wheeling excurtion. This was fun yet safe. Also, my husband went diving with Dive Experience for 10 days and really had a great time. The Christmas Boat Parade is so much fun to watch. All the boats are decorated with lights in a Christmas theme and they circle around the harbor. Zebo's and Rum Runrunners are our favorite restaurants. The food at Harbor Master Restaurant which is located on the beach at Hotel on the Cay is good. Great selection but you can only order food up to 4 PM but the bar is open later. Good breakfast & lunch.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

First off if you want a perfect place look elsewhere. If you’re looking for a good place with everything within walking distance, this is the place! Ten years ago, the management had all but ruined the hotel, but the last ten years, with good management, have been positive ones for the hotel and hopefully things will continue. The hotel staff, all was very friendly and helpful with anything. Room was cleaned every day. The restaurant had really good food. Sun bathing on the hotel beach, great Cruzan rum drinks being brought to you, get up and jump in the water for some snorkeling. You can't ask for anything better. A very quick ferry trip over to Christiansted you have more good food and shopping. I was looking for a place where a car did not have to be used and this was PREFECT!!! A 16 dollar taxi from the airport and your right in the middle of allot to do and see.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freedomrider30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We traveld with a group of 11 for a wedding. There was a child age 8 in the group. The wedding was picture perfect. We enjoyed everthing about this private island. The rooms need some work with A/C and Plumbing (nothing major) but they were cozy and clean. All rooms have a nice size kitchenette with micorwave, small fridge, sink, coffee maker and dishes. The food, pina coladas were the best, the short ferry boat ride to the island and Christainsted. Perfect location across from Christiansted, for great shopping, and restaurants. Some of our favorites were Rum Runners and Angry Mikes for food Ivys for ice cream and Soynas, IB Designs, Hot Heads, and Purpe Papaya for shopping and off course the Tues. Night All you can eat BBQ right at the Harbor Master Cafe Restaurant on Hotel on the Cay. The food was awesome and the entertainment was excellent. If you want to relax and don't want to eat out all the time on Sundays they shuttle you for a small charge to the grocery store so you buy food you can make your own sandwhiches and just enjoyed relaxing at the beach instead. Another couple staying at the Hotel who travel their regularly for many years told us it is the "Best Kept Secret" and we agree!! We relaxed at the beach on Hotel on the Cay every day and when the cruise ships came in you could escape to the pool for more privacy that is for quest only and also has a fabulous veiw of the ocean. We also enjoyed the Sweeny Island Safari tour and enjoyed the free shuttle on Friday to Divi Resort to go to the Casino. There was so much to do we weren't able to get everything in we wanted like a trip to Buck's Island or a ferry to St. Thomas and St. Johns. We snorkled right at Hotel on the Cay and rented pattle boats. The staff was very friendly and we made great friends during our stay and already miss them. My 8 year old daughter said it was one of her best vacations ever and can't wait to go back to swim in the ocean and snorkle. We are already talking about going back very soon!!! Also, if you are considering a destination wedding at St. Croix you will not be disappointed we used Seaside Weddings (Jeness) as our wedding coordinator and she was affordable and grea, never had to worry about anything!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rumofaisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

My husband and I got married here in June 2000. It was a beautiful wedding on the beach at sunset under the palm trees, truly storybook. Then my son got married in July of 2007 and we returned here for a visit. It truly is quaint, quiet, calming and very islandy. You have to take a small boat to get to the hotel. It's only a 3 minute ride to the island and it is self contained with a small outside bar, food, restrooms and watersports right on the beach. It is older and not updated so don't be surprised when you see the wooden slats in your door allowing the tradewinds to cool you at night. You don't need an air conditioner! There isn't anything other than this place on the island so it is isolated and I felt very safe. Enjoy the rum in every flavor!

Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RobinL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews