We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Nearby Hotels
Hotel on the Cay(Christiansted)(Great Value!)
$135
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Club Comanche(Christiansted)
$187
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Buccaneer St Croix(Christiansted)
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holger Danske Hotel(Christiansted)
$120
VisitUSVI
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Company House Hotel(Christiansted)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
King Christian Hotel(Christiansted)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveler rating
125
47
25
10
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
47
25
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbuck islandst croixwasher dryergrocery storecane baythe ground floormaster bedroomsecurity guardquiet islandevery morningpoint udallnice breezepalm treessandy pointrented a carrelaxing vacationnight life
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 220 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We came to St. Croix for my husband to do the Ironman 70.3 triathlon, and then we stayed an extra 5 days to enjoy the island. Upon arrival, the Office Mgr took us to unit 301, a 4 bdrm unit, and it was absolutely NOT acceptable. The A/C did not work (it was 85 degrees outside) and the condo was old, dusty, smelled of mildew, and the bed linens had not been cleaned (hairs were visible on the sheets) The furnishings were VERY very old, and the unit was just dirty. Dirty walls, floors, bathrooms, etc. We called to complain and the Mgr tried to help us by telling us that "at least the air works in the bedrooms". He eventually came and moved us to unit 101, which was a decent unit. It was clean and the furnishings were a step up from the older unit, however, ONCE AGAIN, we pulled back the sheets and found them dirty..AND we found a pair of DIRTY WOMEN'S UNDERWEAR in the bed!!!!! We would have left this unit too, but all decent accomodations were booked due to the triathlon. We stripped all the beds/linens and washed them ourselves. We managed to make this unit work for the 8 days we were there, but it definitely is not worth the money we paid for it. The location, however, is good - we could walk right out onto the beach from our porch. The sunsets were spectacular. The kitchen was updated and had everything we needed. The pool area is nice, and there is a grill that you can use by the pool. We are planning to return in 2 years, but I will find someplace else to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cindi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. We are always happy to hear from our customers and pleased to be of service to them. We are embarrassed to learn of your unfortunate experience and want you to know we share your concern. We would like you to know that as soon as we saw your review we held a special meeting with our Housekeeping staff and Supervisors. Our resort has high standards of quality control. The information you gave us has been brought to the attention of the appropriate Owners as well. Please accept our apologies for the any discomfort this has caused you. We're happy that you will be returning to St. Croix as it the gem in America's Paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Wife and I were staying at a hotel on the island and asked a real estate agent to tour us through a few condos to both rent in the short term and buy in the long term. Right near this place we saw an abandoned car and then also Section 8 housing. We still looked out of curiosity but when we saw the inside had short ceilings, mildew smell, and kitchens from 30 years ago, we were let down. The pool is alright, but the beach is all seaweed in the water.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Caribbean_Fisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent experience while visiting our resort. We are always interested in hearing from our customers but regret that it was this type of occurrence that prompted your review. There was car (admitted old & battered- looked like it blow a flat) parked along the front of Mill Harbor tennis court...down the street and around a corner- not near us and which was removed after 2 days. Sugar Beach is located in a residential neighborhood. Across the street from us along with houses is an a big housing complex, Harborview, which is groomed, cleaned and maintained. I know the management in that office & some of the people who live there- within that complex there are good and bad people as you have in any neighborhood anywhere in the world.

We have the soft (not slimy) turtle grass that lines the shoreline if this entire stretch of beach all the way around to Pelican Cove & Hibiscus which at those locations are more rocky. That grass is food for sea turtles and other small sea fish. Seaweed is picked up off our beach daily- please visit our our webcam to see live shots of our beautiful beach. I apologize if you did not find the rooms to your liking. Many of our owners take pride in their condos and over the last 5 years many upgrades & renovations have been made to add appeal to renters & potential buyers. Nearly all of our units have flat top ranges, new energy star appliances, washer & dryers. Our pool is often referred to as being one of the best on the island.
Again, thank you for writing, and we hope that you will return and have a more enjoyable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We have stayed at this property twice. The last time was a studio. We like the location and the friendly people.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean. We prefer second and third floors for the view.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lynette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed at Sugar Beach for 10 days in Feb. It was literally on the beach. We waked out the back steps and onto white sand . The room was adequate for the money but the kitchen was a little small. I love to cook as it saves a lot of money (faster service than most island restaurants too) There is a grocery store about a mile up the road where we bought all our groceries :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 79Michelle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilly S, Director of Sales at Sugar Beach Condo Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2015

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful resort, having all of our units facing the ocean is an amazing feature for all of our guests to enjoy. As you mentioned we are so close from the grocery store, great restaurants and lounge. We do have bigger units with 2 and 3 bedrooms which includes spacious kitchens please let us know in advance your preference we will be happy to accommodate you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Our 5th visit to Sugar Beach. Having visited most Islands, S.B. staff is uniquely helpful, sea view & beautiful beach/lovely pool are hard to match,walk to 2 restaurants, minutes to Christainsted/shopping & harbor view historic buildings, 60 plus Island restaurants, superb beaches, etc. We'll be back! Sally and Rob Townsend, Wilmington, Delaware

Room Tip: which floor (3)
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CooterTownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews