We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too good, but not terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
A TripAdvisor Member
“Not too good, but not terrible”
Reviewed February 10, 2006

All in all, the condo was very nice. We were in a four-bedroom for 6 people, and it worked out really well. The beach was nice. Watch out for the people riding horses on the beach, many of these horses are out of control and come very close to stepping on you. The pool is wonderful. It has nice little areas you can sit and read in. The staff was not all that helpful, and you really had to tell your maid many times to do something. The restaurant next door, Breezes, was very good. The staff is so nice and the food is alright as well. My biggest problem with this place is that you feel really un-safe there. We heard from some people that a while back someone had gotten beat up in the pool area. There are poor people living right behind the resort, which is mostly the reaosn why you don't feel sompletely safe. If you get a chance, you should defintley go to the Buccaneer for the day. The beaches are amazing and their restaurants are also very nice. The tennis courts were alright, but the lights would all of a sudden run out at night and it would be quite hard to find your way back to the pool area. In town there is some shopping. Many jewlers selling the famous Carribean hook, I wound up buying quite a few of those. A friend of mind took her Scuba certificate at some place in christiansted, but I can'tremember what it was called. She was very pleased with it and said that the people were very polite and patient. I heard that they are making an effort to clean up 'Time Square' which is a very good idea. When I drove by there, it looked like a bunch of prostitues and drug dealers haning out trying to make some money. There are several restaurants around that are quite good. Villa Madelaine (or something like that) has absolutley amazing views, and the food is very good. During the evening you could also go to the restaurant at the top of the Buccanner resort. It wa smy favourite.The views were stunning and it had a such a nice atmosphere.
My father is a big golf player and played on all the golf courses on the island. he was very pleased with allof them and said they were all in very good condition. His favourite wads the one at the Buccaneer Resort.
Sugar Beach is not abad place to stay, but it is unfortunate that you cannot feel completely safe there. If this is a big issue for you, as it is for me, I would recoommend staying at one of the bigger resorts such as the Buccaneer, or Carambola.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sugar Beach Condo Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2006
This review, posted Feb. 11, 2006, is about a stay that took place in March 2004. An incident similar to the one described (via hearsay), did occur at our pool in mid 2003, between a young man and some teenagers. The situation was a bit complex but suffice it to say that security changes were immediately implemented and there have been no similar events since that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    45
    23
    10
    12
See reviews for
63
69
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2006

The Theater on the Beach was a great place for a family of 5 to spend spring break. This condo has everything: A beautiful beach, great pool and a fantastic view of the turquoise blue ocean. The condo is stocked with every amenity you could imagine, from DVDs, batteries, books, spices, coolers and an Internet connection. There are 4 comfortable beds, tons of pillows, water toys and lots of towels.

The condo is roomy and it is in a nice complex with a friendly staff. The kitchen was stocked with everything you may need and there were several gas grills by the pool if you decide to BBQ. We ate every meal out on the balcony to enjoy the beach view and the ocean breezes. You know how some hotels talk about ocean view or ocean front. Well make no mistake; Theater on the Beach is ocean front,
right on the beach! We slept with our windows open ever night.

We visited in late March/early April 2005. We usually spent our mornings swimming in the pool and afternoons on the beach. The water was warm and snorkeling was good, particularly in front of the jetty just down the beach. I must do is a trip out to Buck Island. If you get a nice day you will want to stay on the island as long as possible, the beach is simply beautiful.

There are 2 food stores near by, a McDonalds, KFC and a Subway. They are close but you really need a car to get around. Of the 2 food stores, Food Town, the smaller of the two, was best for quality and
price. The condo is also close to downtown where there are shops and waterfront restaurants.

We spent some time around the island and talking with other couples and concluded that we probably had the best spot on the island. I would highly recommend Theater on the Beach to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank get-out-of-the-cold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sugar Beach Condo Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2006
On the whole, this is an excellent and accurate review. Just a couple of minor clarifications to avoid confusion.
First, Theatre on the Beach is a name that one of our owners has given to her unit. Since all of the units here are individually owned, the detailed descriptions in the review may not always apply to all units here.
Secondly, the review refers to a fully stocked kitchen. All of our units have full kitchens, equiped with the appliances and utensils necessary to provide a modern home-away-from-home. They are not stocked with food and beverages, and these are available at supermarkets within walking distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 15, 2006

My wife and I spent five great weeks in St Croix at the Sugar Beach Condos. The facility was secure and manicured and the staff was always responsive and courteous. It has a private beach and pool. Every unit looks out upon the water and the views are framed by palm trees and the city of Christiansted off in the distance. While a car would be the best way to get around, the units are only a couple of blocks from a work-out club, two supermarkets, fast-foods and a video rental. We ate in, grilled by the pool, danced to reggae music at night in town and snorkled in the nearby waters. The unit was air conditioned but the cool sea breeze each night obviated the necessity of it. The available wifi at the pool also made work away from home almost a pleasure. I would recommend it to everyone, but I fear they might take my reservation for next year.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
3.3 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.1 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
494 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#3 of 14 in Christiansted
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
1,381 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
1,107 reviews
7.4 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Condo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Condo Resort

Property: Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Address: 3245 Estate Golden Rock, Christiansted 00820-4338, St. Croix (Formerly Sugar Beach Condominiums)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Condo Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach is a condominium resort on St. Croix, USVI with studio, one, two, three and four bedroom units - all directly on the beach! We welcome you to stay in your own private condo - complete with balconies, fans, central air conditioning, beautiful furnishings, and your very own kitchen. The resort also offers complementary WiFi in all condos, 2 tennis courts, hammocks and lounge chairs on the beach plus kayaks and Zayaks (glass bottom snorkel sleds). Sugar Beach is ideal for Active Travelers looking for accommodations in the middle of the action with a "home" base to come back to at the end of the day. The choices of island activities are endless - days can be filled with diving and snorkeling, kayaking, nature hiking, horseback riding, golfing, sailing, jeep tours through the rain forest and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Beach Condo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Condominiums Hotel St. Croix
Sugar Beach Condo Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing