We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Doesn't get much better than this!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Wow - what a relaxing break this trip turned out to be. We were greeted upon our arrival by such a friendly staff and general manager. Then went to our all inclusive suite in the west wing to find a large light and airy room. Treated ourselves to a sumptuous dinner on the upstairs balcony and that was just the first day of many. Quite romantic too!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (858)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 858 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2011

Stayed overnight at this hotel in early February 2011. I arrived late and needed to check out late. Everything was a hassle for me. The hotel staff was rude and not attentive to any of my needs. The rooms are old and dated and the beds were low to the floor and uncomfortable. Hotel location is a great distance from the airport. The casino located walking distance from the hotel is decent but don't expect to walk out a winner. No one in my group of 8 even broke even.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank autigers5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stayed at the Divi for a wedding for three nights after renting a condo at Gentle Winds for a week. All of us agreed we loved St Croix and the condo but hated the resort. The staff were rude and unhelpful. The front desk at chek in were incredibly rude. We requested ajoining rooms at the time of reservation and were told they could accomodate this reques. At check in they informed us that this woul dnot be possible despiote the resort hardly being occupied. We tried to rent a sailboat one afternoon and were told that the wheekls were missing and if we wanted to take it out we had to drag it to the beach ourselves among some other excuses until we were finally discouraged to not even bother. A nymber of times we witnessed staff arguing with each other and dont try to even get a drink at teh bar...it will take you hours. The pool was run down and there was no jucuzzi at the time. Overall just go to another resort with a better beach or rent a condo at Gentle Winds. We couldnt wait to get away fron the Divi.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yunker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We spent last week on St. Croix. That's the good news. The bad news is that we stayed at Divi. First, let me say that we DID NOT stay in the hotel portion, but rented a villa. The interior of the villa was quite nice and the housekeeper, Anne Marie, was kind and friendly. She and one waiter, Marlon, were the ONLY ones who were welcoming. The front desk staff were absolutely rude. There is no excuse for it.
The exterior of the buildings is peeling and the grounds were littered. The septic system evidently broke down the second day we were there and contaminated the small villa swimming pool making it necessary to close it down. They worked on the septic for days and on our last day, reopened the pool. We passed on using it. It appears that the resort is somehow on its way down. It had a shabby feel.
We ate in the restaurant (there's only one ....other than a pizza gazebo in the parking lot (no kidding....it's behind the hotel across the parking lot) twice. The food was mediocre at best and poor at worst. In addition, it was overpriced. We understand that as of January 7th the Divi hotel part is now an all inclusive. What a joke. You can find many other resorts that offer a better experience and location for the money.
We rented a jeep and spent our days on other beaches and exploring the island. Our favorite beaches were at Cane Bay and at the Renaissance Carambola Beach Resort. Both are public access beaches with restaurants and delicious food. (I should mention that the staff at Carambola were WONDERFUL!!! They welcomed us even though we weren't even staying there!!! Even gave us tips on where to snorkle, etc.)
In short, the Divi is at the bottom of my recommendation list for many reasons, but the biggest reason would be that you won't feel like a welcomed guest, but a burden and a bother.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We recently had our wedding at the Divi and stayed there for our honeymoon. All of our guests stayed at the Divi too. I'm so glad we selected the Divi!

Everyone there is so friendly and helpful - and even went above and beyond to help compensate for the incredibly poor service we were getting from another vendor we were using for our wedding (that vendor was not associated with the Divi). Patti, the events coordinator was WONDERFUL! We had to do some improvising to our original plans and have our wedding on a different day because of bad weather, and Patti was gracious, flexible, and did whatever she could to ensure it went off beautifully and without a hitch - including coming in on her day off. It was pretty stressful to need to swiftly adjust all of our plans and coordinate with everyone to do it. Divi helped us pull it off seemlessly. Patti helped us so much and even though things weren't as planned, it all ended up working out beautifully and for the best. Without Patti's help, I am sure it would not have ended up the way it did!

Ann Downes was a huge help for us too - from the original planning to ensuring everyone associated with the wedding was taken care of with their rooms.

We truly enjoyed all of the staff there who were so hospitable and kind while we were at the Divi, from housekeeping to the front desk. They even stored our wedding cake for us so we could continue to enjoy it many nights in a row! We had a suite, which was also wonderful - incredibly spacious and perfect for our stay. I highly recommend the suite to anyone who might want a little more space in their room.

We stayed there before it became all inclusive, so I can't speak to that part. I can say we really enjoyed the food - it was very good! All of our guests were very complimentary of the food at the reception as well as during their stay.

There are a wide variety of things to do on the island. As others have mentioned, it's not as commercial as some of the other islands, but not pretentious either. We toured a good bit of the island and loved every bit of it. It was a quick 10 days and we were sad to leave.

I am so glad we were at Divi, and so were our guests! If you are considering having your wedding there, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familsunandfunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

This place was very overpriced for the value delivered. The location and scenery was great, but the food, seervice, and quality of the facility was very substandard. The staff was very pleasant, but they were quite unprofessional and did not seem to have the capacity to answer simple questions.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariottib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We recently had a family reunion in St. Croix and used Divi. First of all the location is beautiful (especially this time of the year) - right on beach, can hear ocean while sleeping. Also has a pretty nice reef where you can take a guided snorkeling tour (gear right at hotel beach). For advanced scuba divers, there's a service that will take you to "the wall" at Cane Bay (1 of the best spots in Caribbean). Everyone from the cleaning service, waiters & front desk were super nice & considerate (food was good too). We also had a large party in the Starlite Room - which was decorated & hosted beautifully! Our entire group had so much fun - from age 1 to 88! Can't thank Divi enough!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachnut07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
7.6 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
217 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
6.4 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
85 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,430 reviews
15.0 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Address: 5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820-4548, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range: $297 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience St Croix's only All Inclusive! The Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort and Casino is a lively retreat nestled on a secluded shore in the beautiful island of St. Croix. Modern beachfront guestrooms, poolside dining, hammocks by the shore, live entertainment; your home for Family, Food and Fun …- it’s All Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Hotel Christiansted
Divi Carina Bay Hotel
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing