We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week at HOTC!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel on the Cay
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Christiansted
Delavan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great week at HOTC!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We just got back home from another great week at HOTC. This was our 5th visit and was the best ever. The hotel has been making improvements without losing it's charm. The beach was as good as ever and the landscaping looks amazing. The bathroom in our room has been completely remodeled and the room has new mattresses.

Room Tip: We prefer a room with a view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    194
    78
    36
    22
See reviews for
88
203
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had a wonderful time at HOTC!! The hotel is in need of some help on the grounds. The rooms were nothing to brag about but they were not trashy as some may have you believe. The AC worked as well as the small appliances. Nothing was "bad" during the whole trip!! We will be going back again. The people were very nice. We will be going back again. Mary from the shop by the dock is a fun lady to talk to.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vancer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We just spent a week at HOTC and absolutely loved it. We coordinated a taxi with the hotel, and they were waiting for us when we arrived. Stopped at the grocery store for some beer/water/snacks on the way, and were taken to the boat dock. Hopped the 90 second ferry to the island, captain was great (all week). Easy check in, up to our room, Suite #316 overlooking Christiansted Harbour. Truly beautiful! Unpacked, settled in and went to the bar for a beer, met some very friendly timeshare owners from New York. In the morning, I happened to be in the room when housekeeping came in, and she noticed the sofabed had been slept in. Our 24 year old daughter travelled with us. She kindly offered to put the full mattress on the sofabed so our daughter would have a more comfortable sleep. Extremely thoughtful! We enjoyed fishing off of the dock, snorkelling off shore, kayaking, steel drum band on Tuesday, and wonderful island music playing all afternoon. Very good food in the restaurant, and really friendly staff, from the lobby, to servers, bartenders, housekeeping, watersports, and the boat captains. Loved to see the pelicans, seagulls and egrets fly in and dive for the fish, Found an iguana on the hill and fed him a few maraschino cherries too. The water was crystal clear, the colors amazing. Loved watching the seaplane take off and land several times a day. The little shop on the island had bottled water, juices, pop, snacks and toiletries (no beer) and Mary who runs it is very friendly. The pool looked clean, but we enjoyed the ocean so much, we never went in. The beach was never crowded, and we felt extremely safe. Trips to Christiansted once or twice a day for shopping, drinks at Comanche Yachtless Club, and dinner at Rumrunners & Angry Nates were great too. Added bonus was Jump Up on Friday night! Never had to wait for the ferry more than a few minutes. I would recommend Hotel on the Cay to anyone. We didn't even venture further than Christiansted Harbour, we were so happy with our own little island!

Room Tip: We requested an upper floor overlooking Christiansted and had a gorgeous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank litw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

While the beach is okay and the view of historic Christiansted is good, one ought to think twice before booking or visiting this one. While the hotel/timeshare has been struggling with maintenance for years, they don't seem to be making much headway. Visitors must pay for the rental of lounge chairs for the beach. Visitors must pay $5 for the ferry trip to get there. The restaurant with marginal food has increased their price for a frozen drink to $10--highest price on the island. Have better luck booking or visiting another spot.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Basically the place is a run down dump. The room doors are basically screen doors with slats. The screens and slats were falling out and you can see into the rooms. It's like not even having a door on the room. Since there are no real doors you can hear every thing going on in the rooms as you pass by and all the noise outside when you are in the room. We stayed for 5 days and they never cleaned the room once, I had to retrieve clean towels myself. The facility has a large fountain system that is dry and falling apart. They also make you take an inventory of silverware and dishes on a check list as if you planned on stealing the sub par flatware. Sliding deck doors didn't close or lock which is an issue due to the crazy high crime rate. They also hit you with a $95 a week energy charge. Why not just put that in room rate and cut the deception. They only could find one room key for us we had to share. Last and worst thing are the beds. The bedding is all ripped and tattered. The mattresses are so old and are smashed flat with all the springs poking into you. I couldn't sleep at all and now my back is killing me. Do not waste your money coming here. I wish we hadn't.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CSaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Hello ADDICT,

Thank you for the review. The readers of Trip Advisor appreciate candid responses. However those that are misleading and inaccurate, such as yours from a new TA user, greatly diminish the reputation of the contributor.

We're quite surprised to learn about your concerns since they were never voiced to management. The false claims of bath towels, doors and fountains...to name a few...are a pity to read. It is noteworth to let readers know that you were advised of the energy surcharge at time of reservation. We would have appreciated the opportunity to dicuss your concerns ~in person rather than misleading readers in an attempt to gain retribution and compensation from the hotel.

As a NEW MEMBER of the TA community (under an anonymous handle), we wish you many successful reviews and appreciate the opportunity to be the FIRST to respond to your feedback. May all of your local travels there in your neighborhood area be enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Who ever their photographer was is great in the art of deceiving you. This place is incredibly run down, the staff is quite rude, with the exception of the ferry drivers. The rooms are severely bellow average, and we stayed a week in the " secluded " honeymoon sweet. The room is in a building shared by two other owners, who have apartment like attachments. The room was dirty, and really felt disgusting just laying in the bed. One a/c didn't work at all.. Of course during a heat spell, and we had to endure it dripping our entire time. The room made our quiet honeymoon on our own tropical island into an adventure everyday. That's fine except when your paying top dollar for privacy. We ended up having to move out of our room into a "sweet" which ended up being in better shape than the honeymoon, minus the rock hard full beds and tacky motel bedding. The people at the bar / restaurant were extremely rude... And lazy as all. Getting attitude for a drink or fruit bowl in the morning... Really had us feeling ready to go home. Outside the hotel our vacation was awesome, just please think twice.. Make that three times before ever considering this place.

Room Tip: Look at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I wanted a quick getaway and something different. I looked on line and found this place BIG BIG MISTAKE ! When we arrive it looked nothing like the website. The landscaping is horrible, the rooms are ancient and the island itself sucks. The restaurant closed at 5 and the bar closed at 7. When we finally arrived to our room it was hot. The air conditioner didn't work properly , so I tried the ceiling fan and I thought it was going to fall out of the ceiling. We tried to make the best of the situation by going to buy some food all to find out the fridge doesn't really work either.The lady at the front desk tried to help by offering another room. So I went to look at the room and it was crazy that she felt comfortable enough to show it. Needless to say we had planned to stay 5 days we checked out on the 2nd day !!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank only1deejai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello ,

Thank you for the review. The readers of Trip Advisor appreciate candid responses. However those that are misleading and inaccurate, such as yours, greatly diminish the reputation of the contributor. It is important to note that your original submission did violate TA guidelines.

We're sad that you made the decision to leave the hotel. A comprehensive review of your stay did not indicate a concern with what you mentioned. The thousands of guests that visit us each year enjoy the private island elegance. We would have appreciated the opportunity to dicuss your concerns ~in person rather than misleading readers in an attempt to gain retribution and compensation from the hotel.

As a NEW MEMBER of the TA community (under an anonymous handle), we wish you many successful reviews and appreciate the opportunity to be the FIRST to respond to your feedback. May all of your local travels there in your local area be enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
2.3 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Condominiums
Sugar Beach Condominiums
#5 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#7 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#11 of 15 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#1 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Property: Hotel on the Cay
Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing