We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A stay at the Cay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel on the Cay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel on the Cay
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Christiansted
GreenLeadersBronze level
Whitehall, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A stay at the Cay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was our first trip to St Croix. The HOTC was recommended by some friends who had stayed there previously. It definitly was not a 4 or 5 star accommodation, but is was very enjoyable. It does need some work but it is right on the ocean and anyone with ocean side experience knows maintenance is a constant. The staff was great to us. Thank you Miss Sara for helping with our reservation that somehow ended up booked a month earlier. When we return this will definitely be the place we stay. gripes? It would be a little nicer if the HarborMaster Bar and Grill were open a little later say 9pm for the grill and 11pm for the bar? I also think the Hotel should manage the bar and grill and the water sport shop. It would be a lot handier for the guests if everything was managed under one roof.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MontanaIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    199
    78
    36
    22
See reviews for
89
211
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

A nice day trip to the beach. The water was beautiful, the drinks were good and the food was very yummy. A nice relaxing day on the beach, a nice time swimming. A nice day out and the rum punch had some punch!

Room Tip: Was only a day trip
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I've been going to St. Croix for more than 30 years. Since the first time my wife and I stayed at Hotel on the Cay, we haven't stayed anywhere else. A few years ago, the hotel had some pretty major problems with maintenance, but in the last couple of years a lot of work has been done on the property and it's now in pretty decent shape. And the location is still unbeatable anywhere. Seriously, it's like staying on your own private island with a few friends. The beach is maintained every day and is really nice, you can snorkel right off the cay and see a lot of marine life you would usually have to take a boat to a reef to look at, and even though the building is old and the decor a bit dated, the bathrooms have just been remodeled and I have never found the rooms to be anything less than spotless. The staff even put fresh flowers in the room when they cleaned when we were there last week. I have never had any problem with the staff - they have always been friendly and helpful. I have to wonder what might have happened when others on here report rudeness .... maybe they were really the problem themselves? I agree that the restaurant on the cay leaves a bit to be desired, but if you are in a hurry, or want really cheap food, you should go to McDonald's instead of a restaurant on a private island right on the beach. And if you want "fancy" food, there is a lot of that available at several nearby restaurants just a very short ferry ride away. In fact, a lot of the food within easy walking distance in Christiansted would be right at home on some of the food network "challenge" shows - you will not go hungry. This is really NOT a 5 star hotel - there is no room service and you have to carry your own bags. But if you want to stay somewhere that is older (and less expensive...) with excellent scenery, excellent water sports right at hand, AND share a small island with some endangered species, this might be a good place for you to visit.

Room Tip: Unless you like a lot of stairs, avoid the "HM" building. It's right at the top of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeBlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have been vacationing in St. Croix for many years and prefer this island over the "tourist traps". St. Croix is less crowded yet offers many things to do and see - if that is what you're looking for. Having stayed in a variety of hotels on the island, we have found the Hotel of the Cay to be the IDEAL location. This hotel offers a beautiful beach and amazing views. It is also like being on your own private island and with acesss only by ferry, we find it to be very safe for the entire family. The rooms are comfortable but, an advantage is that each rooms has a small kitchenette which is very convenient for families. Since it is just a short (2 minute) ferry ride to downtown Christiansted, there is access to numerous restaurants and shops. We have found that there is really no need for a rental car when staying at the Hotel on the Cay. The Hotel on the Cay staff can arrange for airport pick-ups and drop-offs for a nominal fee. If you prefer to the tour island, Christainsted offers cabs; tours; and rental cars and we taken advantage of all of these alternatives. Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel facing east where you will have a view of the ocean and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jafrbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

It was our first trip to St. Croix and what a disappointment it was. It's such an amazingly beautiful place but the people are amongst the most rude I've seen and I've traveled the world. Unfortunately this did not stop at the hotel. From the time we checked in till check out the staff at this hotel was simply disgusting to us. The staff at the restaurant acted like we were inconveniencing them. "How dare us come here and spend our money and help the economy" seemed to be the attitude at this place. Our room was ok. At least the a/c worked. The day we checked out (check out is at 11) we decided to get some last minute rays by the beach (which is beautiful) we got to our room at 10:55 only to be yelled at by the housekeeper, literally yelled at, telling us check out was in 5 minutes. I was appalled we were out of the room by 11:10 this was incredible. I will say all the ferry captains were helpful nice and full of information. The lady at the guest shop was rude beyond belief. All in all this hotel is a great location on a beautiful beach but the treatment we received will unfortunately keep us from ever visiting this island again which is sad because after the refinery closed tourism is the main source of income.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Wil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello Wil R,

Thank you for the review. The readers of Trip Advisor appreciate candid responses. However those that are misleading and inaccurate, such as yours, greatly diminish the reputation of the contributor.

It is noteworthy to point out that your review of the Harbormaster Restaurant is not in the proper location. As they are operated independent of the hotel, readers would benefit from proper placement under their heading. In addition, we would have appreciated the opportunity to dicuss your concerns ~in person rather than misleading readers in an attempt to gain retribution against the fantastic staff and management of the hotel.

As a new member of the TA community, we wish you many successful reviews and appreciate the opportunity to be the first to respond to your feedback. May all of your local travels there in NYC be enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thorold
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Finally got a chance to write a review. My wife and I stayed at the cay from Dec/21/12 to Jan/6/13. It was the best vacation we had in a long long time. We had a great room. Top floor over looking the bay. Watched the Roseway sail in many a night. Room had a newly renovated bathroom. New mattress and was clean. Sure its not the Taj Mahal. But for the price. I used my points from my condo in Las Vegas through RCI. With the exchange fee and utility fee. My total cost was 760.00 for 14 nights. How can u beat that deal. The staff were very friendly. Treated me and my wife greatly. The grounds staff were great. The staff at the bar. Everybody. And Tom got me the best deal ever on fresh lobster. He's done a lot at this property to improve it. We met people who have had timeshares there for 20yrs. And said u cant beat it. And things are a lot better then they were. The best beach and only one. Great diving. All around loved it. Will we return? u bet we will. All those people who knock this place. Have had the good life to long. Remember it's the Hotel on the Cay. Not the Ritz Carlton.

Room Tip: Get the rooms over looking the bay. Not facing the beach. Never turned the ac on at all. Slept wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacmup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petrolia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is the only beach in Christiansted, so it is the best Hotel choice, in my opinion. It is as others have stated, a three star, that could use some sprucing up, but they are constantly working on it. It is clean and staff are friendly, the beach is very well kept and never too crowed. The 2 minute ferry service is always prompt and accommodating, not to mention very friendly. A few issues with room maintenance, but in a older hotel you can expect some issues, however more attention should be paid to the larger issues such as non functioning patio doors, or leaky air conditioners.
Overall we were very happy with our accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandD3903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christiansted hotels
2.3 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.2 mi away
Sugar Beach Condominiums
Sugar Beach Condominiums
#5 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#6 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Club Comanche
Club Comanche
#11 of 15 in Christiansted
3.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
#1 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel on the Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel on the Cay

Property: Hotel on the Cay
Address: Protestant Cay, Christiansted 00822, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Christiansted
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel on the Cay 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into an atmosphere of casual elegance during your visit to our inviting private island retreat. If your idea of a Caribbean vacation includes unforgettable sunsets, white sand beaches and the simple phrase “no problem,” this is the place for you! Hotel on the Cay offers you the best vacation value in the Caribbean. Located on a private cay in the Caribbean Sea, our 53 room resort provides for an unforgettable vacation experience that is ideal for couples, families and adventure seekers.Here guests can dine at our on-site restaurant, unwind with a refreshing swim in the pool, enjoy water sports at our activity center and explore the historical sights, eateries, shops and entertainment located on the boardwalk just minutes away by private complimentary boat. A quaint, pristine beach overlooks Christiansted Harbor’s beautiful boats, which makes for perfect photos at sunset. As the only beach in downtown Christiansted, you will enjoy swimming and snorkeling the amazing undersea world surrounding the cay.Hotel on the Cay will provide bountiful sunshine, bright turquoise seas teeming with life, refreshing trade winds and a place to lay your head at the end of each memorable day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel on the Cay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
On The Cay Christiansted
On The Cay Hotel
Hotel On The Cay St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing