We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing vacation at Divi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Relaxing vacation at Divi”
Reviewed February 20, 2006

Compared to other caribbean destinations we have liked better, St. Croix was about a 3 on a scale of 1-5.

However, St. Croix was really nice. We made a mistake and did not rent a car ahead of time and there were none available the entire time we were there. No biggie. But.... this would be helpful for future travelers.

The Divi was very nice and clean. We were able to charge any meals and drinks to our room so we didn't have to walk around with a bunch of cash. The meals were very good too at the resort.

Everyone was very nice and accommodating. The room was also nice. There were a few bugs in the room (not ants and not small roaches but something
size-wise in between). I had read about bugs on trip advisor but they were not bad for me since we like to go camping, we can deal with a few little bugs. The safe did not work in the room but we didn't want to fool with getting a new one and our stuff was just fine in the room. The hotel responded very quickly to our request that the safe was not working but....
it was the weekend and couldn't be fixed until Monday. There is a casino within 5 minutes walking distance of the Divi and we blew some money here. Oh well. Nice casino though. We did win some, but then lost some.

We went on an excursion - Big Beard - and it was a sailboat out to Buck Island. Very nice. The tour guides were fantastic. We used the hotel shuttle ($20 round trip for 2 people) down to Christanstead harbor. Not the best snorkeling we have ever seen but.... it was still fun. We saw our first school of baraccudas. EEEkkkkk......

The beach was nice but we have seen better. Shelling was more rocks than shells but if you looked hard, you could find some. The pool was nice. We swam a lot. It was cool but not too cold to get in. There was always a nice breeze while laying out. I guess it is the more windy side of the island.

The question we always ask ourselves is would we go here again - the answer is yes. We would. We have more destinations to explore and the Divi was definitely set apart from the rest of St. Croix, but... it was very relaxing and just what we wanted.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NC-Sunshine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    254
    138
    101
    62
See reviews for
191
362
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2006

After a brief 3 night stay at this resort, I can hoenstly say that the staff could care less about their guests when it comes to service ! They are more concerned with talking amongst eachother than taking care of their guests, (with the exception of housekeeping which is a whol different story).

When we arrived I had advised that we were celebrating our 20th anniversary and would appreciate a great room location.... well I guess in the eyes of the young lady checking us in, this meant a room with a view of the top of a tent from our balcony ! So.... back to the front desk the bellman goes and gets us in a higher floor room with a wonderful view !

Go to any restaurant and ecxpect to wait for at least 10 - 15 minutes before any of the staff (who have passed you by several times but not even asked if you needed anything) will approach you to offer you even a menu !

Go down to the towel area to turn in your nifty 3d grade mentality pool towel cards... and the staff look at you as if "What do you want" ??? Hello, I am holding this cherished plastic card so I can get my two deluxe (jokingly) beach towels ! Only to find out they have to go get some clean ones because the dirty ones from yesterday are filling all the hampers !

Go to the beach area.... it is nice, but watch out for cups, food plates, etc... that have been there for at least 2 days that we could tell....and still were there after our 3d day before departure !

Call room service..... they will then transfer you to aniother line who will say you need to contact room service after you have explained to them that that is who you originally called..... let the games begin... forget it, I will just walk down and try to order the food !

Overall.... Customer Service is non exsistant at this resort. I am not a picky person and tried the friendly approach (and many times got a hello back)to the locals.

Will I be back..... NOPE !
Will I reccommend it to other family and friends....NOPE !

I can only hope that this company will look closely at some of the reviews and guest surveys they recieve (oh yes, forgot to mention that they had a survey in the room for us to fill out, but oh no... nothing to write with provided !)and perhaps have a staff meeting to include importance of "CUSTOMER SERVICE" to keep the rooms full (which apparently was not the case when we stayed as it looked like they were not at even 50% capacity !).

A Very DisSatisfied Traveller from Ga.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TravelAngel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Christiansted hotels

Royal Oak
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2006

The Divi is the best place on the island for the sun. But if you expect to be pampered like you're a VIP, or think that everything stateside should also be available at you beck and call it's not for you.

I've been to the Divi 8 times and th St Croix 11. If you're rude and pushy, you will be treated like the jerk that you are. One review I read (writer from NYC) said he saw rats. What they probably saw was a mongoose. It'd be like staying in a cabin and said you saw a squirrel.

The Divi is not perfect but if you don't adopt an "island attitude", the workers will go out of their way to annoy the crap out of you. Make eye contact and say hello to every worker you pass by and they will remember you.

If you don't rent a car, you may not have a good time at the Divi. You'll feel held captive with a limited menu and limited activities, unless you want to rent multiple taxis daily. Nobody thinks twice about taiking 30 minutes to get somewhere in a big city, so why does the 15 minutes it takes to go from the secluded Divi to the main city of Christiansted cause such a beef?

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank thoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2006

I stayed with 3 other friends at Divi Carina after having to cancel because of awful rooms/attitudes at Chenay Bay beach resort. The staff is respecful, accommodating, rooms were clean, although ants would pop up every once in a while. The time of year was perfect, we practically had the beach to ourselves. This is not a luxury resort, the food is good, they could use a better bartender(s) but overall it was clean, comfortable and provides for relaxation. A bit far from the town (25 minutes) best to rent a car. Having beach front is the best! I would definitely return and am looking into a tme share there.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Diaspora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 10, 2006

We also stayed at the Divi,, and couldnt believe how awful the service was,,the workers at the front desk would just stand there all day,,the waiting time for breakfast was a joke,,it took us over an hour to recieve a regular breakfast that was usually cold,,there was no night life at all in the resort,,no music playing,,nothing at all,,the bar wasnt even open???? we had to complain and finally saw what looked like a manager appear on our last day there,,, the place is beautiful but the service is non existant....

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2005

Unlike the other reviewers, we found the staff to be very friendly and accomodating. We arrived over 4 hours before the check in time, but we were told that they could have a room ready "shortly". Having travelled to the Caribbean before, I assumed "shortly" was in Carribbean time - which could be up to a few hours. A half hour later the check-in clerk came to find us to tell us that our room was ready. That was our first experience with the staff and it certainly did not go down hill from there. All, except for a bartender who did not want to stay at his post, were friendly, courteous and helpful.
As for the roaches.... I never saw one in the room or in the indoor restaurant. The reception area is in an open air foyer, so creatures should not be a surprise.
One extra bonus is free internet in the main lobby and downstairs in the cafe (4 computers). The casino is across the street and small but fun. They pack a lot of gaming into that small space!
The resort is out of the way, but nothing is very far away on the island - I suggest renting a car to get you around at $40 a day it's much more economical that paying for a cab to take you around (Centerline car rental will drop the car at Divi and you can drop off at the airport).
This resort is quiet and really isn't for the avid partier, unless you are fine trekking into Christiansted for the evening (about 20 minutes away).

Personally, I can't wait to go back and am so glad that I found this little piece of heaven!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank heffmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 18, 2005

My husband and I visited St. Croix for our ten year wedding anniversary. We could not have picked a more perfect place to stay. The Divi was private, yet offered all of the amenities one could want to create a relaxing experience. The room was clean, as was the entire facility. The staff was friendly and curteous. The shuttle service was great (though it should run later in the evening). We can't wait to go back with our children. The Divi was great!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
4.5 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
6.4 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
483 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#8 of 14 in Christiansted
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
60 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,338 reviews
15.0 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Property: Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Address: 5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820-4548, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience St Croix's only All Inclusive! The Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort and Casino is a lively retreat nestled on a secluded shore in the beautiful island of St. Croix. Modern beachfront guestrooms, poolside dining, hammocks by the shore, live entertainment; your home for Family, Food and Fun …- it’s All Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Hotel Christiansted
Divi Carina Bay Hotel
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing