We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great snorkeling by your room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling by your room”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The staff, food, accomodations, view, and snorkeling were some of the best on the island. We arrived on the island the day before tropical storm Irene (it wasn't a hurricane yet) hit the island. It was one of few places on the island that never lost power. The restaurant, bar, and casino were open. We had a great time. We saw the most sea life snorkeling with the Divi guide off the resort.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a villa and a hotel room. Both are really nice. The hotel rooms have almost as much roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lrk2q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Asst. General Manager at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thanks ever so much for the thoughtful review of your stay with us.

As it is Hurricane Season, we’re always prepared for the emergence of any adverse weather systems. Not that many of our guests and patrons know, but we generate our own electricity for the resort and casino, produce our own water through our Reverse Osmosis Plant and also manage our own Waste Water Treatment Plant.

Our snorkel trail is excellent (thank you Mother Nature) and we’ve a great group of people on staff that handle all of our water sports activities…we’re glad to hear you had a wonderful time.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to your next visit eagerly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    254
    139
    103
    65
See reviews for
192
365
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We just returned from 7 wonderful days at your resort. The service was excellent and the food was extraordinary! But the thing we noticed the most was the friendliness of the staff. Everone that we came in contact with went out of their way to help in any way they could. The room was very nice and the maid service was great. We took a chance on coming during hurrican season but the weather was gorgeous the whole week. We especially enjoyed the snorkeling with Sean as our guide. We hope to return in the near future. Thanks for a lovely time!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the newer section on the third floor and it was very quiet and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Asst. General Manager at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you, thank you, and thank you! We're more than thrilled that you had such a great time with us during your stay with us at Carina Bay.

Sean, at the Water Sports Shack remembers you all too well, and sends his regards! But we’re truly pleased that you found our staff members to be outstanding Customer Service Representatives and the efforts will be acknowledged during our next All Staff Meeting! But most importantly; we're all just glad that you had a wonderful vacation experience and fond memories of your St. Croix vacation.

Thank you once again for the wonderful review and we'll be on the look-out for your return trip to St. Croix and the Divi Carina Bay All-Inclusive Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The resort is definitely secont-tier. While the drive to the resort and the view of Turner Hole from the beach are eye-popping, the resort is totally ho-hum.

We visited the onsite dive shop and found that it was closed. We asked several of the staff about it and they said it was closed on Sunday. I pointed to the sign that said it was supposed to be open and got a "ho hum" response from them. Two minutes later, it opened. We wanted to rent dive gear, but the operator made it clear he didn't want to that and directed us to their main shop ... 30 minutes away. This was aggravating since I had called in advance and was assured rental would be no problem.

The highlight was the pizza at their snack bar, oddly located across the parking lot from the resort and next to the road. We got two big pizzas that provided us many delicious meals.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelTim88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Asst. General Manager at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your visitation to our resort.

We apologize for the issue that transpired with the dive shop, but they are an independent operation that has several off-site locations such as ours. We’ve forwarded your commentary to the owners of Cane Bay Dive Shop, and we’re assured that they’ll clarify the issue of rentals and operation hours with their staff.

Our pizzeria, East End Pizza is one of the best on island and is situated where it is to accommodate patrons of our tennis courts, driving range and miniature golf course, and of course, to provide enough parking for this popular eatery.

We once again thank you for your review and patronage, and hope that you had a memorable time while on St. Croix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

When arriving to the resort on Wedn Sept 29, 2012 for some reason I got check into the wrong room which a day later I found out. However the following day which was Thursday Sept 30th I was told to pay 381.00 which was for two days when initially I only stayed one night in the room. On the morning of Sept 31st the day before the wedding, I check out of that room into another room at a cheaper rate, however I notice the ac was not cooling my room at all. I call a total of 3 times that day. By 10pm that night my entire room felt like a sauna. I spoke to the supervisor on duty that night which she she instantly began both yelling and over talking me. When the maintenance guy arrive he couldnt service it after coming 3 times that day. This rude, direpsectful supervisor advise me to either stay in my room or she can give me another room and leave my items in the room where th ac is broken and remove them the next day. Such an inconvience. When going downstairs to speak with her, I overheard her yelling through the phone which she neglect to acknowlege me or come to a conclusion to what will either happen to my room or a refund. Since she told me over the phone that she will call me back theat never happend so my last night stay there I slept in a hot and uncomfortable room after paying almost 600 for 4 days. Pictures are misleading, food is super expensive, and some of the staff needs show more respect to those who spend hundreds to visit there Island/Hotel. This trip cost way more then what I got out of it. Will not be returning ever. Those who wish to stay at this Hotel, please do all research on PRICING AND ALL ENCLUSIVE MEALS ETC, before choosing this resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Antwon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Christiansted hotels

Christiansted, St. Croix
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

we thought we would put in a comment because we noted the manager's response in August about the poor pool maintenance as being due to waiting for a pump....in late June the pool at Divi was in bad repair, the floor and tiles ....but we would not let the children go into the kiddie pool...it was filthy ...has nothing to do with a pump, as someone could have taken the debris out with a net.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My husband and I chose Divi because it is the only all inclusive resort on St. Croix and we didn't want to have to worry about food costs. We also chose Divi for it's location. It is away from town and in the off-season, was very peaceful and quiet. We arrived at Divi around 6pm. The resort was comfortable and welcoming, but not ultra luxurious which was expected after reading numerous reviews. The check-in process was easy and the attendant was informative. Our room was very spacious, clean, and comfortable. We were on the second floor and had an AMAZING ocean view. The best part was the diving pelicans that we watched every day from our balcony. The one negative was that we only had hot water for one shower out of our entire 6 day stay. In the morning it was a bit rough, but after being out in the sun all day, a cool shower in the afternoon was welcomed. We did let the front desk staff know every day and every day they apologized and told us they were working on it.

The food: While the food was good and plentiful, I was a little disappointed at our choices. They served pretty much American cuisine. I was really hoping to try some new things during my stay but it was burgers, hot dogs, chicken, ribs, steak, and of course, mahi mahi. East End Pizza was very good and we often got a pizza for a midnight snack. Our room was equipped with a mini fridge and a microwave. I was also disappointed because one day around 2pm I tried to get a little snack to take back to our room and I was told I couldn't get anything to go. The food had to be eaten in the restaurant area. Bottom line, while the food was traditional American cuisine, it was cooked well and tasted good. The buffet servers they had didn't keep the food hot for very long though. Most of the time it was cold within 3 minutes after putting it on my plate. We learned to eat fast....and get pizza for later! For us, it was worth it because we found out that dining out on the island is pretty expensive.

The activities: I would highly recommend booking 2 off resort excursions while you are there because the activities included on the resort are basic. The Buck Island snorkeling excursion with Big Beard's Adventures and the Jeep tour with Tan Tan Tours. Both were AMAZING experiences. With that being said, there is a casino (we never stepped foot in it) for people who want to do something later in the evening. The resort pretty much closes down by 10pm. The pool was nice, but they advertise 2 pools and 1 of those pools is actually across the street in the villas. If you are staying in the main resort, there really is only 1 pool for those who do not like to swim in the ocean. My husband did take the sunfish sailboat out, however, his sail was not tied properly and it came down while he was in the middle of sailing. Luckily he is an experienced sailor and knew what to do, but for someone with no experience, this would have been extremely scary. At the time it happened, there was no one around from the watersports area to notify.

Overall: We would stay at Divi again. We are not big into nightlife and really prefer peace and quiet. If you plan to go off resort frequently, either bring lots of extra money for cabs and shuttles or rent a car. In addition, at this all inclusive, tipping at 18% is recommended which is different than most other all inclusives. Everyone was so friendly and helpful that you really do WANT to tip them anyway. We give extra kudos to Scott the bartender at the Dockside pool bar, David and the crew from East End Pizza, and Wanda at the front desk, but really, everyone was awesome!

Thanks for helping us have a great vacation!

Room Tip: The Deluxe Oceanfront room is the best value. The villas do not have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Asst. General Manager at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We thank you for the great review on your recent stay with us here at Carina Bay! By all accounts you seemed to have had a memorable Vacation Experience and fond memories of St. Croix and its people.

We do apologize for the mishap with the water heater while you were with us, as we had to bring in a replacement unit from off-island, as it wasn’t available locally; you were real troopers on that one! Realizing that the majority of our clientele is from the US Mainland, we’d received feedback over the years of their wanting more food items that they were familiar with, which is why we go “all-out” with Caribbean Fare during our weekly Caribbean Beach Barbeque. If you didn’t get the chance to attend, not to worry, we’ll still have that staple venue waiting for you on the next trip!

As the resort sits in the midst of the East End Marine Park, we made a conscious decision to only provide non-motorized watersports on site. Snorkel tours, ocean kayaking, stand-up paddle boards, sunfish sailing and the weekly Hiking Tour of the islands’ last two pristine bays are all that we’ve ever advertised, which is why we continuously refer clients to taking a Buck Island sail or going into Christiansted for motorized water crafts. Not having heard of the mishap with the sunfish, we apologize for the incident, and have had the vessel examined and maintained by an outside contractor, so nothing of the sort should happen again.

The two pools on property are for the use of all of our guests. The Villa Pool allows itself to a sense of peace and quiet, while the one located on the Oceanside has a bit more activity

Gratuities are covered in your costs as an All-Inclusive Guest and we do not expect our guests to tip the staff. If you felt that you’ve received exceptional service from a staff member and want to tip that individual, it’s the customer’s choice and is not mandatory.

We once again thank you for the kind review, and look forward to next year’s visitation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

There were 11 of us, ages 7 to 75. Each and everyone of us had a great time. It was our 50th Anniversary and the staff went out of their way to make it so special for us. From check-in (took all of about 2 minutes) to check out, we were taken care of by friendly, happy staff. Scott, Kys, Kirk, Beatrice, Abel (Loved seeing his smiling face at breakfast each day) Marlon, (who kept us laughing) Elroy ( the kids loved you) and Dave, Elizabeth and Kateisha and the others who made our Anniversary a beautiful memory, we thank you. The housekeeping staff worked hard and did a wonderful job. The people in the gift shop were so helpful with our many questions. We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful setting, palm trees, beach, the sound of the waves, the view from the rooms, the delicious food, especially the Rock and the lobster. The local entertainers were enjoyed by all. We all want to come back and stay with you again. Kudos to all of you..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAPDadeCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonK, Asst. General Manager at Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks a thousand fold for such a great review of your stay with us! All of the fabulous staff members listed will of course have a copy of your letter placed into their files, because they accomplished what we attempt to do every day, and that’s to provide our guests with a Memorable Vacation Experience!

Thank you once again for the kudos, and we look forward to having you visit again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
4.5 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
6.4 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#4 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
7.6 mi away
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
#7 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
15.0 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort

Property: Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Address: 5025 Turner Hole, Christiansted 00820-4548, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience St Croix's only All Inclusive! The Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort and Casino is a lively retreat nestled on a secluded shore in the beautiful island of St. Croix. Modern beachfront guestrooms, poolside dining, hammocks by the shore, live entertainment; your home for Family, Food and Fun …- it’s All Included! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Hotel Christiansted
Divi Carina Bay Hotel
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing