We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Exactly what I needed! I wanted a getaway with my partner for a week just to relax, have great food, and of course lay by the beach. In my opinion, St.Croix is beautiful, and you always have a good time. Me and my partner stayed here at Sugar Beach in a one bedroom which had a full-kitchen, which is always a plus if you just want to stay in. In our room we had a balcony overlooking the ocean. What else can you ask for?

AMAZING! strongly recommend

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valentina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Condo Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
We are truly delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. This kind of reviews always gives us a new inspiration to do all of our bests for our guests. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Sugar Beach very soon. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    45
    23
    10
    11
See reviews for
62
69
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We came to St. Croix for my husband to do the Ironman 70.3 triathlon, and then we stayed an extra 5 days to enjoy the island. Upon arrival, the Office Mgr took us to unit 301, a 4 bdrm unit, and it was absolutely NOT acceptable. The A/C did not work (it was 85 degrees outside) and the condo was old, dusty, smelled of mildew, and the bed linens had not been cleaned (hairs were visible on the sheets) The furnishings were VERY very old, and the unit was just dirty. Dirty walls, floors, bathrooms, etc. We called to complain and the Mgr tried to help us by telling us that "at least the air works in the bedrooms". He eventually came and moved us to unit 101, which was a decent unit. It was clean and the furnishings were a step up from the older unit, however, ONCE AGAIN, we pulled back the sheets and found them dirty..AND we found a pair of DIRTY WOMEN'S UNDERWEAR in the bed!!!!! We would have left this unit too, but all decent accomodations were booked due to the triathlon. We stripped all the beds/linens and washed them ourselves. We managed to make this unit work for the 8 days we were there, but it definitely is not worth the money we paid for it. The location, however, is good - we could walk right out onto the beach from our porch. The sunsets were spectacular. The kitchen was updated and had everything we needed. The pool area is nice, and there is a grill that you can use by the pool. We are planning to return in 2 years, but I will find someplace else to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cindi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Condo Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are always happy to hear from our customers and pleased to be of service to them. We are embarrassed to learn of your unfortunate experience and want you to know we share your concern. We would like you to know that as soon as we saw your review we held a special meeting with our Housekeeping staff and Supervisors. Our resort has high standards of quality control. The information you gave us has been brought to the attention of the appropriate Owners as well. Please accept our apologies for the any discomfort this has caused you. We're happy that you will be returning to St. Croix as it the gem in America's Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Wife and I were staying at a hotel on the island and asked a real estate agent to tour us through a few condos to both rent in the short term and buy in the long term. Right near this place we saw an abandoned car and then also Section 8 housing. We still looked out of curiosity but when we saw the inside had short ceilings, mildew smell, and kitchens from 30 years ago, we were let down. The pool is alright, but the beach is all seaweed in the water.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Caribbean_Fisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JBohmann, Public Relations Manager at Sugar Beach Condo Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent experience while visiting our resort. We are always interested in hearing from our customers but regret that it was this type of occurrence that prompted your review. There was car (admitted old & battered- looked like it blow a flat) parked along the front of Mill Harbor tennis court...down the street and around a corner- not near us and which was removed after 2 days. Sugar Beach is located in a residential neighborhood. Across the street from us along with houses is an a big housing complex, Harborview, which is groomed, cleaned and maintained. I know the management in that office & some of the people who live there- within that complex there are good and bad people as you have in any neighborhood anywhere in the world.

We have the soft (not slimy) turtle grass that lines the shoreline if this entire stretch of beach all the way around to Pelican Cove & Hibiscus which at those locations are more rocky. That grass is food for sea turtles and other small sea fish. Seaweed is picked up off our beach daily- please visit our our webcam to see live shots of our beautiful beach. I apologize if you did not find the rooms to your liking. Many of our owners take pride in their condos and over the last 5 years many upgrades & renovations have been made to add appeal to renters & potential buyers. Nearly all of our units have flat top ranges, new energy star appliances, washer & dryers. Our pool is often referred to as being one of the best on the island.
Again, thank you for writing, and we hope that you will return and have a more enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, North Dakota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We have stayed at this property twice. The last time was a studio. We like the location and the friendly people.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean. We prefer second and third floors for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington , VT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed at Sugar Beach for 10 days in Feb. It was literally on the beach. We waked out the back steps and onto white sand . The room was adequate for the money but the kitchen was a little small. I love to cook as it saves a lot of money (faster service than most island restaurants too) There is a grocery store about a mile up the road where we bought all our groceries :-)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 79Michelle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilly S, Director of Sales at Sugar Beach Condo Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful resort, having all of our units facing the ocean is an amazing feature for all of our guests to enjoy. As you mentioned we are so close from the grocery store, great restaurants and lounge. We do have bigger units with 2 and 3 bedrooms which includes spacious kitchens please let us know in advance your preference we will be happy to accommodate you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Our 5th visit to Sugar Beach. Having visited most Islands, S.B. staff is uniquely helpful, sea view & beautiful beach/lovely pool are hard to match,walk to 2 restaurants, minutes to Christainsted/shopping & harbor view historic buildings, 60 plus Island restaurants, superb beaches, etc. We'll be back! Sally and Rob Townsend, Wilmington, Delaware

Room Tip: which floor (3)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CooterTownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We had a field trip to Sugar Beaach, St. Croix. The twin sized beds looked small, but when we actually got in them in was really spacious. The pool was amazing. A little bit too much chlorine,though. I learned how to swim, and then we all jumped in the pool together. That historic mill was the scene for a good Kodak Moment. I loved how the theme was the ocean. I could tell they love seashells. The refrigerator, washer/dryer, equipped kitchen and cabinet was so helpful. We didn't go to the beach because the sand looked black. Sugar Beach hotels had books and games and DVDs if you ever get bored. I would come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alphabetical o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilly S, Director of Sales at Sugar Beach Condo Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
We are glad to hear you had a great time at Sugar Beach Resort during your field trip.
Keep in mind that even though our units with twin beds are spacious we also have units with two bedrooms featuring king and double beds as well. Our first priority is guest safety and I assure you our pool has the required amount of chlorine at the time. We are happy to know you enjoyed our great pool facing the historic Sugar Mill
Sorry to hear you were not able to enjoy the beach, our beach is re sanded and cleaned every morning with our motorized equipment. Unfortunately sometimes weather and incoming high tides play a big factor on the sand but I hope you can enjoy the white sand and crystal blue beach during your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christiansted hotels
3.3 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.1 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#4 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
Hotel Caravelle on St. Croix
#5 of 14 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Buccaneer St Croix
The Buccaneer St Croix
#1 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 14 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
7.6 mi away
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach Condo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach Condo Resort

Property: Sugar Beach Condo Resort
Address: 3245 Estate Golden Rock, Christiansted 00820-4338, St. Croix (Formerly Sugar Beach Condominiums)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Christiansted
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Beach Condo Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach is a condominium resort on St. Croix, USVI with studio, one, two, three and four bedroom units - all directly on the beach! We welcome you to stay in your own private condo - complete with balconies, fans, central air conditioning, beautiful furnishings, and your very own kitchen. The resort also offers complementary WiFi in all condos, 2 tennis courts, hammocks and lounge chairs on the beach plus kayaks and Zayaks (glass bottom snorkel sleds). Sugar Beach is ideal for Active Travelers looking for accommodations in the middle of the action with a "home" base to come back to at the end of the day. The choices of island activities are endless - days can be filled with diving and snorkeling, kayaking, nature hiking, horseback riding, golfing, sailing, jeep tours through the rain forest and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sugar Beach Condo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Beach Condominiums Hotel St. Croix
Sugar Beach Condo Resort St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing