We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great Session !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel on the Cay
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
GreenLeadersBronze level
Graham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Another Great Session !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Our group of 4 older couples in their mid 60's just returned from our 4th 2 week golf trip at the HOTC, and were even more pleased than we were on previous trips. As usual, the whole staff was very congenial , while still being customer oriented. They have seemed to be in a continuous upgrading mode during all of our trips, but still took the time to fix those little quirks that will always pop up on a trip. The upgrades are very noticeable. The cleanliness, etc were more than what one would hope for when staying at a small hotel out on a small island.

This will likely always be our place to stay when visiting the island, and some of us are even considering purchasing timeshare units at the HOTC when they come available. None of us had any suggestions regarding how the staff could have improved things.

Room Tip: Most rooms have good views, but we like facing the beach on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikeslots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    212
    83
    36
    22
See reviews for
95
225
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our experience at HOTC was great. Being on the private island was an absolute luxury. We are timeshare owners, so we used RCI to book. Yes, the hotel could use some upgrades, but John is aware of that and is working on it. Bathrooms have all been updated. You won't find a more accommodating group of people! The views of Christiansted and the Caribbean are amazing! We met so many new friends! I'll map out the aspects of our trip and hope it helps you!

Beach - nice and clean. Plenty of chairs/umbrellas. Usually not very crowded at all. The water is amazing. It is the bluest water I have ever seen. The beach barbecue on Tuesday was fun - great food and entertainment.

Snorkeling - my first time ever and I am hooked. You have the convenience of using Michelle at Watersports which is located right at the hotel. She can even provide jet skis, kayaks, etc. We also did a Buck Island tour with Big Beard's. You have to do this. Andy and Michael are fabulous! You get a sailboat ride, snorkeling tour, lunch, and tons of fun in this day trip.

The water taxi crew were all amazing. They were always readily available to take you to the mainland. Very friendly and informative. Nice addition to staying at the hotel. You got the peace and quiet of being on your own little island, but you could be at a restaurant or pub in literally 3 minutes.

Restaurants - all very good. We ate at Rum Runners, Angry Nates, Harbor Master, Singh's, Savant, and Off the Wall in Cane Bay. A+ to everyone! Again, staff were so friendly.

Environment - we rented a Jeep, dropped the top, and just explored the island. They do drive on the left side of the road which was a change for us, but it was easily adjusted to. Point Udall is the easternmost point in the US with amazing shorelines. We encountered beer drinking pigs in the rainforest, beautiful Botanical Gardens, and the Cruzan Rum distillery was cool. We did Sweeny's Safari Tour - highly recommended. Andre and Ky were the best!

I could continue on for days about our experience in St. Croix. We will definitely be returning to this amazing island!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

I had a great time at Hotel on the Cay. The rooms are very nice--we had a great view of the bay and very clean, in spite of the challenges of managing a property in a humid climate surrounded by sand. The hotel grounds are undergoing a face-lift, and while the property is nice as-is, the upside potential is huge.

The staff were all very helpful, even when we needed special arrangements for a very early departure the day we left. I was initially concerned when I learned that the property was only accessible by ferry, but it wasn't a problem at all. The ferry-ride is brief and the operators keep it running non-stop, so what could have been a potential problem turned out to be a real plus.

The bar/restaurant located on the grounds (although not run by HOTC) was an added convenience. I would definitely hope to return someday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I agree with one review that the property has seen better days, but I also spent a fair amount of time talking with John, the general manager, and with his background in hospitality management and his vision for what it can become, I think good things are in store for HOTC.

The rooms were clean, and with tile floors it was really easy to handle sand/water/dive equipment. The rooms have a mini-fridge, microwave and toaster oven. The bathrooms have been renovated and were very nice.

The restaurant on the grounds is not owned by the hotel. The food was pretty good, but the servers ranged from friendly to surly. There was a huge beach barbecue one night (about $30), which was a lot of fun and the food there was great.

The water taxi was really convenient and the boat captains were very friendly. They were willing to drop us directly at the dock for our dive boat, which was really helpful. We never had to wait more than a few minutes for the taxi to pick us up at the hotel or at the city dock.

Can't say enough great things about John - he set us up with a Continental breakfast in one of the function rooms in the mornings, and he is a lot of fun to talk with. He has big plans for HOTC and with his know-how and experience, I think this could become a really good place to stay in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies, and the balcony will face either the town or the open water. If you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Su H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I spent 10 days at the Hotel on the Cay in March. I will give the positive things first. The beach is beautiful. Plenty of chairs and umbrellas. They have a bar with food, although we never tried their food because we ate out every night in town and had a rental car during the day, so we were out a lot. It really is the only beach in Christiansted and the views of the town are lovely. Snorkeling is great around the hotel. We saw lots of sea turtles, rays, starfish, and many colorful fish.
The hotel needs lots of updating!. Very old and bohemian. The large water fall in the front is a bit of an eyesore. Luckily when you are at the beach your back is to the hotel! The staff is friendly and accommodating. And although the hotel is old it is clean.
There are days when they bring cruise ship folks over to spend the day at the Hotel's beach. We were only there on one of those days but it was really terrible. At least 100 people showed up. We were told there were certain areas we could not sit on the beach because it was reserved for them. Also they brought large tent like cabanas to rent to the cruise ship guests. Set them up right in front of us and blocked our view of the ocean completely, even though we had already moved to a different area to accommodate the guests not staying at the hotel. We did complain to the manager and he took us to another spot on the beach and set up an umbrella for us. They should tell their hotel guests when booking of their policy to frequently sell excursions to cruise ships for their beach.
The water taxi that takes you to and from town was great. Ran every 10 minutes. It was very convenient.
Bottom line, we had a good vacation but if we went back to St. Croix would not stay at this hotel again. Since we had a rental car we would just stay a little out of Christiansted instead.

Room Tip: I think top floors have the best view. Facing Christiansted is a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShellRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

My best friend and I stayed at Hotel on the cay emerald point villa for two nights last week.The rooms were spotless. The villa provided a full kitchen, living room, dining area and a king sized bed room. There is also a gorgeous patio overlooking Christiansted harbor, absolutely stunning!! The villa is a great choice for those who want some rest & relaxation, or for a couple on their honeymoon.

We had a massage on site provided by terry and Michael of beach massage & bodywork delivered. (340) 513-8440 or www.stcroixbeachmassage.com. (Must call ahead to make reservation)

A special thank you to the staff: Jim from reservations, John the manager, all the front desk crew, Tom in maintenance who helped us pick tamarinds (fruit) from the tree! Everyone went above and beyond to make our experience special!!

The restaurant on site had great breakfast and lunch specials at decent prices. I highly recommend Kim's restaurant for dinner. Only a 5 minute walk from the harbor. Authentic local dishes, huge portions and great service!

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and stay in the villa, you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has seen better days, but the manager is energized and up grading is underway. The tile floors are perfect for divers because you can drag your wet gear to the balcony to dry. The manager set up a special continental breakfast for our early dive days. Shore dives right in front of the hotel were excellent. The room have kitchenettes with microwave, coffee maker and frig. The boat will take you to your dive dock if it's close enough. Overall, a great place for divers.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
2.3 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
8.6 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Property: Hotel on the Cay
Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Christiansted
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing