We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Stay”
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel on the Cay
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We purchased a 4 night stay on LivingSocial and the value of the promo was worth what we paid. The island was cute and clean and we enjoyed the ferry rides to and from the cay to main island. I would recommend tourists to stay at Hotel on the Cay. We felt safe in our rooms and I liked being apart from the hustle and bustle on the boardwalk where the other hotels were located.

Restaurant food in St. Croix is outrageously priced, but the Hotel on the Cay has a small kitchenette so guests can store their own food, if wanted.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herrings2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 500 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

80's decor, outdated, rust on the wall, dirt on the walls, broken bathroom mirror. Overall dirty. Amazing location with allot of potential. But the rooms are horrendous! Staff was not friendly and could not be bothered. Water sport rental shop never open.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Johnmyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hi John,

Thank you for your review and welcome to the Trip Advisor community. We're glad that you made your FIRST review and look forward to many more once your travel portfolio expands beyond St. Croix!

Our hotel offers an amazing private-island experience. Our staff promptly addresses concerns when brought to their attention. The soft goods were replaced in the rooms last year and many bathrooms have been renovated. The staff go out of their way to ensure satisfaction and offer a unique blend of Crucian hospitality.

Regarding the water sports rental facility, TA readers would appreciate a review under the proper location as St. Croix Watersports is independent of the hotel and sets their own prices and hours.

We appreciate your time and hope to read more great reviews in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel on the Cay was a wonderful place to stay. It provides a great view and depending on who is running the front desk - the service is good too.

HOWEVER: The boat travel to and from gets really annoying if you are there for an extended period of time (week or more). Most of the phones in the rooms cannot even make local calls. If you don't like critters in your room and/or beds - this isn't the place for you. There were a couple baby lizards and hermit crabs in our room at all times. The room we were in was a little run down and the bottom of the shower felt like it was about to fall through the floor. The Tuesday night buffet and show that they advertise - AVOID. It costs $30 for a buffet of really crappy bbq food and frozen grocery store cake slices. You can see the show without paying. The steel band, mocko jumbies, and fire breathing/glass eating man were OK enough to go see - although the real fun is just relaxing on the beach at night - so pretty. And the on site restaurant there - RIDICULOUSLY HIGH PRICES - especially for cocktails - WOW. and pigeons run a muck on the beach - you can't eat out there or you will have a swarm.

So stay at your own risk - or if you don't have any other options. If I were to go back - I definitely will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricaH886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hello Erica,

Thank you for the review. We're glad you made the most of your experience including regular journeys on our complimentary ferry boat. Guests enjoy the seclusion our island offers away from the bustle of Christiansted and apreciate the prompt service from our boat captains.

Regarding the restaurant, TA readers would be better informed if you would place your review under the proper location as the Harbormaster Restaurant is independent of the hotel and we do not set prices or activities there.

We wish you the best in your future local travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was my first trip to St. Croix and I loved it! While the hotel is a little dated it serves its purpose, is very clean, and has all of the necessities. The beach on the island is perfect with beach chairs and cabanas for guests and the beach bar there for any food or drink needs. There is also a water sports shop right on the island with decent prices (did some snorkeling myself). It is in a wonderful location, just a minute boat ride to Christiansted with all of the restaurants and shops on the boardwalk. My only suggestion is that they add a small store on the island the hotel is on, after midnight when the shuttle stops running to Christiansted you are pretty much screwed food and drink wise (except for the one soda machine in the hotel). Other than that it was a great stay and was an amazing vacation for me and my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eagles0931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I love this hotel - we go back every year, often with family or friends. It's casual and friendly, very affordable, with seriously exquisite views in every direction from every room we've ever stayed in. Gorgeous powder-fine white sand, awesome tropical drinks at the beachfront restaurant, lovely pool. If you want fine carpets, egyptian cotton sheets and room service, go elsewhere. If you want a true island experience, romantic panoramas, turquoise sea 1 minute from your room, midnight swims in the pool, amazing access to Christiansted and the best coconut-banana daiquiris in town, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want - sea view, or a view of the colonial-era town of Christiansted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Have been to St Croix twice in the past 3 years, stayed at the HOTC both times. We are staying there again with 3 other couples from last year, again next month. It is a little dated, but appears to have a serious renovation plan constantly taking place for the whole facility, and the improvements are obvious. Most of the people we've talked to think that is one of the best beaches on the island (people from the cruise ships rent transportation to come across the island , and pay the $4 dollar ferry ride out to the beach - no ferry cost for hotel guests).

The ferry ride is only about 500 ft and take about 4 minutes, so thats no big deal. You can have breakfast or lunch right at at a small restaurant on the little island, or take the ferry to more than a dozen good restaurants less than 2 blocks away, a number of them are right on the water.

Our friends & us think that it is one of the best lodging deals on the whole island.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a decent view, though some are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mikeslots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was our first trip to St Croix. The HOTC was recommended by some friends who had stayed there previously. It definitly was not a 4 or 5 star accommodation, but is was very enjoyable. It does need some work but it is right on the ocean and anyone with ocean side experience knows maintenance is a constant. The staff was great to us. Thank you Miss Sara for helping with our reservation that somehow ended up booked a month earlier. When we return this will definitely be the place we stay. gripes? It would be a little nicer if the HarborMaster Bar and Grill were open a little later say 9pm for the grill and 11pm for the bar? I also think the Hotel should manage the bar and grill and the water sport shop. It would be a lot handier for the guests if everything was managed under one roof.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MontanaIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christiansted hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
85 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.1 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#12 of 14 in Christiansted
128 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,430 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: $129 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing