We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Salt River Bay National Historical Park and Ecological Preserve
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dedicated in 1993, this national, ecological preserve and park features the largest remaining mangrove forest in the U.S.V.I., a submarine canyon, plus objects of cultural significance such as a prehistoric ceremonial hall and burial site.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Awesome reefs!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I did two dives here with Cane Bay Dive Club. The reefs are absolutely gorgeous. The colors are so vibrant... not washed out or ruined by tourists. We saw so much beautiful sea life here, to include a sea turtle and a reef shark.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank abtisam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    51
    27
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Royse City, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Loved our visit with Park Ranger Vegas. He told my group all about the Salt River Bay area and its history

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank surplustexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed at Villa Santa Cruz right next to Columbus Landing right in the park. We got to snorkel right off the beach and rented kayaks from Virgin Kayak Tour for the week, getting to explore the waters. My husband and brother made it out to the wall and were in awe!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank DixieGirl1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Zion, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the Effort”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We found our way to the beach, but couldn't find the park Visitors Contact Station. We asked some locals at the beach, but they didn't know where the Station was, either. We were about to give up, when we met another helpful local who pointed us in the right direction. Turns out, there's a rutted, dirt side road off the road leading to the beach that goes to the Station, about 200 yards from the . We bounced up the road and found the Station perched on a hilltop with a gorgeous view of the coastline and surrounding areas. The station is in a big house, which we had actually seen from below, and wondered if it was the Visitor Station. It was, and it was definitely worth the bumpy trip to get there!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The ranger at the national park center was terrific”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We dropped into the park center after seeing it for several days from the rented house in which we are staying. The hours are very limited, so when we saw a group of cars parked in front this morning we drove down to visit. When we walked in, the ranger bounded out of a meeting room to greet us. I suspect the center was not even open for visitors, rather than holding only a closed meeting. It made no difference, however, as the ranger greeted us enthusiastically and walked us out onto the balcony to show us the Columbus landing site and to talk about its history. The center is beautifully situated on a slope overlooking the mouth of the Salt River Bay. It is sparse compared to other National Park centers but the attitude of the ranger -- who described himself as having Cruzan ancestry dating back to the late 1600s -- and the impromptu visual tour that he gave from the balcony made it fun to visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt River Bay National Historical Park and Ecological Preserve also viewed

St. Croix, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Christiansted, St. Croix
 

Been to Salt River Bay National Historical Park and Ecological Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing