We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Club Comanche(Christiansted)
$249
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel on the Cay(Christiansted)(Great Value!)
$247
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holger Danske Hotel(Christiansted)
$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Buccaneer St Croix(Christiansted)
$399
$284
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,091
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (858)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveler rating
277
262
144
107
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
262
144
107
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini golfbig alstarlite grillegift shopdriving rangest croixbuck islandoff seasonour honeymoonwater sportsrented a carthe general managerfire dancerslaid backnightly entertainmentmoko jumbieseast end of the island
Filter
Updating list...
445 - 450 of 858 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The first night we arrived at the Divi we were taken back because the resort is old and does need to be updated. Working in the hotel industry, I understand that there are some hotels in a portfolio that are due for renovation. However, the service was OUTSTANDING and made the difference for us! The staff handled our issues in a professional manner and they were always greeting us on a first name basis with a BIG smile. The rooms were clean and spacious and the housekeepers were very friendly. We left the resort loving the hotel and the staff and will be returning in a few years. A shout out to Etsy (Night Manager), Catesha in the restaurant (so sweet!), Marlin, Scott, Curt, and everyone else who served our family! THANK YOU for making our vacation memorable.
The Goldsmiths

Room Tip: If you are using a timeshare be sure to specify the bed type you need prior to check in.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tiffany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Hi Tiffany!

Glad our Crucian Hospitality really made the difference in your stay! You guys were truly a wonderful group that partied as well as relaxed and enjoyed the best of both worlds.

Thank you for the review of your time with us! We try to make sure that every guests feels welcomed and as much a part of the Divi Family as we are. We're happy to know that we achieved that with you guys.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and will be awaiting your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My boyfriend and I just took our first vacation together and spent 6 days at Divi on St Croix. We had a great time! The rooms are spacious and clean, slept great every night. The staff are all so friendly, we felt like we were staying with friends. They always greet you and want to hear about your day, what you have planned or what you did. They are great about adding little tidbits of island knowledge. When we arrived at the resort we were greeted right away by the person at the front desk, sorry, I didn't get her name, we were always too busy chatting! But she was there to greet us every morning when we came down for breakfast. She made us feel comfortable right away even though our room wasn't ready yet (we arrived early in the day and they were still cleaning). Between her during the day and E.C. at night we always felt at home. The food was delicious! We were never hungry as there was always something available to eat.The pizza at East End is a must! Sharon and the staff there will take good care of you. Sharon knows how to keep the party upbeat and fun and get people involved. The bartenders, Scott at Big Al's, and David at East End, were great at making new drinks to try. They figured out what you liked and just went from there. Thank you to all the staff, those I have already named, the gift shop ladies, the waitstaff, the cooks, etc. for making our stay so great!! Then there is the white sand beach, the water, all the activites and tours....wow....we can't wait to go back (plan to next year or sooner)!! It is a great place to make new friends, both in the staff and the other guests!! (Hello to Dana & Vince from Toronto!!)

Room Tip: We had a thrid floor room with a beautiful view!! If you want immediate beach access go with first floor, but if you want a gorgeous view, go higher up!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Mission accomplished!

Thank you for such a heartwarming review! We’re ecstatic to hear that you feel a part of our Divi Family and that the staff made a great impact on your stay! Seems like you tried just about everything Carina Bay has to offer and still had time to relax. As a resort dedicated to service, we are happy to know that everything we did during your stay with us certainly made a difference.

It was our pleasure spending time with you and we can’t wait for you to return. Thanks again for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

January 4th was our arrival date. 2:30 pm and my car was there waiting. We enjoyed free rum drinks at the airport and then drove to the Divi. Hugs from the staff was our welcome and Edmund provided fishing gear that I left with him a year ago. Mrs. Anne Downs, who works out all of our rooming issues was also there and we were delighted to see her again. Some new faces at the front desk and in the activity shack warmed up to us on the first handshake. Andreas, the General Manager, shared his time with us, giving us the past year's history and his views on many of Divi's issues. We met with Kevin Jackson on our second day. As always, he took very good care of us as he has done since we began coming here seven years ago. David, from the Pizza Restaurant also greeted us with cocktails. This was shaping up to be a memorable vacation. In the next fourteen days we ate fabulous foods, drank the world's best rum, visited the many free beaches, worked on our tans, fished for some of the world's best gamefish, went to the casino, which is here on the Divi property, shopped for gifts for our family and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I did spend an hour in the fitness room at 7:30 am, every day before going to breakfast in the Starlight Grill. We came to the Divi, fully prepared for wonderful vacation and we were not disappointed. Leaving this paradise to return home was hard. We just had to take some of the island life home with us to last until we set out on our next Divi vacation. Many Thanks to all of you who make our vacations at the Divi the best we've ever had.
Allen Williams and Family

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AllenWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

It was so great seeing you again this year! Thank you for the wonderful review of your stay with us. It's always an exciting moment when a guest returns and even better to know that we have met or exceeded the expectations of their last stay.

I remember the delight on your face when Edmond pulled out the fishing gear as well as when you were able to rekindle your friendship with so many staff around property. Seems that this year you had one fun filled adventure not just at the resort but around the island as well!

Thanks again for your spectacular review! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We love the USVI and wanted to visit St Croix as we previously visited St Thomas and St John. Staff at Divi are friendly, helpful and always smiling. We found the rooms to be clean and spacious and loved the view! The beach was ten steps from our terrace - a great spot to read, have a cocktail, or watch the sunrise or sunset. The food was excellent, good variety and the resort had different theme nights, which made it fun. We loved dining on the terrace by the pool, under the stars while the steel pan band played. The resort is quiet, not full of the hustle and bustle of larger resorts, but there are lots of activities to occupy if you wish. We rented a jeep for the week which offered us the opportunity to explore the entire island and not depend on the shuttle service and taxis. The hotel provided very detailed driving directions from the airport and there are excellent road signs - all good roads lead to Divi!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a main floor room - ten steps to the beach!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager on Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

We’re so happy to hear that you had a marvelous vacation and you were able to take advantage of all that St. Croix and Divi Carina Bay has to offer. Driving on the left can be difficult for visitors who are accustomed to driving on the right so we’re glad to hear that our directions as well as the Divi signs along the way were easy to follow.

Thank you for giving us a great review! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am shocked at any review above a 3 star. To start off, just getting from the airport to the resort was a task, ever heard of road signs?? Once there, we checked in to find a halfway clean room with a spectacular view, but since there were no screens on the sliding glass doors, you really couldn't enjoy the breeze or the sound of the ocean. Let alone the fact that the beach is not really private. I think when you go to an "all inclusive" you don;t expect it to be open to the public. An then when we got settled to find that nothings open the gift shop closes at 5:00 and it is the hub of all the "sign ups" for dinners, spas (which never opened) and tours, The "Dockside/Al's Bar" depending on what brochire you looked at was supposed to be open every day till 5:00, but Curt the "super bartender with ADD" would close whenever he wanted and Krys the great gal at the Starlite was just trying to keep up with the guests at the bar and food orders, but she could make one hell of a Tropical Delusion, as could Scott. Tateesha was a sweet server who tried to help at the bar when she could and would take care of us whenever she was able to.
All inclusive eating meant you only ate when they put the food out, you couldn't eat anytime you wanted unless you at the microwaved nachos, but then you had to get that from the only bartender in the resort.
Getting a shower took twice as long as it should have because we would be dodging the scorching or the freezing water the whole time,while trying to see in the shower,as it was very drab and dark. Three light bulbs out on the vanity, and shower curtain that looked like a "blackout curtain". Filth is the only word to use, and DO NOT look at the celing fans in the "dining hall", unless that's your idea of clean. Almost all of the activities that were UPDATED DAILY never happened????? Why not change your brochure? I understand things change, but they updated it EVERYDAY WITH THE WRONG INFORMATION!!!! Yoga, fire dancers, spa, manicures, NOTHING. The hermit crab races were amusing..if you're 60 or above.
Food was awful and very overpriced and when we complained, every server laughed and just shook their head, "we know...." One even said, "You are very observant....most people think this place is awesome." Expecting seafood and fresh fruit.... but got smoked sausage, mac and cheese, chicken wings, flank steak, some mahi , and whatever was for lunch was for dinner or at least some was and the same type of mixed veggies, EVERYDAY!!
Mini golf course would have been nice if the fountains and ponds worked, it was like they didn't care if something wassn't working or try to impress and make you feel welcomed. No sense in not maintaining the property for the amount of money that we spent.
The East End Pizza Shack with David and his crew was the best part and unfortunatley they don't open until Wednesday's. They are very friendly and make you feel like a wanted guest. There was never an empty glass or beer bottle and was willing to entertain and just make us feel welcome. That staff needs to be running the resort inside. Kudos to David and the shack gang.
I could go one, but it is too depressing. Maybe Anthony from "Hotel Impossible" should take a visit to St. Croix and help them before it's too late.

Room Tip: No screens on doors, floors never mopped, no blankets on bed, soap very small and "outdated" no lotion. Shower head "crusty"
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EC G, Manager On Duty at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Thank you for the opinion on your recent stay here at Carina Bay. Having read your commentary on the hotel, I’d like to take this opportunity to thank you for notifying us in writing of your observations during your recent stay with us. As a resort dedicated to providing superior customer service, we are continually striving to best serve our customers. When our efforts fail to meet expectations, it is important that the matter be brought to our attention so that it may be corrected as soon as possible.

Let me take this opportunity to address some of the commentary rendered. Housekeeping has one of the highest ratings on our reviews by other guests. Although the doors lock automatically when you close them, every room door has both a dead bolt for added security as well as an eyelet so you can look out if you do not want to just open the door. The Links Miniature Golf Course and Driving Range has been opened every day since just before Christmas. The Fire Dancers can only perform outdoors and are subjected to the changes in the weather. At times, the weather does not allow for the show to go on and we must cancel.

Our four restaurants are the Dockside Restaurant, Starlite Grille, East End Pizza and Carina Café. Each day we offer a different buffet menu for lunch and themed dinners at night. The Rok dinner is a great experience that many guests rave about. We offer a Caribbean Beach Barbecue which is a Western Barbecue with a Caribbean spin. Our menu on that night changes each week however it does have your standard barbecue chicken and pork ribs amongst many other traditional Caribbean dishes such as Kalaloo or Goat Water as well as Stewed Goat or Oxtail. We apologize if this was not conveyed correctly. Carina Café is a Bistro that is open from 11am to 3am to meet any late night cravings. If at any time someone would not like to walk to or from the Casino, he/she can request a ride by alerting someone at Resort Front Desk or a Casino Security Guard.

We do offer Spa services however this is by appointment only and appointments must be made 24 hours in advance. Our massage therapists are only here for appointments and many guests have raved about their treatments. Perhaps you were unaware of this, however, all dining, entertainment and activities information is listed in a Weekly Calendar of Activities given to every guest upon arrival. In addition to that we put out the Divi Melee, which lists the specific Activities for that particular day at breakfast.

Even though you experienced a less than pleasurable stay with us, we sincerely hope that you were able to salvage a few memorable experiences while on St. Croix, and would consider visiting the island once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews