We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired timeshare - good beach location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel on the Cay
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tired timeshare - good beach location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The location, a tiny private island in the center of picturesque Christiansted harbour, and its white sandy beach are by far the best features of this shabby budget property. Other high marks go to the friendly and helpful staff that addressed all requests (including emergency repairs in the room!) in a timely and cheerful fashion, and to the complimentary boat shuttle that ferries guests between the island and the boardwalk on an on-going basis from dawn to late into the evening. I understand that it runs on demand after midnight but I didn’t test it.

In spite of some token attempts to upgrade (large flat panel TV hanging on the wall) my room was lost in a 1980’d time warp and worst for the wear. The faded draperies, torn bead and cracked ceramic tile flooring were clearly original to the place, as were the outmoded bathroom fixtures and dripping faucets. The small balcony had a lovely view of the harbour, but the ancient “sliding” glass doors were a struggle to pry open. While there was WiFi on the property, was only reliably operational around the reception area and on the roof terrace - although I did find a hotspot (more like lukewarm actually) in the corner next to the front door of my room.

The beach had a bar/restaurant, apparently a separate concession (you couldn’t charge to your room) with inconvenient daytime only opening hours, mediocre food and even worst service. However, it seemed a favorite spot with the locals who held jolly, high-decibel family/friends gatherings there.

By the way – I was not much impressed with Saint Croix overall. In a nutshell, if you are looking for more than reasonably priced, basic shelter and a decent beach for your Caribbean holiday, keep looking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globenomade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    212
    83
    37
    22
See reviews for
95
226
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
330 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I must make it clear from the beginning. Nothing wrong with the property. Very good rooms excellent location. BUT the bar closes at 5pm. No restaurant for dinner (breakfast opens at 07.30) and the reception starts at 08.00. A hotel in a private island whith a priveleged location after 5pm becomes merely a motel with only available coin machines for sodas and water. I will go again nevertheless not only for the location but because the island itself is a real "wildlife reserve" with birds and iguanas.

Room Tip: Every room is the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BIZAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks much for a great review. We've been working hard to earn the trust in TA members like yourself with continuous 'room renewals' and a focus on guest attention.

The on-site Harbormaster Restaurant is independently owned and operated apart from the hotel. They set their own operating hours, policies and prices. You will find a separate listing for them on TA where you can leave comments for others.

We appreciate your review and look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Maryland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

a short hop from Christiansted but on your own private beach-wonderful wild life-birds-iguanas-hermit crabs-and the ocean right at your feet
fresh flowers in the room were a wonderful surprise
beds very comfortable and the atmosphere was restful

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maryhonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We purchased a 4 night stay on LivingSocial and the value of the promo was worth what we paid. The island was cute and clean and we enjoyed the ferry rides to and from the cay to main island. I would recommend tourists to stay at Hotel on the Cay. We felt safe in our rooms and I liked being apart from the hustle and bustle on the boardwalk where the other hotels were located.

Restaurant food in St. Croix is outrageously priced, but the Hotel on the Cay has a small kitchenette so guests can store their own food, if wanted.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herrings2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

80's decor, outdated, rust on the wall, dirt on the walls, broken bathroom mirror. Overall dirty. Amazing location with allot of potential. But the rooms are horrendous! Staff was not friendly and could not be bothered. Water sport rental shop never open.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Johnmyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi John,

Thank you for your review and welcome to the Trip Advisor community. We're glad that you made your FIRST review and look forward to many more once your travel portfolio expands beyond St. Croix!

Our hotel offers an amazing private-island experience. Our staff promptly addresses concerns when brought to their attention. The soft goods were replaced in the rooms last year and many bathrooms have been renovated. The staff go out of their way to ensure satisfaction and offer a unique blend of Crucian hospitality.

Regarding the water sports rental facility, TA readers would appreciate a review under the proper location as St. Croix Watersports is independent of the hotel and sets their own prices and hours.

We appreciate your time and hope to read more great reviews in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel on the Cay was a wonderful place to stay. It provides a great view and depending on who is running the front desk - the service is good too.

HOWEVER: The boat travel to and from gets really annoying if you are there for an extended period of time (week or more). Most of the phones in the rooms cannot even make local calls. If you don't like critters in your room and/or beds - this isn't the place for you. There were a couple baby lizards and hermit crabs in our room at all times. The room we were in was a little run down and the bottom of the shower felt like it was about to fall through the floor. The Tuesday night buffet and show that they advertise - AVOID. It costs $30 for a buffet of really crappy bbq food and frozen grocery store cake slices. You can see the show without paying. The steel band, mocko jumbies, and fire breathing/glass eating man were OK enough to go see - although the real fun is just relaxing on the beach at night - so pretty. And the on site restaurant there - RIDICULOUSLY HIGH PRICES - especially for cocktails - WOW. and pigeons run a muck on the beach - you can't eat out there or you will have a swarm.

So stay at your own risk - or if you don't have any other options. If I were to go back - I definitely will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello Erica,

Thank you for the review. We're glad you made the most of your experience including regular journeys on our complimentary ferry boat. Guests enjoy the seclusion our island offers away from the bustle of Christiansted and apreciate the prompt service from our boat captains.

Regarding the restaurant, TA readers would be better informed if you would place your review under the proper location as the Harbormaster Restaurant is independent of the hotel and we do not set prices or activities there.

We wish you the best in your future local travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington D.C
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was my first trip to St. Croix and I loved it! While the hotel is a little dated it serves its purpose, is very clean, and has all of the necessities. The beach on the island is perfect with beach chairs and cabanas for guests and the beach bar there for any food or drink needs. There is also a water sports shop right on the island with decent prices (did some snorkeling myself). It is in a wonderful location, just a minute boat ride to Christiansted with all of the restaurants and shops on the boardwalk. My only suggestion is that they add a small store on the island the hotel is on, after midnight when the shuttle stops running to Christiansted you are pretty much screwed food and drink wise (except for the one soda machine in the hotel). Other than that it was a great stay and was an amazing vacation for me and my friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eagles0931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
2.3 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
8.6 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Property: Hotel on the Cay
Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Christiansted
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing