We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Club Comanche(Christiansted)
$163
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix(Christiansted)(Great Value!)
$169
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holger Danske Hotel(Christiansted)
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Buccaneer St Croix(Christiansted)
$299
$265
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,124
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveler rating
148
225
88
41
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
225
88
41
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate islandferry ridemain islandfree for hotel guestsferry servicest croixwater ferrysmall storesmall islandchristiansted boardwalkbeach barbecuesmall kitchenettefive star hotelbar restaurantrestaurants and shopshotel roomnice beach
Filter
Updating list...
364 - 369 of 525 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We read the previous reviews and decided to take a chance on this hotel. We were pleased with the location and although going through some needed renovation, found our stay there to be very pleasant. The staff was always friendly and helpful! The beach very clean and had lovely views of the town and the Caribbean! Snorkeling was great, too. The ferry was easy and we never had to wait more than a few minutes at most to be picked up. If you want something fancy, look elsewhere, but if you want a great location and your own little beach, try this out! No one really goes here to stay in their room much, anyway, do they?!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in June. We do have THE PERFECT location here in Christiansted with the only in-town beach area where you can snorkel just feet from your hotel room! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I have been to this hotel oh, about 25 times. I was an owner there and found the conditions of ownership rediculous and actually gave it away to be done with the head aches and drama...boy was there drama ALL the time!
We have stayed at some of the most wonderful hotels in the world but this little island offers something special in very non elegant way. If you want a quiet vacation with the best beach, wonderful staff - say Hello to Sara at the front desk as she is a GEM! We miss the hotel and recommend it for people to go and visit but the ownership part I would never ever do EVER again. Things are different in the Carribean, that is for sure. As for all the reviews about the beach bar, I have found it to be wonderful with good food and excellent drinks served by Sandra! (Nothing fancy once again) Ask for her by name as she too makes the island adventure special. The rooms are nothing special and yes some of towels are worn thin and the air conditions makes some noise but my goodness, sit in the beach chair, smell the ocean breeze and enjoy a taste of nature at it's best! We will go back to see all of our friends some day. That's what you make there....friends in a beautiful location!

Room Tip: No fitness center or room service
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Loveagoodmeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The hotel was very nice. (undergoing daily spruce up and painting while we were there). The staff was helpful and pleasant. The rooms were clean and all of the appliances were in working order. The boat taxi was always available for a quick ride to town. We never waited more that 3 minutes for the ride.I would go back and also recommend this place to friends.

That being said, there was NO coffee provided in the room. IMO, if there is a coffee maker, there should be coffee!
Also, the beach bar/restaurant sucked. When you could get it, the food was bad. The waitstaff was awful and the prices were outrageous. Do yourself a favor and try any of the places in town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you have notice the positive improvements we are making to the property! Regarding the coffee, we do indeed offer complimentary coffee to all of our hotel guests. I'm sorry you missed out on the opportunity for our front desk staff to provide you with a few packs.

In regards to the on-site Harbourmaster Restaurant, it is completely owned and operated independent of the hotel by a private company. They set the standards, menu and pricing and I encourage you to provide feedback directly with them. As always and as you mentioned, the Christiansted Harbour area is filled with many great food options for guests to choose from.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We came to St Croix and we smitten by the thought of a private island. In deed this is a prized location with the only beach in the area but the hotel needs major updating. Our room had fist sized holes in the drywall and thick mold growing on the 2 a/c vents. The bathroom had tiles missing and mold. The sheets were so worn that you could see the matress stripes and see the brown stains on the pillows under the pillowcases. We asked for but were not granted a different room so we explored the beautiful island and dove with the group called S.C.U.B.A. who were super. The Jolly Roger with Mike was a great trip - Buck Island is a lovely maritime park - beach is super- and although there has been some damage to the elkhorn coral it was still a great trip.
Twin City coffee shop was great - We loved Kendricks and had many lunches at Rum Runners. The people were so friendly- Jump-up festival was a blast with street vendors and music. It was overall a lovely island and we will return.
PS I left my backpack in Rudy's taxi 5/5/12 and immediately called them through the help of an airport supervisor. Mrs Rudy demanded that I pay $10 to get my backpack back and though I already was offering her a tip she demanded that I go get $10 from my husband. This reflects very poorly on the taxi system.

Room Tip: Try the emerald suite
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cherie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelOnTheCay, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel on the Cay, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of our great island hotel. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed by the apparent condition of your room. Rest assured that we attempted to resolve the situation when you were at the property. The very small cosmetic holes were promptly fixed and caused by a bicycle from the triathlon a day earlier. Our front desk offered to move you to another room which you accepted. A member of our management team did verify the condition of the bathroom and were unable to locate the "thick mold" or falling tiles that you mentioned.

We wish you all the best in your future travels and do hope that you consider St. Croix again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Hotel on the Cay is nothing fancy or upscale. If you need that go somewhere else. BUT, it is our fav because we like laid back style. The private beach is fantastic and always feel safe being on our own island. The ferry ride is never a problem. Very easy access to shopping, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katherine1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews