We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Everything we were looking for in one location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel on the Cay
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything we were looking for in one location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

If you have decided on the not so touristy St. Croix than you are already in the right mindset for the Hotel on the Cay. While it might be a little rough around the edges, and I do mean a little, it has a beautiful little stretch if beach, with a local flavor bar right there including service at your lounge chair, nice rooms and great views. I was there off season in mid August so there was no crowd and I probably had the nicest room in the hotel so my experience may not have been typical, and I'm not looking for a staff falling all over me so the place was perfect. A two minute courtesy boat ride put me in Christianstead for shopping, bars and a moonlight cruise on a catamaran.
The photos on the Hotel's website are honest and be aware that the place has flaws, but some of the bad reviews are from people who needed to go to a more insular hotel on a more touristy island.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sfrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    201
    83
    36
    22
See reviews for
92
215
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have been staying at Hotel on the Cay for many years, and a lot of renovations have been done to improve the caliber of the hotel. While not a luxury hotel, it is a very nice affordable hotel. It is located on a private island off of Christiansted harbor, which is part of its charm. It is a 2-minute ferry ride into town and the ferry runs constantly until 1:00 am (and you can make arrangements at the front desk for a later ferry if you plan to return after that). Rooms are comfortable, every one has a private balcony with a view of the Caribbean or Christiansted harbor, and comes equipped with a small refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. It is the only hotel in Christiansted with a beach, which faces the harbor and is generally quiet. If you feel too lazy to go into town for breakfast or lunch or don't want to eat in your room, there is a restaurant right on the beach. Restaurant servers also circulate on the beach to see if you want drinks. On Tuesday nights, there is a beach barbecue with island entertainment (a stilt dancer, a fire eater and glass walker, and steel drum music), which is a lot of fun and the food is very good (chicken, ribs, fresh fish, salads, dessert). The hotel staff is very pleasant (it goes a long way if you are pleasant to them and begin a conversation with Good Morning or Good Afternoon!) Beach towels can be picked up in the front office. Several island tours also are offered through the hotel. We hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sheri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Me and my ole lady had a blast there last week...its affordable, clean and comfortable.....it is is not a 4 star place and this is reflective in the cost and that was just fine with us...it is a small 5 acre island off St Croix that has a 24/7 ferry that takes five minutes if that each way...one of the huge delights about the place!

The beach is fabulous and it has a great bar......the food is fabulous-get the Buffalo Omeltte.....and the staff is natives who operate on "Island Time"...the pace is slow:<)

If you are looking for a 4 star place then this place is not for you..if you like people and you are looking for a slow pace and affordable "Island Time" place then this is worth your while..not discounting the negative posts here but in my opine it is more from folks who got excited about an affordable place in the Caribbean and then got disappointed that it wasn't five star...St. Croix is the quiet island in the U.S. Virgin Island chain...and they like it this way:>)

Cheers
Paul Collyer
Somerville, Massachusetts

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The only reason I'm rating this hotel a Poor instead of Terrible is the view and beach. Location is good and this could be a magnificent hotel with renovations and a friendly staff. We checked in on Sat and had 2 towels to share between 3 guests and no beach towels available. The bed was also broken. Staff acted like it was just a bother for us to request towels or ask when the bed was going to be repaired. Sunday night I finally got beach towels at 10pm. Monday we finally received the 3 bath towels we needed. The only employees who even seemed to care were the water taxi drivers who were all very nice. We did a timeshare exchange there for 7 nights and were so disappointed we paid to relocate to another hotel on the island..where we had a wonderful remainder of our stay. Not sure how some are giving this hotel great ratings...unless they are the timeshare owners who do not want their property's trade value to go down. Oh and the room was full of tiny ants...

Room Tip: If there are any good rooms in this property, I would guess they are on the front facing the boardwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank robynb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello Robnb,

Thank you for the review. The readers of Trip Advisor appreciate candid responses. However those that are misleading and inaccurate, such as yours, greatly diminish the reputation of the contributor. It is important to note that your original submission did violate TA guidelines.

We're sad that you made the decision to leave the hotel. A comprehensive review of your stay did not indicate a concern with your bed. Additionally our front office is closed at 10pm, so I am unsure about your statement of getting towels at such a late hour. It is important to note that sugar ants are common in the Virgin Islands and are caused when food stuffs are left out in the room by guests such as yourself. The hotel guide that we place in each room clearly addresses this concern that could have easily been avoided. We would have appreciated the opportunity to dicuss your concerns ~in person rather than misleading readers in an attempt to gain retribution and compensation from RCI against the fantastic staff and management of the hotel.

As a new member of the TA community, we wish you many successful reviews and appreciate the opportunity to be the first to respond to your feedback. May all of your local travels there in Texas be enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was my husbands and I's second stay at Hotel on the Cay. Once for our honeymoon and this past week for our 5 year anniversary (July 19-28). The hotel has had quite a few renovations since the last stay. Our bathroom was one of the ones renovated and it is very nice. Its a large shower with a small lip to step over. New large flat screen. The thing about Hotel on the Cay is yes it could use some more renovations and ground work but youre not in St Croix to stay in the hotel. It was a place to sleep while enjoying the island! And I def would return to Hotel on the Cay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The only cool thing I can say about this hotel is that it is located on an island. Everything else needs to be renovated. Furniture and bathrooms are are about 40 years old.

The beach is not that great either.

On the other hand, staff is friendly and rooms are clean.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabyx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi Gabyx1,

Thanks for the review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and the unique Crucian hospitality. Indeed the bedding is new in the rooms as of this year as well as the new flat-panel HDTV you enjoyed while in the room. Over 60% of the bathrooms have been renovated with the rest planned to be finished by years end along with many other enhancements. We look forward to your next visit to our slice of island paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I went to St. Croix for my friend's wedding and bought the living social deal for 6 days. I wasn't sure what to expect since these deals can be a little questionable but since it was an awesome deal I really couldn't pass it up. I will have to say that the rooms are not what you would expect at a 5 star hotel but the views and location make up for it. It isn't a place where you would want to stay if you want to relax in your hotel room or order room service. It is an ideal hotel for people who want to experience the island. The rooms are a bit outdated. It isn't dirty but it isn't anything spectacular. I will have to say the only thing I was weary of was the dish soap that they provide the room with. I wasn't sure if it was supposed to be two colors or if the soap was just old. But that's my only real complaint about the room. The staff were friendly and helpful. we weren't sure how to get to the church for my friends wedding but our cleaning lady went around and asked other people for directions since she didn't really know herself which I thought was nice. The lady, Mary, at the gift shop was really helpful and gave us suggestions as what type of activities were going around the island. I really liked the fact that it was on it's own island and that our ferry was complimentary. Everything was in close proximity of the hotel so it was super convenient. You can head over to the boardwalk and eat at the restaurants around the waterfront OR walk down the street and go to local places. I had an overall excellent experience and the only reason why I gave it 4 stars was because I thought the hotel could be updated. This is an amazing location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mani986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christiansted hotels
2.3 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#6 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#11 of 14 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Property: Hotel on the Cay
Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Christiansted
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing