We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our family, needs some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for our family, needs some TLC”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

With some TLC, Divi can be a jewel. But we still had a TERRIFIC time and the kids want to return soon! Great location on the east end of STX, right on the beach. Shout outs and thanks to Curt, Scott, and Marlon at Dockside Café and Bar; David at East End Pizza; Robert in Activities; Edmond in the lobby; and our daily room-service lady (didn’t get a name, Room 262, Mar 24-31). Desk staff seemed a little lost at times, but Courtney was a great help when we arrived. Food ranged from very average (bananas at breakfast, please) to very good (Italian and Caribbean nights, East End Pizza); Star Rox dinner is gimmicky and too much effort (the 9-year-old said, “I’m on vacation; I want to relax”). A great mix of friendly guests: families, singles, couples, nationalities. Property maintenance is an issue; everything seems to be wearing out: room fixtures (sinks, ceiling fans), pool deck (broken tiles), mini golf (though it’s a great layout). Divi is not a 5-star, but it’s a very comfortable easy-going resort that has a lot going for it. Temper your expectations and you’ll have a terrific time, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your vacation and for recognizing the hard work of our staff. We are continuously upgrading various areas of the resort, albeit a bit slowly and appreciate your observations. We're glad that this did not take away from the time you spent with us.

Thanks again for sharing your review. Don't take too long to return to St. Croix!

Sincerely,
EC, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    254
    139
    103
    65
See reviews for
192
365
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christiansted, St Croix, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My family and I live on St Croix and finally decided to get away for the weekend at Divi Carina with some extended family that were visiting the island. One of the visiting party is handicapped and wheelchair bound and we had some teen and preteen children in our group.
Everyone had a fantastic time. The rooms were very nicely appointed and clean. The beds were comfortable. The 2 pools were nice and saw much of both kids and adults.
We spent time on the beach and participating in water sports.
The included buffet breakfast was also a big hit with everyone. Food was great.
All in all, we had a wonderful weekend and would stay there again for sure.
Thanks Very Much

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor above the watersports shack and loved the rooms and location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review of your staycation! We're glad to hear that we were able to meet the needs of your family. We understand how difficult it could be traveling with such a diverse group, especially with someone who has special needs. We try to ensure that special needs persons have accommodations that allows them to have a spectacular time along with the rest of their group.

We try to bring a bit of the island's culture into the resort and that you guys decided to stay with us lets us know we are on the right track. Thanks again for posting.

Sincerely,
EC, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

All in all it was a great 30th Wedding Anniversary vacation for us. Our room and the whole resort is very very clean. The staff is friendly and the bartenders, Chris, Joel and Scott are the best! They really hustle and have really pleasant, fun attitudes. Special thanks to food server named Marion who was very friendly and accommodating.
David at the pizza shack is awesome! Friendly, fun guy who takes pride in his food. The pizza and salads are really delicious! There are a lot of people that were very pleasant and helpful to us but we can’t remember their names.

There were more pros than cons for us. (what we would have liked is clearer directions on how, what, where and when to do things at the resort. The first day was a bit confusing) Don't be afraid to ask questions at the front desk, they are very helpful and willing to assist you in any way. We had to take our luggage up to 3rd floor ourselves because no one informed us that a bell hop could have done that for us. Also it would be nice if the staff would communicate with the guests that if they do not wish to eat at the buffet that night, they have other options from the kitchen if available.

There were only a few things that really disappointed us.
We were there to celebrate our 30th anniversary. Our travel agent had informed them, it was on our paperwork, so it was a bit surprising when none of the staff even mentioned anything to us. We didnt expect anything but a "Happy Anniversary" would have been nice to hear.
The safe in our room was broken. The bell hop came to look at it and informed us that he would be back with another one. We waited almost 2 hours. Not a word. We really didn’t want to have to carry our money around with us but we didn’t want to waste our precious vacation time waiting around in the room so we went out by the pool. When we returned we noticed we had another safe but that one wasn’t working either. We called the front desk and I asked for a lock box. The girl (don’t remember her name) at the front desk was very nice and said she will personally take care of getting the forms for us to get a lock box. We never heard from her again. We decided to just forget about it. We didn’t want to be aggravated.
One of the reasons I chose this resort was because they offer an on site spa. I tried to make reservations for a hot stone massage and was basically given the run around. I was asked when I would like the service because they travel around to other resorts. I told the lady that I would be there for a week and whenever they can do it would be fine. She acted like she would really have to go out of her way to get someone there and I asked why because the hot stone massage is listed right on their menu. Again, I decided to “just forget it”. By the time I got off the phone with her I just didn’t want to do it anymore. Seemed like too much of a hassle. I met some ladies out by the pool and they also were very disappointed that they made it very hard to experience any spa services. We felt the advertisement for Spa Treatments is a gimmick.
They also offer a Hammock area near the beach which my husband would have loved to have taken advantage of . The brochure showed several hammocks-the pamphlet in the hotel room said to relax with a drink in a hammock. We went out to the Hammock area and saw only one hammock. Another couple was out there and the man went to sit in the hammock and it slid all the way down to the ground. So much for that. Again, we are easy going people and decided to just “forget it”
Everything else was very enjoyable, the people, the views the entertainment and the Island is an amazing place to experience. In order to really enjoy your stay at the Divi Carina, you must be flexible and understand when you go all inclusive that you are not going to get the food served to you as you would in a 5 star Hotel.
Also if you are not planning to rent a car, be aware that getting around the island is time consuming and make sure you plan your excursions ahead of time. It is difficult to do multiple excursions in one day if you are relying on the shuttles.

We will defiantly return to this resort and we are sure the first couple of days we are there will be much smoother because of what we learned.

Thank you Divi Carina Staff for a very relaxing wonderful vacation! Hope to see you again next year!

Room Tip: The quieter areas are behind building #2. We stayed on 3rd floor and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb316400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We're so sorry to hear that we missed celebrating your Anniversary with you. Nonetheless we are glad that our staff and hospitality were able to change things around and that things did not set you back from enjoying the time that you spent with us.

Thank you for sharing a review of the time you spent with us. We try to make each trip a special one and are glad to hear that you took away some spectacular memories. We are reviewing several areas of our services and property for improvement. Your comments let us know what we are doing right and where we could use some additional work.

Thanks again for posting and we hope to share your next anniversary celebration with you!

Sincerely,
EC, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a great time at this resort. The people are so friendly & helpful. The bartenders & waitstaff
are always happy to see you. Beach & pool areas are nice, always chairs available. The food is good although the all inclusive takes a little getting used to. The casino is very nice & the entertainment was top notch while we were there. If we go back to St Croix, we will book at Divi Carina.

Room Tip: the newer rooms are farthest away from the lobby. They have a couple of suites that are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us. Though brief, you were able to capture all the things that make Divi Carina a place that so many others love, including yourself. As a resort dedicated to customer service, we are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

Thanks again for sharing your review. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
EC, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing vacation with great food and friendly service, this is the place to go. From the moment my mother, brother and I walked into the lobby we never had to wait for anything. I am used to larger resorts which may have more nightlife but the downside is having to deal with hundreds of more people, lines, screaming children, noise at all hours and aweful food. Divi St. Croix has been the most relaxing and comfortable vacation I have been on in quite some time. The food here is excellent, especially their seafood! the rooms are spacious bright and are all facing the ocean and beachfront. This resort has a gorgeous island feel with the white and blue scheme in the lobby. There are huge windows and french doors everywhere so even when are inside you do not actually feel like you are. There are a lot of watersports that are included such as kayaking and scuba. I felt at home while I was here and would definately adivise others to come. I wanted to also thank the managers on duty during the time we were there for personally checking on us to make sure we were enjoying ourselves and to see if there was anything more they could do to make us comfortable. Thanks also to Abel, Maurice, Curt, and the rest of the staff for your care and hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IreneHalaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with us! We’re always happy to hear from our guests and it certainly makes a different in the day for the members of our staff when they hear how great of a job they are doing.

The property is structured in a way to take advantage of all the beauty that surrounds it. By having large windows and open spaces, we allow for a natural flow of light and still a romantic setting at dinner where you could see the moonlit sky. We are honored that you took note of the layout and décor and found that it brought the Caribbean feel right to your room door.

Thanks again for sharing and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
EC, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We traveled as a couple for our honeymoon. We were a little nervous as the reviews that we read before hand were either really good or really bad. We happily are on the really good side. When we arrived we were greeted with smiles. Everyone was so friendly every single day! Our room was lovely and the view was breathtaking. We spent a day on Buck Island for snorkeling and had an amazing time, it was amazing. We also did the hike which was beautiful, our guide Elroy (aka Henry) was super nice. The East End pizza which we went to twice was the best time to be had. The workers there (David, Owen and Celina) were so great, and ladies David is very easy on the eyes! The pizza and salad were delicious! The drinks at the Divi are bottomless! I tried everything I could for the week that we were there! We spent most days at the beach which was gorgeous. I don't know the workers name but the guy who rakes the seaweed all morning is a saint. What a wonderful job he did everyday. If you are expecting a fast pace experience this is not the place to go. Everyone there is on island time and I loved it! The show that the resort puts on Thursday night is excellent. The dancers and the guys on stilts (sorry, forget the name) were fabulous! We had a wonderful evening that night. We would definitely go back and would recommend this resort. If I could only give one suggestion it would be to serve whole fruits. (bananas, apples, oranges). That is one thing I really missed. Thank you for a great vacation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MassachusettsBubba01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing a review of your stay with us and for choosing to celebrate the start of your lives together on St. Croix! Certainly sounds as though you had a fabulous time.

We’re glad to hear that you came down with an open mind and that we were able to help you create great memories while you were here. There are so many members of our staff that work really hard behind the scenes to make sure those on the front line can meet our hospitality standards. It’s great that you took the time out to recognize them as well.

Thanks again for sharing and hopefully we will be able to celebrate an anniversary with you guys!

Sincerely,
EC, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturtevant, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We arrived at the Divi rather nervous, as the reviews are so hot and cold -- some fantastic, some terrible. Maybe we were there on a slow week, or maybe they've turned some of the issues around, but we never experienced any of the issues that we anticipated based on the bad reviews. Servers were courteous and prompt enough (if you expect mainland-speed service anyplace on the island, you will be disappointed), bartenders Curt and Krys were competent and polite even when very busy. We never waited more than perhaps 5 minutes to be served at the bars. The food was good, even the buffets which we expected not to like. We were going to order off the menu at lunch one day, but the buffet looked so good that we ended up eating it anyways (and it was!). Breakfast was not wonderful, but comparable to any business-class hotel breakfast buffet. There's cereal, breads and yogurt if the hot items are looking a little sad. I also saw people requesting eggs to order, though I never did. One thing that I think made a big difference in our dining experiences was taking the first seating for dinner every evening. The servers and bartenders were not as swamped, buffets very fresh and full, and service great - plus, this tended to put us front and center for the evening entertainment, which happens around the first dinner seating. We went to the pizza shack twice and enjoyed it very much. The crust is among the best pizza crusts I've ever had (and that's what makes a pizza, in my opinion), and the staff were friendly and made great, strong drinks. I also wanted to give some praise to the young men in the dining rooms who I never got the names of, but kept water glasses full, plates cleared, were very polite and seemed the unsung heroes of the food service department.
Our room was in the older building, near the lobby. It looked its age, certainly, with some scuff marks on the walls and floors and peeling paint on the corners, but that did not bother us. It was large, clean and comfortable, tastefully decorated, and our view from the balcony - we were on the second floor directly above the pier - washed away any minor issues with the age of the room. The sliding glass doors DO stick, so be very careful closing them while outside. I imagine the toll that the sea air takes on the metal tracks has something to do with that. Maintaining a property so close to the water is a major challenge, and the Divi does the very best they can with it. I saw maintenance staff working all day, every day, cleaning the beach and repairing issues around the property, so I don't understand the complaints that there is insufficient attention to maintenance. That is untrue.
The beach was good for lounging, and there is actually some good snorkeling to be had once you get past the very grassy areas (the bright blue, sand-bottom area past the pier was covered in big red starfish, conch, parrotfish, and many other fish). The activities staff were excellent and recommended some off-the-resort snorkeling spots for us, too. We were able to take the equipment with us on a hike to Isaac's Bay, which is simply gorgeous, though we realized when we completed the hike down that it was much too windy to snorkel that day. The water at the Divi beach, though, is very rocky and grassy, and not especially clear. Swimming was not the greatest, though we certainly still did it and enjoyed ourselves. The water is calm, though, and would be excellent for kids. We found wonderful beaches not far from the property where we preferred to spend our swimming time.
That brings me to my next point: rent. a. car. We originally planned not to, and I am so very glad that we changed our minds. Driving on the left side is not really a huge adjustment, and the drivers on St. Croix are very courteous and generally cautious drivers. The Divi is a great resort, and served as a good home base. We ate all but one meal there, lounged on the beach, partook in more than our fair share of rum drinks, and felt very safe walking the beach and grounds after dark, which is generally not a good idea in more populated areas (in any place, not just St Croix in particular). However, the island is so very beautiful and rich in history, and there are so many awesome experiences to be had away from the resort (SNUBA!) that it would have been a shame to have missed them all. I am sure that some people have great vacations and never leave Divi at all, but I think I would have gotten bored and I know that I would have hated to miss out on all this amazing island has to offer. Because we ventured out every day for at least a few hours, we did not participate in many of the planned activities at the resort, but we saw a kayaking trip returning to the beach and they looked like they were having a great time! There were plenty of activities available for those who wish to do that on the resort, we simply preferred to explore on our own.
In conclusion, we adored St. Croix. It's beautiful and interesting and full of excellent people. We cannot wait to return, maybe with the kids this time (or maybe NOT!). The Divi was a very important piece of making our trip great, and I hope that the positivity outweighs the complainers and business continues to be healthy for them. It's a great little resort in a wonderful location, with an excellent staff and great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KristenM335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you so much for the well wishes and for noting our progress on keeping up with the property. We’re glad to hear that you did not allow the negative comments to derail you from experiencing all that Carina Bay and St. Croix has to offer.

By posting your review, you have given everyone at the resort a pat on the back for a job well done, especially those that do not normally get recognized for what they do. Comments like these that make a hectic day worth it too many.

Thanks again for sharing your thoughts and giving out kudos to everyone. We try to make everyone feel at home and welcomed to experience our culture. We’re happy to hear that we definitely made the mark with you.

Until we meet again…

EC, Manager on Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
4.5 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
6.4 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#4 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
15.0 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Property: Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Address: 5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820-4548, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience St Croix's only All Inclusive! The Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort and Casino is a lively retreat nestled on a secluded shore in the beautiful island of St. Croix. Modern beachfront guestrooms, poolside dining, hammocks by the shore, live entertainment; your home for Family, Food and Fun …- it’s All Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Hotwire, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Hotel Christiansted
Divi Carina Bay Hotel
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing