We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best on the island...service is superb...beaches were great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Buccaneer -- St Croix
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Christiansted
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best on the island...service is superb...beaches were great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

Spent 5 nights at the Buccaneer with family. Service was superb. Layout of the place is difficult to figure out at first, but within a day everything is known. Beaches are great. Food is good. Rooms varies but overall well equipped with all amenities. Hotel is on eastern end of island...dry. Close enough to Christainsted. Go to Udall point and Issacs bay.

Music nightly is a great...camp for kids is also a huge plus...the spa recently updated.

Overall, a well run hotel with all the attributes of a 5 star hotel, while age of facilities make it 4 star.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Repap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    264
    57
    37
    30
See reviews for
335
516
28
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

The hotel has beautiful views from the rooms and balconies. Staff seems to have a little attitude about the guests. The hotel offers wireless internet for no additional charge, but good luck connecting, signal is so weak, barely able to check email. Be sure to unplug the fridge in the room if you plan on sleeping, a bit noisy. Great beds, and loved the shower stalls.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrjones33334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

My husband and I along with our 2 and 4 year old sons recently spent 4 nights at the Buccaneer Hotel in one of their Family Cottages. Our 2 year old was sick most of the trip so this negatively impacted our visit but we still managed to have a really nice time, few exceptions noted below.

Arrival at the hotel was smooth and check in was a breeze. We were welcomed by Cole and immediately offered drinks by several hotel staff members. Our cottage wasn't quite ready (we arrived before check in) but as soon it was ready we were driven to our cottage and helped with our luggage.

Upon arrival to our cottage we found a small teddy bear wearing a Buccaneer Hotel t-shirt on each of the boys' beds, which the boys totally loved! In the grown ups' room was a lovely welcome basket with cheese, fruit, chocolate and a bottle of Cruzan rum!The Family Cottage is the perfect set up for parents and kids. The cottage has two exterior doors, each one leading to either a room with two twin beds (one had a trundle underneath providing additional sleep space for a third child) or the bedroom with a king bed. The rooms connect inside through the bathroom. Interior doors to the bedrooms can be closed for added privacy. The king room had a small refrigerator and a coffee maker. Both rooms had DVD players and flat screen TV's. The king room also had a nice window seat that our boys loved sitting on. On the patio in front of the cottage was a very nice table and 4 chairs along with 2 chaise lounge chairs. The yard in front of each Family Cottage is perfect for kids to enjoy.

Our Family Cottage was perfectly situated so that we could easily get to the beach and the pool and up to the Terrace Restaurant for the included breakfast each day. The beach shack at Mermaid Beach provided towels, beach toys, floating mats, sea kayaks, and maybe even more but that's what I saw. The staff at the beach shack was always friendly and helpful. The beach area was nice and mostly well kept , some areas were a bit rough around the edges and could stand a bit of improvement (the large flower pots could have used a fresh coat of paint, the beach chairs are those old style ones with the rubberized straps, and the shower could be redone).

The pool at the Grotto area was nice and the poolside chaise lounge chairs were modern and well kept. There is also a beach access area by the Grotto pool as well as another beach shack for towels, etc. The number of chaises at the pool is somewhat limited and the chairs were almost always occupied (however, not a big concern for us since young boys with us, we couldn't really sit down and relax anyhow). I did notice in the late afternoon that the pool could have used a good skimming to get all the unwanted junk out.

As mentioned before breakfast is included in the accommodation rate and is served at the Terrace Restaurant each day. This restaurant is outdoors and one morning during our stay it was reallly hot and humid, quite uncomfortable! The buffet was extensive offering fresh fruit, pastries, bagels, muffins, croissants, cereal, juices and hot items such as potatoes, scrambled eggs, and french toast. There was a buffet special each day as well as a kitchen special. The buffet specials during our stay included breakfast burritos, spinach quiche and eggs florentine. I only recall one of the kitchen specials...chocolate chip pancakes. I thought the coffee was fine but my husband did not like it and actually even stopped drinking it by day 2!!! Everything we had to eat at breakfast was very good.

Lunch options were not so great and were quite overpriced, especially the items on the children's menu. Upwards of $8 for a kids' meal that didn't include a drink! Seriously?! And it was the standard junk...hot dogs, grilled cheese sandwich, chicken fingers & fries. We picked up lunch from both Grotto and the Mermaid (b/c our younger son was was napping during lunch time) and were charged $1 per entree for picking up our own food. That is silly to me! The portions were huge though, which is great for leftovers but there aren't microwaves in the Cottage so....

We had dinner at both the Mermaid and the Terrace. Again the children's menu was grossly overpriced at the Mermaid and when I asked for the boys to share a children's entree item we were charged and additional $3.50 thus making an order of pasta with meatballs $15.50!!!! Come on. I could handle the overpriced adult entrees and even expected it but rather thought the kids' meals would be less gouged. Our experience at the Terrace for dinner was completely hijacked by our 2 year old's meltdown so I can't really comment on the meal, it was rushed and stressful (due to our son, not the staff). Our server was awesome and understanding (she is a mother of 4 so she understood).

The general store should not be missed to get staples like milk, juice and wine for your room. They also sold snacks, souvenirs, medications, etc. Maybe you can buy these before arriving at the resort at lower prices but we had transfer from the airport and didn't rent a car. And with our son being sick we didn't want to venture too far from home base.

Overall we had a great stay, the staff was always attentive and helpful. If you called the front desk for service, it was provided ASAP. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariettaAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

We stayed 8 days at this great resort. From the second we stepped into the lobby and were greeted with a rum drink, to the date of our departure, we were treated like friends by everyone who worked on the property. We received a room upgrade to a spacious room overlooking the pool and beach. My only gripe was that the room had lousy TV reception. Normally that wouldn't matter much, but the Olympics were on and we liked to watch some of the events in the late evening. Other than that, the room and the view was great. The food was outstanding at the main restaurant and average at the beach restaurant. Everything was clean and the amenities plenty for island fun. The onsite golf course has great views of the ocean while you are playing, but the grass was in sad shape. If you go, be sure to ask for on of their regular taxi drivers who goes by 007. He is a real nice guy and gives you lots of info about the area. St. Croix is a lower key island without a lot of nightlife. But the hotel has nightly entertainment with local musicians that was a great way to spend the evenings sipping "Pain Killers". Overall, is exceeeded our expectations and we'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hottwasabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

We recently got married at the Buccaneer Hotel at the Sugar Mill. The hotel's wedding planner, Corinne Farinola, made the even flawless. Our families felt like royalty and all the staff is very friendly and helpful. Our vendors were Gloria Powell for flowers, Louis Leard as the minister, Steve Katz for music, and Kelly Greer for photography. They were all outstanding. If you are getting married in the USVI and want a seamless, easy, organized, and beautiful wedding you need to do it at the Buccaneer. As a bride, Corinne made my life so easy. Everyone kept commenting on how calm I was even though I am a Type A+ personality. I owe it all to Corinne.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmalynn2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

The Buccaneer does a great job to attract travelers to an underappreciated Caribbean destination (and one in the United States). They do well to have tie ins with the Expedias of the Internet travel world and have marketed well, despite what appears to be a limited staff.

The grounds are largely impressive, although there was plenty of dead grass and an old, junk car in one of the parking lots when I was there. I never saw too many hotel guests walking around the golf course to explore the full property, but it is well worth it. In the heat of summer, bring some extra water for the trail. Not every Caribbean resort has multiple beaches, but this one does. Two of them are well sheltered with plenty of umbrellas, and one of them has good snorkeling just feet from shore with plenty of sea life. They would do well to add beach umbrellas to the third, secluded beach, which seemed most inviting of all but for the umbrella shortage. Another helpful thing (more below on this) would be to mark the trees that are poisonous so guests do not have an accident while lounging underneath during a storm.

The concierge was incredibly helpful for a traveler who did not want to brave driving on the "wrong" side of the road. I booked two reliable side trips that departed from the hotel directly. The front desk was a different story. Upon check in, they bombard you with more documents than you could care to deal with, including one that asks you to submit yourself to local arbitration should you have an accident at the hotel. You get something similar in most hotels, but usually the process is less cumbersome and in your face.

The lobby itself has plenty of furnishings but maybe not enough during high season if they don't turn the rooms around quickly.

The rooms are average for the Buccaneer's peers. The balcony was small. Don't expect much of a sea breeze if you stay in the main building at this time of year - it is well off the shore. Compare the room to similarly priced resorts on other islands, and there is no comparison. The Marriott in St. Kitts blows this resort out of the water, and you can stay there for less money in your hotel package. One positive touch is the pitcher of water provided by the housekeepers. It is a great feature in the heat, but it can be noisy in the hall and nearby rooms when the ice machine is at work. Housekeeping also does a great job with providing towels and toiletries.

Garden view is an experience at night with late traffic into the lobby. One night during my stay featured a loud argument in the entrance area to the lobby that went on for a good 30-45 minutes and may have even come to blows.

The restaurant is on par with (or slightly below par) a large resort's (Caribbean) casual dining option. There are a few stand-out dishes on the menu that compare favorably, but you have to find them. The menu did not change when I was there, so I had time to try things twice during the course of a week. The breakfast buffet provides the best meal of the day and it compares favorably to other Caribbean resorts. There was plenty of fresh fruit, and buffet options varied during the week.

This is probably the best place to stay on St. Croix, so if you want to go to the island, stay here. If you are a business traveler, stay here. They have an included Internet or wireless connection. If you are not wedded to coming to this island, don't go out of your way to stay here. There are other islands with better destination resorts. See my other ratings for suggestions.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TheAmbassadorofVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

Everything is perfect, rooms, view, food, service, golf, staff is especially good.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hhchas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christiansted
0.9 mi away
Tamarind Reef Resort, Spa & Marina
1.4 mi away
Hotel on the Cay
Hotel on the Cay
#3 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sugar Beach Condominiums
Sugar Beach Condominiums
#5 of 15 in Christiansted
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Palms at Pelican Cove
The Palms at Pelican Cove
#2 of 15 in Christiansted
4.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
9.8 mi away
Renaissance St. Croix Carambola Beach Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
Divi Carina Bay All Inclusive Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buccaneer -- St Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buccaneer -- St Croix

Property: The Buccaneer -- St Croix
Address: 5007 Shoys | PO Box 25200, Christiansted 00820-4536, St. Croix
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Croix > Christiansted
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Christiansted
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christiansted
#2 Family Hotel in Christiansted
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Buccaneer -- St Croix 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Buccaneer -- St Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buccaneer -- St Croix Hotel Christiansted
Buccaneer St Croix Christiansted
The Buccaneer -- St Croix St. Croix/Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing