We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diva is for Divas- very special experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
SC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Diva is for Divas- very special experience”
Reviewed May 3, 2008

Beautiful rooms with bamboo floors and marble, blues and tourquoise decor, safe, sheers that blow in the wind and only about 15-20 feet from ocean so you get the breezes as well as the wonderful sounds of gentle waves. We left our balcony open at night for the ambiance. Staff OK, our maid wonderful, food
ok, location private and scenery gorgeous! Very laid back atmosphere, not crowed so you feel as though the beaches are yours. Seaweed and coarse sand on beaches so swimming uncomfortable but beautiful ocean veiws and beaches nontheless. I would go back so that is a compliment to the entire experience. I would recommend renting a car so you can go into the towns or to other restaurants. The Starlite Restaurant at Divi was good with over abundant amounts of food served at every meal, tasty but not 5 star. The Divi has entertainment provided almost everyday such as fire walks, crab races, managers cocktail party...
I really had a great time and the resort was part of the great experience.

  • Liked — Rooms and view
  • Disliked — front desk -cool attitude and almost had to beg them to wait on you or for directions
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wayvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    260
    142
    106
    66
See reviews for
197
374
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2008

My family and I visited the Divi in March.
I was disappointed to find that the Divi did not have a shuttle to and from the airport. The taxi service from the airport to the Divi is $12 a person. There is a set schedule for taxi service as you have probably read in prior reviews.
The hotel is nice because it is directly on the water so every room has a view as far as I know.
Do not expect to swim without sea grass. You will probably make it a few yards before you come upon it though. We still enjoyed the beach and the water is very pretty. There were an abundant number of lounges and huts were available. The sun is very strong...still peeling 2wks later --even used a sunblock 50 every day which is not my norm.
Visited Buck Island for snorkling which the hotel will call for you so you can schedule it with the company they use. I think it was $60 an adult. You will once again have to pay for a taxi to and from the hotel. Prices are fixed for the drive to town per person once again. I would recommend doing the snorkling.
Town consists of a couple of blocks of small shops. Cute but don't plan a day here or you will get bored quickly. We ate at Rumrunners which had good food but was just a small waterfront establishment.
I found the service at the hotel itself to be very good as well as the food. No they won't have you in and out like a fast food restaurant but they will certainly have you enjoy your meal in a timely manner. The prices weren't terrible. I have been to many islands and found the prices to be comparable. Unlike previous reviews the food was always hot and actually quite good. The employees are very helpful also.
This is not a hotel with frills. Everything is basic but nothing is bad as far as I was concerned except maybe the price per night was a little high for what we got.
Oh the water activities that are at the hotel all cost money---nothing is free at this hotel except on Monday night they have apps and rum drinks for a couple of hours which was nice.
So the basic thing I have to say is that it was an enjoyable vacation. If you are looking for lots to do then don't come here.We were on the island for 4 days and that was more than enough. There is only so much time you can spend in the sun and you will get a burn in the shade!
Oh, our cell phones stopped working as soon as we got on the road of the hotel which worked out fine! Some people did have access but obviously a different cell phone company.
Internet is available in main lobby. There are 2 computers that you can use--oh this is free of charge! They also have wireless access in the lobby.
This is a working island--not a tourist island like St Thomas.
We wanted quiet and that is what we got. We also did not have passports which is why we chose St Croix.
I'm glad we went but I am definately going to get our passports and go back to Turks and Caicos because that is our favorite island by far.

  • Liked — water view from room
  • Disliked — no shuttle service provided and not much to do--very far away from everthing even though there isn't much to do on the island
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank reneCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Divi Carina Bay Resort and Casino on the east end, is isolated and very nice and relaxing. Gasoline prices are low than in the states and one must rent a car, because taxi rides are too expensive to tour the beautiful Isle of St. Croix U.S. V.I.

While there, we were fortunate to be able to attend the ceremony for Danish/USA Turnover Holiday.

There are plenty water activities, including snorkeling right by the three coconut plam trees to the right of the Hotel, when facing the ocean. On Monday, The Divi Carina hosted a welcome cocktail party, at which we met a fun German couple, who’ve lived in Buffalo NY, since the mid-60’s.

We recommend the Divi Carina Bay Resort and Casino, The rooms are clean and furnished with a safe, microwave, sink and a small fridge. The casino across from the resort was entertaining and served tasty pizza. While playing the slots, we also won some spending money, which cam in very handy. To the Divi staff, Dankeschön! Wir hatten einen wunderbaren Urlaub. - spedew & imos, PA

  • Liked — Space, location and a fantastic view
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank petunia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

We tried a new island this year and loved it. The Divi Carina Bay is a little isolated, on the east end, but really nice, The staff was
helpful and the onsite dive shop was a big draw...the only problem was that all of the dive sites are kind of far away, and once again taxis are outrageously expensive. We rented a car the second day and couldn't have been happier. Even driving on the left was okay and we got to see al that we wanted on our
own schedule. The bartenders at Divi Carina gave great recommendations for local restaurants...all were terrific! there's
plenty to do on site(non-motorized water activities and a welcome
cocktail party one night), also a good place to snorkel...either
they'll take you out or show you the best sites. We'll definately go back to St. Croix, liked that it was less crowded and hectic than St. Thomas and if you like resorts, we drove around and checked out the others and were convinced that our choice of the Divi was the best. Also, if you like to gamble, there is a small casino across from the resort. We won!

  • Liked — The location and staff.
  • Disliked — The on-site restaurant was nothing special, we tried new places every night.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank outoftownerBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

We booked the "luxury" room, which we found out was in the new/renovated construction. The room was beautiful, with bamboo floors, blue tile, and a large balcony that was just steps from the water. Get accustomed to "island time" right away, because here, it gets done when it gets done, and not a moment sooner! But that's the point of vacation, right? While service is slow and the grille/coffee shop is rarely open, the poolside/beach bar seemed to be always open, albiet service is slow. But time doesn't matter in this beautiful setting. The food is fantastic, and very reasonably priced. Having travelled to many destinations, from New York, to Vegas, to Chicago, to London, I was quite stunned that the prices here were so reasonable, considering the location.

The beach: sand beach, but small, with sea grass close to the shore for most of the stretch. Water and currents too rough for good snorkeling. Take a buck island tour to get the best of that. Hammocks span palm trees, making for fantasy moments, taking in the sun and shade or the moonlight.

The toys: while someone was always on staff at the rental hut, we found that not much was functional. None of the sunfish sailboats were operable, nor were any of the wind surfing equipment, so we couldn't take advantage of those lessons or tours. You could rent a sit on top kayak if you wanted, but that was about it. Snorkel gear and scuba tours are available from the onsite dive shop.

The pool and hot tub: mostly cloudy and not inviting looking. But the bar and deck overlooking the sea were worth the trip.

The casino: definately not a vegas type casino. No penny slots, and the slots they had were older, three reel, single line play. Staff was friendly, if addressed directly, but all seemed to be a largely shy or subdued people. Mood was generally upbeat, but mostly from the patrons and not the staff.

Hotel staff: thorough, friendly when addressed directly, calm.

Overall, a wonderful stay, and exactly what I was looking for after a year of the corporate bustle. Rent a car to explore, and getting used to driving on the left side only takes a few minutes. Drive slowly, as the roads are largely unmarked and narrow, but the views are breathtaking and fulfilling. It was wonderful to visit this island and explore all of it, without the surf shops and tourists and airplanes pulling obnoxious banners over the beaches. A true island paradise, and Divi a wonderful home base.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Reld2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2008

Three night stay last month. Room clean but in need of paint -- and tile in shower in poor shape. Very difficult to get service at the outdoor bar ~ tried to order dinner twice(at the bar) and no wait staff visible for 1/2 hour. I finally walked into kitchen to find someone. Room service quite speedy, however. No shops or restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Liked — Location, Spa Massage(25 minute=$45)
  • Disliked — Bar Service
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pan-am-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2008

We have just returned from a week vacation in St. Croix and stayed at the Divi Carina Resort from 2/19-2/25. The resort is on the eatern tip of the island and it is very secluded especially during the winter break travel. Our room was facing the beautiful caribbean ocean and a view ot the breathtaking mountainside.
The entire stay was very relaxing despite having problem with our luggage in San Juan. We were treated with very friendly and very couteous staff especially the hardworking crew at the Dockside Cafe. I just have to mention Kevin Jackson (GM) for being a good hearted person. The food were very good and served in large portions. The beach were to die for , white sandy beach overlooking the blue caribbean ocean in a quiet relaxing atmosphere. Don't forget to bring a lot of suntan lotion since the sun is too hot just like in Hawaii. We have chosen this resort compare to other places for a real get away besides some bad reviews and guess what? Having to enjoy your entire vacation with at the Divi Carina Resort with your family is PRICELESS!

Helpful?
4 Thank 3beachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
7.6 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
214 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
6.4 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
80 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,406 reviews
15.0 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Property: Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Address: 5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820-4548, St. Croix
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience St Croix's only All Inclusive! The Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort and Casino is a lively retreat nestled on a secluded shore in the beautiful island of St. Croix. Modern beachfront guestrooms, poolside dining, hammocks by the shore, live entertainment; your home for Family, Food and Fun …- it’s All Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Hotel Christiansted
Divi Carina Bay Hotel
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing